3/10 Hank AMPS 341- PMPS - 282 so new, so many questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

bettyandhank

Member Since 2010
Hi ALL-

We are so grateful to have you here. So many questions but not enough time to be here and post/read as we need. I really am so unclear about this disease and where we are. I just had a sick baby who I want to feel good and be well. This has been a full time job and i can't imagine keeping this up forever. i do read your posts and feel miles away from where you are in terms of understanding. Like being in kindergarten amongst multiple PHD's.
The vet was not very informative. No conversation about the relationship of food and the insulin, other than a lo carb/high protein diet which we were already doing. He is basically on canned now w/ only a few pieces here & there of Evo. He needs to eat. He'd lost weight and too rapidly. I'm not sure how much before our 1st vet, but maybe +/- 2lbs. and another 1 lb subsequently. he seems to be holding his own w/ the weight now.
There was some basic shot training, no discussion of target numbers, etc..Took a few tried to successfully test, but have that down now. I know his ears are sore and just hate hurting him. I am not great at the shots..have not gotten comfortable. With such a low dose, & my inability to get all bubbles out no matter how much i thump or tap, I wonder if he is getting his full dose each time. You should see me staring over my glasses at the plunger trying to figure out which section of the ring end of the plunger should be where- front, middle, back of line. It's such a teenie amount, I hope he's getting it.
I don't have enough understanding to see what our numbers are telling us. I am making sure he eats per instruction. His appetite is modest but reasonable. if i coax he eats a few bites. He ultimately needs to lose weight, just not now and not so rapidly.
We have had moments like yesterday where he looks really good and like he is on the upswing & feeling better. I do not want this to be forever, and have read somewhere here that what happens in the beginning is so important in terms of chance of remission.
This vet would have had me bring him back in 7-10 days for a curve. My tendency will be to do this at home instead. This is not our long term vet, and there wasn't tons of communication. I will need to call about that. She was worried about fatty lipidosis and wanted him to eat (of course recommending the crappy vet diets OR lo-carb) She was insistent I not mess w/ the dose. I was not clear leaving there if he was considered DKA or not. He had 'scant' ketones in his blood- none in urine. I have lab results from 2 weeks earlier FYI if interested or noteworthy.

For any of you that were here Sunday, you may recall he had a really low number Sunday AM so we skipped a dose. That may have affected our momentum. Otherwise, today will be one week on Lantus.

I finally made our spreadsheet. I am not techie and had not had the time to mess w/ it. I'd been keeping a log w/ notes on how he is, when he eats, shots & tests on a word doc. I have attached the SS here (i think) CAN YOU PLEASE look and tell me what you think of where he is relative to what you would think after 1 week.

A couple other questions.

The vet had said ideally shots would be within 1 hour either way...up to 2 hours if necessary. Someone here said that is not ok for Lantus and needs to be within 20 minute windows. Can I clarify if that is concensus on the board? I cannot see for the long term making it every single day within 20 minutes of the shot time. it may work most days but not every. What is the latitude? (with the understanding you want to try to be on time) And what happens? We have been close so far..within say 20-25 minutes or so each time. Sometimes right on the nose.
Also I saw Sienne's post about the time change which was great info. However, i was already wondering what to do as next week friends are in from UK
and i will be gone for hours getting in late several straight days. I have no idea how to maneuver this. It is the exception and not the rule, but we are so new at this and he is not regulated. Both the above questions play in here. Do we go ahead and move our schedule this week for DST and then AGAIN for next week due to my not being back in time?
And/or, what are my latitudes if needing to be late (but not sure HOW late before leaving) for a couple nights? How do we allow for this?

Due to everything happening at once, and i mean EVERYTHINg, there is no way we will be able to do a curve or back to vet in this next 2 weeks or so.
We are on such a low dose that it is probably ok. the 1st vet wouldn't have done a curve for 3 weeks anyway.

