3/10 Chino|AMPS=390|+8=435|PMPS=390|+2=364|+4=359

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

5th cycle on 7.5 units. I increased the Novolin R from 1.25 units yesterday to 1.5 units today and I'm going back to splitting their meals between dose time and +4. It may not have an impact on his BG... but if nothing else, it should make the fuzzball less likely to give Chino a second breakfast.

His numbers have been coming down on the PM cycle, but we're still seeing pink nadirs, so I'm planning to go up to 8 units tomorrow morning.
 
AMPS = 390 (fed half of his usual meal)
[7.5 units Lantus, 1.5 units Novolin R]
+2 = 321
+4 = 345 (fed the other half)
+8 = 435/441 <-- Lantus nadir

I was NOT expecting that. Usually by +8, it's been 8 hours since his last meal... I'm wondering if feeding him 4 hours earlier is what caused the elevated reading. I gave 1 unit of R and I'm hoping to see a pink PMPS.
 
Is it possible to have a paradoxical reaction to a certain type of insulin? It seems his blood sugar has been worse than ever since I started using Novolin R. It could be just coincidence, but I can't think of anything else that might've changed around that time...
 
Is it possible to have a paradoxical reaction to a certain type of insulin?
I thought you said his IAA score was zero. Did you see the copy of the blood work that said that? If so, then he shouldn't be having an antibody reaction. It would just be that the acro tumour is going through a growth spurt. :arghh: R is an in and out insulin. You could always experiment with not giving it and see what happens, but I can't see how that would make things better.

Unless you see a surprise tonight, looks like you are on for an increase tomorrow morning.
 
Yep, it says zero. It's just so nerve-wracking to see the numbers jumping back up like this. I actually had to set the syringe down for a minute before giving the shot because my hands were shaking.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

A few of us have been trying to think about how to blast through Chino's pinks, but do it safely. We usually wait until 10 units total dose before going to 1 unit increments. I wouldn't do that just yet, but maybe after seeing how the next dose does. For some cats we will fast track (increase sooner than 6 cycles), but Chino does like to pull the odd surprise at random cycle counts after an increase. He's being rather stubborn.

Another thing to consider is how long you hold doses. I know you held the last one longer because he saw blue, but maybe now only hold longer if he sees green.
 
Another thing to consider is how long you hold doses. I know you held the last one longer because he saw blue, but maybe now only hold longer if he sees green.

I held the last one for so long because I gave a fur shot on the 5th cycle and had to start the count over :banghead:.
 
When I went out of town 2 weeks ago, my dad came by each day around 1500 (Chino's usual nadir) to give the cats treats and attention. I had warned him that they both go for the same treat and Chino usually gets there first unless I wait until they're each looking at a different hand before setting them down. He texted me this on 2/20:

Just left cats. They're ok. Chino 'stole' some of Fox's treat. Will be much more careful tomorrow.

Since I got back, I've noticed when I give them treats that Fox will pick it up in his mouth, run out of the kitchen (away from Chino), then drop it and eat it there. I know it's not Chino's fault - all he knows is that he's hungry all the time and there's food on the floor - but I hate having to defend the fuzzball's food dish until he's done eating. I hate seeing Chino snatch a treat from under his nose. I really hope his hunger will abate once we get his blood sugar under control.

Tonight, I'm grateful that I only have to give R during the day. His BG is still way too high at night, but at least I can actually see the insulin working most of the time.
 
Yes, the hunger does ease off when their blood sugar is more in the normal zone. I used to have to defent my civie's dish too. Thankfully they both ate the raw pretty quickly. But there were times at the beginning when I wasn't quick enough getting my fingers away from Neko's mouth when I gave a treat. :oops: I learned to toss them at her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top