? 3/10 Dora on Day 6 of 3.75units checking in

Dora the Explorer

Member Since 2020
Last thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/3-5-dora-pmps-128-and-insulin.244189/

Hello everyone! Dora has been coasting these past few days. I had a couple of shots where she pulled away a little so I was worried I might see higher numbers - I did not, significantly, but they didn't go lower either. We haven't been running the AT2 along the Freestyle for several days but she started out the 3.75 dosing days in some blues and then went back to yellow. Technically I guess I was supposed to move her up to 4 units today as per TR but I was a little out of it this morning and figured better stick to 3.75 for one more day and see what happened.

Halfway through the morning she started bullying her frenemies when they tried to use the litter box, following me all around, and acting feisty. So, I checked her and she was 137. For good measure, I squeezed out a little more blood and pulled the AT2, and she was 215. So, assuming that's the lowest number we see -- she is back to resting in her window seat now, having had her lunch - do I hold the dose, or does she need to get more? I'm going to hold for the night so she won't dip low while we are sleeping, but what shall I do in the morning?

Thanks! And by the way, it finally feels like spring!

Jane
 
Hi Jane! HOORAY FOR SPRING! We have the windows open in the house even though it's a little chilly here still, but loving it!

I'm gonna tag @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko here to help you with dosing, but according to the Dosing Methods sticky, you should consider an increase:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Great that Dora is feeling feisty. It means she's feeling better with seeing lower numbers!
 
Hi Jane! HOORAY FOR SPRING! We have the windows open in the house even though it's a little chilly here still, but loving it!

I'm gonna tag @tiffmaxee and @Wendy&Neko here to help you with dosing, but according to the Dosing Methods sticky, you should consider an increase:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Great that Dora is feeling feisty. It means she's feeling better with seeing lower numbers!

Thanks! And I know - a chilly breeze but still ... a coat is too much even though I shiver without one! But they say this is the "hot spell" and it's going to cool off again. But - soon enough! And OK, thank you for posting that. I read and reread but in my mind I think when she goes under 150 I should hold the dose. I find TR a little frightening! But this means she goes to four units ... crazy!
 
Help! She was eating so I told my husband to quick test before the food raises her sugar and throws off PMPS in an hour and a half — we are about to go out and now she’s reading 61 on the Freestyle / 89 on AT2 . We will be gone for an hour and a half and then it will be time for her shot.

What should I do? I’ll feed her more now.
 
FD her but you will need to wait 2 hours from then to get a PMPS. Feed a little higher carbs. Since still on the way down I would leave lc out as you won’t be home. Tge n tease threat works again.
 
Ok well we left at 5 and her am shot was 6:30 so if she gets a shot at 7, that’s two hours. There’s plenty of food out, that’s what she was eating before we tested her.

I don’t want to lose momentum. What do I shoot? 3.5?
 
We just got home and she was 121. 168 on AlphaTrack and this is two hours after eating, 12.5 hours after shot. I’m nervous to do 3.5. Is that what I need to do?
 
You can stall and test again in 20 and see if she is still going up before deciding. THink about that while I look at your ss.
And ultimately no, you don't have to if you're not comfortable. But lemme have a look at your ss and see what I think.
 
Ok I went ahead with the 3.5. If her history is any indication she will go up high. I gave her five nuggets of Dr. Elsey’s. If she continues to drop this will be the first time ever. All of the other times I completely lost ground. So I hope you concur! I have some gravy lovers standing by just in case.
 
Remember with TR, anything 50 and above is safe to shoot.
You shot a 128 on 03/05 and this 121 is basically the same number.
Consider shooting the full dose if you can monitor and have test strips etc.
 
Gah! Why did I think it was 100? I even reread it. Maybe because it terrifies me ?! Ok I did 3.5. I’ll go back up to o 3.75. Thanks!
 
Back
Top