I was running out of newbie supplies and down to only 3 strips (more ordered- on the way) so testing PS now. I ruined several. The financial part of this is overwhelming. I am already $620 in for meds, supplies, vets, food, having just been diagnosed. I cannot believe the cost of everything and don't see how i can keep this up. dealing with it all just takes all my time.
Due to all the above, i may not be able to try a real curve (with some guidance) for a couple weeks. I can do some mid day checks in this next week while I am home.
2 vets in and no real discussion about any possible cause or underlying issues, 1st vet noted he has a FORL (bad tooth) that needs to come out at some point.
I wonder if there is any infection or connection as i read there can be with DM. Also not being clear on the ketone issue & wonder if he's ok. They didn't elaborate. I sensed i got him there as he was right at that door. He does seem to be feeling better a week later. I guess i could be doing the ketone tests at home if it seems a good idea. Are there some common sense things I need to be doing now, other than testing and shots? ..& making sure he eats (LC)?

If his counts are as they are (see my chart), while he is getting regulated, is damage occuring? My sense was he does not have astronomical numbers relative to what they could be, but yet i am not clear on whether damage has occured. Basically , just start insulin and call us for a curve in 10 days or so.

I have to run out but will check back this evening. Thanks so much for looking at his charts and your advice. We have so much to learn.

betty & hankie-licious
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS 341- so new, so many questions

Regarding timing, +/- an hour for Lantus is OK but the closer to 12/12 is better. If you have to you can go longer than one hour but that makes determining the appropriate dose, especially in the beginning, hard. Sometimes with a large difference it is best to skip a dose unless you cat has history of DKA or BGs are very high and there is possibility of DKA.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS 341- so new, so many questions

Previous thread for Hank

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8388&p=83896#p83896

hi Betty

I've linked your previous thread, just one of the other little things to do when you open a new thread for the day, but dont worry about that now, we do it for you.

It looks like you haven't linked your spreadsheet to your signature, you can do that in "user control panel"...your spreadsheet is linked in your profile (everyone: please click on her name to view the spreadsheet) , it would be easiest if you could add it to your signature, when you have some time.

Pretty much, with high numbers, you'll want to be testing for ketones, BG spotchecks - a couple at least, for each cycle when you can, and making sure Hank eats.
Will you be getting some spotchecks tonight? These will help with feedback others provide.

EDIT TO ADD: Please add Hank's name to your subject line, as you can see, tons of kitties her - and we want to be able to spot him.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS 341- so new, so many questions

I'm going to try to provide some answers.

Spreadsheet: It's not attached. I don't think you can attach a Word document easily.(I'm not overly techie so I could be wrong.) The Google SS that we use has the advantage that once it's linked, everytime you update, it's updated in the link. It's not static like a Word attachment since the Google SS is on the internet. As far as making sense of it all, there are people here who are very experienced at reading SSs. They'll help.

Shot time: You do not have a 1 - 2 hour window with Lantus. That kind of flexibility may be the case with other insulins but Lantus is very different. Less than 15 - 20 min. is desirable. The issue here is that an early shot is like a dose increase and a late shot is like a decrease. The further "off" of your shot time you are, the more effect it has on the shed. Lantus also likes consistency. That said, life happens. There are some members here who have unforgiving work schedules and they make adjustments. Do your best and we'll help you figure it out. Likewise, once you have a better idea of what your schedule will be like once company arrives, post about it and we'll try to help you make sense out of shot times. If your shot isn't going to be on time, post. People will help you think through the alternatives so you feel like you are making a decision you are comfortable with.

Overload: It's expected! The front end of this learning curve is huge. The good news is that we've all been there and really do understand. It also gets easier once you find your rhythm with a schedule, feeding, etc. If you read other people's condos, especially those of people who are also new to the Board, you'll find some of your questions answered or just the repetition of information will help you to fill in the blanks. And, of course, ask questions just like you're doing.

Bubbles: Here's a link about bubbles. See if it helps with drawing your dose. Air bubbles. The link is on the old Board and may take a little time to load. Some brands of syringe are worse about bubbles than others. I like the GNP brand from Hocks.

Vet: There is great info in the New to Lantus/Levemir sticky that you can share with your vet. The link to the protocol is there along with veterinary journal articles. Educate your vet/boss. I've always found hitting a medical professional over the head with journal articles/science helps to drive home a point.

Housekeeping: Remember to put Hank's name in your subject line. Click on the edit button and change the subject line of your first post of the day.
 
