3/1 Simone AMPS=452, PMPS=97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zipdrive

Member Since 2017
Yesterdays numbers: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-28-simone-amps-207-2-83-2-1-2-79-3-92-4-110-6-128-pmps-218.173991/

6:00 AMPS=452 (25.1) - 1u was given
No testing throughout the day as I was away from 10 AM to 5 PM. I did leave a little food out.
6:00 PMPS-97 (5.4) - NS

The PMPS was a bit of a shock. Never had a reading that low for a PM dose. Had a couple in the 200's and was able to shoot. I'm going to check around the +2 +3 mark and see her levels. Right now shes a bit miffed at me for leaving her alone for the afternoon and for poking her ears too many times the past few days.

Now yesterday the vet told me to stay the course for the next 7 days and keep Simone on a 1u dose x2 daily unless she has low PS numbers under 216 (12), then don't give her a shot.
 
Surprise dad! Guess what I did while you were gone. :D:cat:

It's better if you can find a dose where you can give the same amount consistently each cycle. Rather than keeping on skipping if she's too low, it's better to take the dose down a bit and keep on shooting. When Simone earned a reduction yesterday according to SLGS, her new dose would have been 0.75 units. Most vets don't think in small changes like that. But it's better for Simone to keep getting insulin each cycle instead of what will probably be a sharp jump up overnight due to the no shot tonight. And as Liz says, once you learn Simone's blood sugar patterns, you will be able to shoot lower than 12 (212).

I listened to my vet on dosing, initially. Then I found it hard to get in touch with her when I needed an answer and having the dosing guidelines here just made it so much easier to decide what to do with the dose.
 
I believe the Lantus pens allow for whole unit dosing only. You'll likely have to give fractions of units at some point so it's worth learning how to use a syringe to draw insulin from the pen.
 
Currently I'm serving 2 masters, Simone and the vet. With not wanting to upset the apple cart or make waves with the vet and changing doses on my own to suit Simone's needs (at this time), I'm going to do as the vet directed providing the pre-shot number warrants the 1u dose. Then in a week when I do the curve as requested and bring it in. I will also print out a weeks worth of numbers plus doses/missed doses. I don't like Simone missing her shot but if that what it takes so the vet can see that the 1u dose is too high then so be it.

And this is why we test. :woot: Good job! Eventually, you'll be able to shoot that 97.
Liz
I will not give her a shot without the morning and evening BG test. I can only imagine what would of happened if I did give her the suggested dose last night.

Surprise dad! Guess what I did while you were gone. :D:cat:

It's better if you can find a dose where you can give the same amount consistently each cycle. Rather than keeping on skipping if she's too low, it's better to take the dose down a bit and keep on shooting. When Simone earned a reduction yesterday according to SLGS, her new dose would have been 0.75 units. Most vets don't think in small changes like that. But it's better for Simone to keep getting insulin each cycle instead of what will probably be a sharp jump up overnight due to the no shot tonight. And as Liz says, once you learn Simone's blood sugar patterns, you will be able to shoot lower than 12 (212).

I listened to my vet on dosing, initially. Then I found it hard to get in touch with her when I needed an answer and having the dosing guidelines here just made it so much easier to decide what to do with the dose.

LOL, yeah I can only imagine. Actually she probably stayed on her footstool looking outside watching the world pass by and sleeping. There were no "Cat's gone Wild" pay per view charged to my cable bill so it's a sure bet she was sleeping most of the time.

I don't like skipping her shot either Wendy. But it's either go against the vets prescribed dose and risk ticking the vet off, or giving Simone her dose and skipping the ones when she low. I told the vet I bought syringes and can give smaller amounts but she wants to see what a weeks worth of 1u will do. Providing Simone's numbers are high enough for the shot. For a week I'll play along. If nothing to prove to the vet that 1u is too high and shots had to be skipped.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top