3/10 Bonk PMPS 353

Status
Not open for further replies.

CanisLupus

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo:

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=115127

It's been a very busy day at work, so I'm just getting this in now. Bonk is doing well, though his eating still isn't where I'd like it. I'm trying some of the suggestions from yesterday, but went for the appetite stimulant tonight. Seeing positive results already. I'll be better prepared with the food later when this round starts to wear off. But I decided that the Mirtazapine, though isn't a perfect solution, is probably the lesser evil than giving him the dry food he craves. Also gave him another Pepcid an hour before the stimulant.

He started the day pretty high in numbers, but dropped from 572 to 272 during the day. Also, I saw him chase Faolan across the house for the first time in weeks! That was a great sight to see, Bonk running and playing! So even though his numbers are all over the place, and he doesn't seem to be eating enough to me, he seems to be feeling much better. So maybe the suggestion from Chris that he isn't eating as much because we have his numbers getting better, and he just isn't hungry might be correct.
 
Hi Brian

Sorry it was such a long day. Glad to hear Bonk had a nice poo!

If he hasn't had any more dry food in 24 hours and he doesn't drop into blue numbers (or lower) tonight, I'd increase his dose to 2.25u in the morning.
 
I like Marje's suggestion! It's time for a dose increase to 2.25u given the nadirs in the 200s.

If you go through the "Obesity" section on Dr. Lisa's website, there's a formula to calculate the number of calories per day that a cat needs. She notes it's a "generous" formula but it will give you a ballpark for how much Bonk needs to eat. Chris is correct in that as a cat's numbers improve, their appetite returns to a normal level since nutrition (i.e., glucose) is getting into the cells vs. floating around in the bloodstream.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top