Re: 3/10 AMPS 341- so new, so many questions

Dear Betty,
You have lots of good questions and it will take some time for everything to get sorted out. Don't let yourself get overwhelmed and try not to panic. Hank will be OK. He's a cat and cats adapt very well to whatever comes their way. I don't think your spreadsheet got posted, so perhaps you can try again. I believe you have to link its URL to your "signature" in the User Control Panel. Click on profile and then on "edit signature" and add the spreadsheet's URL in the box . Generally Lantus should be given every 12 hours. Consensus is that you can have as much as a 20-minute leeway, but it is best to stick as close as possible to the every-12-hours routine. My cat, Stu, and I are relatively new to Lantus even though Stu had been on a different insulin for more than 4 years. During those 4 years I probably messed him up numerous times because I didn't know what I was doing, didn't home test, and relied on sporadic visits to the vet to determine his dose. In essence, he was unregulated. When he started Lantus he was put on a much higher dose than he should have been. Then I found this message board, began from scratch to follow the protocol, and have learned so much, and Stu is doing great. But I want to stress that Stu survived those 4 years. Hank will survive too! He and you will get used to the tests and the shots. Some syringes are much easier to fill without getting bubbles than others. I recommend Monoject (which you can order online at Hock's; get the 30-gage model with the 1/2- unit markings). We all worry that we might hurt or spook our cats, but cats are tough. Of course you can "have a life" and enjoy your friends' visit. You can make some modifications in Hank's schedule and after your houseguests leave you can gradually shift him back to what will work best for you on an every day basis. Yes, it is expensive to care for a cat with diabetes. But now that you are home testing, you don't have to run to the vet to get curves. You can do them yourself and save a bundle. Stu never had a curve until I started home testing!! He survived even that! You can buy Lantus in the cartridges rather than the vials and save money because there will be less waste. You can order supplies online on Walmart's website and at Hock's. The Walmart meter uses test strips that cost half of what other brands cost.
There are many experienced people on this board who will give you good advice on dosing, etc. (I am not one of them!). But I just wanted you to know that you and your anxieties and your concerns will be taken seriously here. Everyone here has been through what you are going through. Hang in there!

Ella & Stu
P.S. This message, or part of it, may have been submitted twice. I am away from home and not used to this computer.
 
We're back.... And I think I got the spreadsheet attached this time. I'd put it in the wrong spot on my profile earlier. Now I have to figure out how to change the name from code to Hank's SS.

I also added his name as requested by Ronnie to the subject line... so got some of our housecleaning done. Still need to fill in our profile and get photos..we'll get the hang of all this soon.

Now that our SS is up...would appreciate any feedback. Not sure his numbers mean in the scheme of things. It will be one week today that he is on insulin. Are we progressing as we should be? Anything significant?
I am beginning to be able to tell when his numbers are high by how he acts.

Knowing we are going to have to alter schedule a couple days next week, wondering if we should still proceed with Sienne's guide for DST starting tomorrow?
That's a lot of schedule re-arranging for this little boy so early in the game. I guess since he is not regulated anyway, it may not matter as much.
i will need some guidance on how to handle the shot times. Problem is, i won't necessarily know when I leave exactly what time I'll return. A couple of the nights won't be an issue. Perhaps if i can shift everything one hour later, then may only be later than that once.

Ronnie, can't do spot checks until my strips arrive. We are about to run out & hanging on to these couple for PS. I bought online, but holy cow still, they are expensive. Seems like using 125 strips/mo is avg. ..more if curves. How do you do it? They better arrive soon or i have a problem.

I initially bought a couple packs of relion syringes. I'd bought my Lantus Pen at sam's (they sold me a single, BTW) I had no idea so randomly selected the 30 gauge 3/10 8mm. Nothing really to compare to, so thanks for the tips. I know relion are the least expensive by far.

Please check out our SS now that I got it.

How are we doing for week 1? Anything to watch for or do? Appreciate the feedback.

B & H
 
bettyandhank said:
We're back.... And I think I got the spreadsheet attached this time. I'd put it in the wrong spot on my profile earlier. Now I have to figure out how to change the name from code to Hank's SS.

I also added his name as requested by Ronnie to the subject line... so got some of our housecleaning done. Still need to fill in our profile and get photos..we'll get the hang of all this soon.

