3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +4 64, +5 113-my fault; +5.5 88

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jenner & Felix

Member Since 2011
Felix wanted to thank everyone for listening to his bean last night. She gets a lot nervous when his AMPS are so close to 100-never having to stall a dose yet. How do you all live through that??!! :>) Where is that info on stalling located again??

Anyhoo..just wanted to say good morning and that we have 5 inches of fresh, heavy snow here. Maybe some snowmobiling this weekend once we get the camp road plowed out!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103

Good morning guys! What a nice amps for felix .. hopefully the surf continues ... 5 inches of fresh snow? My goodness .. where I am in MI it just rained all day yesterday and now it's really foggy ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103

The info on stalling is one of two places. It's in the Data Ready sticky or a more complete guide, is in the handling low pre-shot post.

Since this is the lowest number you've ever shot, please get a +1 and a +2.

And, in case you should need it, this is the post on how to handle low numbers. Usually there's someone on the Board who is around to lend a hand, but just in case, this is the text version. I'd suggest printing this and the low pre-shot post so you have it handy.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103

Thanks Sienne- I planned to test in 15 mins then jump into the shower. Felix had an 86 AMPS last week that I freaked out about-can you tell that I may be a bit of a drama queen when it comes to FD? :>)

As for the snow, one of the many blessings of living in the U.P.! (except this year NY has more snow than we do-little confused by that!)
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103

Good morning!

When I first started home testing, I did a lot of stalling too and you're right, it's hard to deal with! I went through the same thing a few months ago when I started the all-canned diet and home testing. 103 will look like a beautiful PS number to you once you have enough data to know how Felix will react. Looks like he's doing great. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103 +1 94 2nd time shooting low

For me, the fear of shooting low numbers was seeing the drops Gracie would have from higher preshot numbers. I always assumed if 400 could drop to 200 in a hour or two, then shooting lower than 200 could kill her. We all know Lantus is supposed to offer a "flat" curve, but when you first start out, it tends to be anything but. My first low shot was just the other day, but after seeing those "flat" curves for the first time, I don't think twice anymore. Everyone here is great and supportive, but I just couldn't trust what they were saying until I saw it for myself.

Have a great day!

Jason
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103 +1 94 +2 92

hey jason-appreciate hearing from you! All words are wisdom as we're only one month in to FD.

Sienne- am I right in understanding that if I wasn't home to monitor this morning, one of my choices would have been to not give him his shot, feed a MC or HC and test when I was next available? Then go back to giving the regular dose at PMPS as long as it was above 100?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103 +1 94 +2 92

If you don't shoot, the likelihood of numbers tanking is pretty much nonexistent so I wouldn't feed HC -- unless you pre-shot was in the 40s. Skipping is one alternative. Shooting a reduced dose is another option.

Part of the reason for collecting these early in the cycle numbers is so you have data to guide you with how Felix is responding and so you know when Lantus onset starts. So far, you're seeing a very flat response. It will help you to see if numbers start to drop at +3 and/or whether Felix's numbers stay flat.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103 +1 94 +2 92

I shot a reduced dose last week, w/ AMPS at 86 and he had a flat increase throughout the morning. I'm not seeing that (so far) today with a full dose given. If the +3 goes down to 89, lets say, what does that tell me? I've been feeding mini meals LC at +1,2,3 all week and have continued that pattern today. Should I not have fed because his numbers are below 100?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +1 94; +2 92; +3 76-Help?

So +3 dropped...I fed mm LC like normal-should I add any syrup to it or wait to test at +4? Starting to regret shooting at 103- I am SUCH a newbie! :>)
I don't know what I'd do w/out FDMB!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +1 94; +2 92; +3 76-Help?

The 70s (basically everything about 50) are great #s. A little LC will help Felix surf. If you are nervous, test at +3.5.

I'm heading out to tbp. Others who know how to handle low numbers are around and will lend a hand. As long as you test and have HC at home, you're in control.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +1 94; +2 92; +3 76-Help?