Now that our SS is up...would appreciate any feedback. Not sure his numbers mean in the scheme of things. It will be one week today that he is on insulin. Are we progressing as we should be? Anything significant?
I am beginning to be able to tell when his numbers are high by how he acts.

Knowing we are going to have to alter schedule a couple days next week, wondering if we should still proceed with Sienne's guide for DST starting tomorrow?
That's a lot of schedule re-arranging for this little boy so early in the game. I guess since he is not regulated anyway, it may not matter as much.
i will need some guidance on how to handle the shot times. Problem is, i won't necessarily know when I leave exactly what time I'll return. A couple of the nights won't be an issue. Perhaps if i can shift everything one hour later, then may only be later than that once.

Ronnie, can't do spot checks until my strips arrive. We are about to run out & hanging on to these couple for PS. I bought online, but holy cow still, they are expensive. Seems like using 125 strips/mo is avg. ..more if curves. How do you do it? They better arrive soon or i have a problem.

I initially bought a couple packs of relion syringes. I'd bought my Lantus Pen at sam's (they sold me a single, BTW) I had no idea so randomly selected the 30 gauge 3/10 8mm. Nothing really to compare to, so thanks for the tips. I know relion are the least expensive by far.

Please check out our SS now that I got it.

How are we doing for week 1? Anything to watch for or do? Appreciate the feedback.

B & H

Hi Betty nice to meet you and Welcome from me too :)
I can't tell you anything about DST or whether you should adjust, but I looked at your ss and it sure looks like Hank is responding to the Lantus :) He started out in the 400's and 300's for a couple of days, then had a few 100's and basically has stayed in the 200's for the last 4 cycles (is it 4) except for one pink? But, I don't know what happened in between the pre shots...and that's really important also when you're talking Lantus numbers because the dose is determined by the nadir, not the preshot number(but if you read the stickies you know that ) :)
Are you using a relion meter? if so, 100 strips are 39.00, 50 strips are 20.00 and 20 strips are 9.00 at Walmart. You can get a box of 100 syringes online at Hocks for 15.99 plus shipping without an RX. That lasts a long time. If money is really a problem, and I know how that it can be because it can be for me at times, sometimes people are giving away or selling for a very reasonable price what you might need... if you check out The Supply Closet Board (go to board index). What did you pay for the relion syringes? I'll bet they aren't less expensive than buying 100 for around 20.00 including shipping. Sometimes if you think "big picture"...it all becomes clearer.

As I said, I'm not an expert but it looks to me that Hank is doing well based on the number of tests you've done :)
You'll get the rest of what you're looking for tomorrow I'm sure.
But anything you need,as far as supplies, if you look hard enough, you usually can get for less!

Have a good night and you're doing fine. Really!

Caryl
 
Hi again, Betty,
I looked at Hank's spreadsheet and to my (novice) eyes, it looks pretty good for his very first week on Lantus. When you get your schedule together and get some more test strips, you'll be able to get a better idea of how he's doing. Everyone here stresses that it takes a few weeks to get a cat's body accustomed to the way that Lantus works (the shed, etc.). And It will take some time for him to get "regulated". There will be many inconsistencies in his glucose readings as you continue on this "adventure". Don't expect miracles overnight. Just keep doing the best that you can.
I see that you have purchased Lantus in the pen. This is a great money saver! But I suspect from your description of the pen that you are using its built-in syringe for your shots. Am I right in this? If so, you will have much better luck with measuring your tiny dose if you simply use U100 syringes (which you can buy without a prescription from Hock's, online. I like the Monoject because they don't seem to attract bubbles as much as some other brands I have tried). To use the syringe with the Lantus pen, you just stick the syringe into the rubber gasket and draw out the insulin. The built-in syringe in the pen is intended for humans, who typically have to use a large amount of insulin, not your tiny 1 unit. I hope this clarifies. And if I have misinterpreted your sentence about the Lantus pen, forgive me!
Good luck to you today!
Ella
 
Morning, Betty!

I wanted to ask you a question: "how do you eat an elephant?"

Answer: one bite at a time.

In other words, choose one aspect, and learn about it. Figure out how it fits into your schedule, finances, and lifestyle. Then go to the next topic. And then the next. It will come together for you in a short time, but please realize you're trying to eat an elephant...so...take it one bite at a time. First things first: learn about hypos, get a kit ready, and print out the info here (or write it down, if your printer has, like mine, gone to printer heaven...). Then move to, say, dose timing, sheds, and how/why they work this way with Lantus. And then to food, and how/why it works that way. And then...and then...and then.

And don't worry about a curve just yet. Really. Get everything else going well (tests, feeding, diet, timing), and then figure out when you can do a curve. I've done quite a few at home, and emailed the results to my vet. The finances are hard, sure...and yes, the beginning is expensive. But you'll soon learn about how to save money, and as your home testing gets more effective, you'll not waste so many strips (I went through about 100 in our first week...now it's rare I waste a strip).

But mostly, I just want to tell you it really can be done; it becomes part of the lifestyle. It gets much, much easier. But eat it one bite at a time, all right? Just one bite at a time.

Hugs!

Best-
Michele
 
Good morning Betty. SS is up and running!!

Hank's SS is looking very good. As Michele suggested, if you are using the needle that came with the pen, don't! For the kind of dosing that we do, you will need syringes. The pens do not allow you to give a dose in less than whole units and we routinely increase and decrease doses in much smaller amounts. Both Walmart's Relion and the GNP brand (both in 1/2 unit increments) are good and inexpensive -- approximately the price that Caryl noted. A 30 or 31 gauge U100 syringe is fine.

Because Hank's numbers are looking good, it is very important that you get spot checks. You need to include checks during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night and there is the possibility that you will miss a dose reduction if you do not test during the PM cycle. Strips are the most expensive part of this process. However, you really can't let yourself run low. If Hank has a very low number, you may need to test as frequently as every 15 min. in order to make sure that his numbers do not drop dangerously low. If you look at Gabby's SS, you will see there are points where I'm testing multiple times per hours due to low numbers and making sure that numbers were responding to food.
 
Just wanted to drop in and say welcome to lantus land...although I know you'd prefer to not have to be here, at all! But, everyone here is so helpful, caring and knowledgable. We all know how overwhelming this can be. I'm not an expert, so I can only offer support! One thing that I've learned through this process is that it does get easier and you will find yourself feeling a little less overwhelmed each day. There is a lot to learn, but just take it day by day. We're all here to answer your questions.

You did mention Hank had a tooth that needed to come out - that could be a driver for his high numbers. Infection does cause their blood sugar to rise. So, it may be a good idea to get that taken care of sooner than later.

Again, welcome! You're in the best place for feline diabetes management. A lot of amazing people on this board.
 
I want to say welcome, too!

The whole thing can be so overwhelming, but like anything new--and let's face it, scary--time makes it feel better.

I'm not terribly experienced, bu if Hank were MY kitty, I'd be encouraged by his spreadsheet. He seems to be doing well to me.

Your vet was probably adamant about not changing the dose because many people do change the dose almost on a daily basis, failing to understand that you have to let a dose of Lantus settle in and see how your kitty does on it after a little bit. Kind of like letting the sloshing and the ripples settle in a measuring cup before you try to read how much is in there.

When we were first diagnosed I, stupidly or ignorantly (depending upon how kind you feel) asked my vet if we could try Glipizide. He preferred Lantus but said okay. When that didn't work, I was terrified. All I could see were shots and an unyielding schedule on my horizon forever. Once I found this place, I began to feel in control and things began looking up--or maybe I should say down. (This is not a criticism of my vet, who was and is very good but let's face it--he can't move in here!) Now, Basil is in remission.

I found that two of the biggest helpers for me were:
1) All canned food. When I came here I was doing half and half.
2) Making those shots 12/12. I had been doing 11/13.

I know it may be impossible to do 12/12, but the closer you can get, the better off you will be. I like to think of the Lantus cycle as a pendulum. As it swings toward you and gets closest to you it pauses a second at the top of the arc, you can pour a little more in very easily and not upset anything. If you miss that point, you are chasing the pendulum while it is moving and that disturbs the natural rhythm. This is, in all likelihood , a dopey metaphor, but it works for me!

I wish I could offer you some great aha! thing about the money. It's an expensive proposition, but if you are lucky, it will be temporary.

Hope to see you around every day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top