You are doing fine! Onset has started, his numbers are fine so far...he has only dropped a little. If you are nervous, you can always get another test at +3.5.

:lol: I see Sienne beat me to it. I'll be around if you need help.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +1 94; +2 92; +3 76-Help?

Thanks Sienne & Laurie- like I said, a bit of a newbie. Will test in 5 mins. If he is down again, should I add Karo? or just a little more LC?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +1 94; +2 92; +3 76-Help?

It depends on the number....post and we'll see, ok? We've all been there...we know it's a little scary, but you are in control.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83

+3.5 up to 83...and I need to head off to work in 2 hours. Should I feed a little more LC even though he's already had his usual mm of 1,2,3?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83

I wouldn't feed any more now. I would retest before you leave (at least, you can get another test before then if you want to) and feed a little then...that will be around +5.5, right? Nice surf going here!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83

Ok. I'll test at +5.5 and feed a little LC then.

I'm starting to move Felix's dose time back tonight for DST...if his PMPS is around the 100 or even a little below, will tonight be a repeat of this morning in re: to testing +1,+2 etc?
Or will it be potential stall situation if his numbers are below 100?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83

How much are you moving back tonight? I would try to get a +11, then you will be able to see if the number is dropping or rising at +11.5 or +11.75...that helps you decide whether to stall or not if his number is low.

As long as he is rising and his number is comfortable for you to shoot and you can monitor, then you can likely shoot on time and get a +1 and +2 like this morning. Whenever you are shooting your lowest number ever, we suggest you get the +1 and +2...it helps you see which way the cycle will go. With the time change, I would post and ask for help...if he is fairly low, it may be better to not shoot early tonight and make up the time on the next shot. It just depends...so post the +11 and ask if he is low, ok?

Wonderful numbers, he is doing great!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83, +5.5 86

Laurie- I was planning to move dosing back 15 mins tonight, then tomorrow night, etc. (before his numbers were this low)

I will now wait, test at +11 and post for help if numbers are low.

I don't understand "make up the time on the next shot". I get the jist, but don't understand the "how to do it" part.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83, +5.5 86

I don't want to interfere with your conversation with Laurie and she's best to help you with the timing. Just wanted to say Felix looks great today!!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +3 76, +3.5 83, +5.5 86

If you have to, you could move the shot by 15 minutes on two consecutive shots...that's what I meant by making it up on the next shot. But don't worry about it, because it may not be an issue. If it happens, someone can help you with it.

Felix is surfing beautifully! I would give him just a small snack before you go...just to keep him from getting too hungry before shot time tonight. Great job!!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +11 97-try for DST? Stall?

+11 was at 97; Laurie rec. I post for help if PMPS looked to be low and I was considering shooting 15 min. early for DST.

I'll test at +11.5 but could use some help tonight....
 
Re: 3/10 Felix AMPS 103; +11 97-try for DST? Stall?

15 min. won't effect Felix's numbers. Unless his +11.75 is a dropping number, I wouldn't worry.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix +11 97; +11.5 75 Help with stalling??

Arggghhhhh!!!!! Felix just wants to mess with us!!!!!

Retest in 15 min. and let's see what's up, or down, as the case may be.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix +11 97; +11.5 75 Help with stalling??

+11.5 @ 75

Not feeling comfortable with shooting 15 min early for DST preps....

normal shoot time scheduled for 7:45 p.m.

do I need to test 11.75- he is really starting to fight me on all the pokes today
 
Re: 3/10 Felix +11 97; +11.5 75, +11.75 91

Hey Sienne- he gets tiny chicken pieces after pokes...could that be the increase back to 91? Whats going on??

Should I stall his shot-due in 10 mins?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix +11 97; +11.5 75, +11.75 91

The numbers hiccuped. It's roughly within meter variance.

Please get a +1 and +2 so we know what Felix has in store for tonight!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix +11 97; +11.5 75, +11.75 91

Thanks sienne- I'll post his +1

I just need to say that I feel a little hysterical with all of these numbers- it feels like that's all i think about. Felix's FD has me feeling out of control the more I play the numbers game. I'm confused with to stall or not to stall. literature says 80-100 stall- but if you have the data, go ahead. Tonight I didn't stall, cuz his numbers were on the rise; (?) If his 11.75 had been 65, would I have stalled? and for how long? until his numbers started to go back up without feeding him ?

I'm not normally a crazy person, but FD has me feeling pretty darn tired already and we're only one month in.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83

looks like we're in for an interesting night....so glad the hubby is now home for the weekend to help out :>)

How should I go about time-change tomorrow at amps? 15 min early regardless of how low his number is?
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83

Unless the numbers are very low, yes, shift the time by 15 min. It shouldn't effect things. I suspect all of us are a little preoccupied with our cats. I think of time in +hours. I literally have to catch myself when I speak with friends!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72

ok, so our +2 is late cuz i swooped our Relion into the toilet with lancets & test strips and had to run to town to buy replacements. WHAT A DAY!!! bet that hasn't happenend to anyone yet...good thing I had to buy more tomorrow anyway..

big whisker smile to everyone for your support today; Felix is ready to dis-own me after all the pokes!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72

Go Felix! :mrgreen:

Hey Sienne- when you said to go ahead and reduce by 15 min tomorrow am & p.m.-depending on how low his numbers are....where exactly would i cut off at? Still reduce time if he's in the 80-90's? I want to be sure to get the time change thing started before we get too far behind cuz I'm chicken-** when it comes to shooting low...
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72

I don't have an easy answer for you. How about getting a +11 if you can. That way you'll have room to get some spot checks and determine if the numbers are heading up or down. I think if Felix is in the 80s, it's fine to shoot 15 min. early. Other than that, we'll play it by ear. Miriam is often around in the early AM if you need help.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72; +4 64

How do i know if I can head off to bed yet? Fed gravy and small MC at +4.....
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72; +4 64

Usually don't go to bed until you've got two rising numbers without food. He's steadily dropping so I'd not be comfy until he's on the way up and you get a couple tests. I often nap/test/nap/test using my cell phone alarm. I'm up for a while if you need any help; my girl is at 47....little stinka.
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72; +4 64

i let more experienced folks answer for sure...but generally you want to see two numbers in a row that are definitely on the rise...

so bumping your post
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72; +4 64

thanks Marjorie- this is our first really late night testing....hope your girl climbs the ladder nice and easy!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +1 83,; +2.75 72; +4 64

You're welcome!! I wish she would, too, but she loves the 40s. Hopefully, you'll see Felix's nadir soon and he'll slowly come up so you can get some rest. I haven't had 7 hours of straight sleep since this started last Sept. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +4 64, +5 113-my fault

Ok- so I fed too much Savory Shred w/chicken in gravy at +4 & think I ruined his all-day surf. Tonight was the first night I even bought a can of wet w/gravy. Too much of a good thing can turn very bad :?

Really Marjorie, how do you get through the day with a testing schedule like this?? Lots of coffee? You must have a lot of support at home!
 
Re: 3/10 Felix PMPS 91; +4 64, +5 113-my fault

It's just DH and me. He's an airline pilot and works Fri, Sat, Sun and I work from home on Mondays and in my office Tues-Thurs. So I do 24/7 on weekends and then when he gets home, he takes over. I couldn't do it without him. However, on the nights when he's home, even though I go to bed, Gracie goes with me so he's in and out of the bedroom getting her to test and I wake up. We elected to treat her aggressively to try and get her in tight regulation....not there yet. It is exhausting but she's worth it.

No worries about the carbs...we all do it; even after 6 mos at this, sometimes we overcarb her still. I'm going to take a quick nap. I'll check in and see if you've gone to bed...looks like you will get to. Sleep tight.
 
Felix is a real food spiker! He's sprawled on the couch-looking very disgruntled and wants to go to bed-makes two of us!

Happy cat napping & thanks again Marjorie!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top