3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

Status
Not open for further replies.

patrick_777

Member Since 2011
She's weirding me out lately with her numbers. Today's AMPS was 153...yes...153

Looks like I'm holding off on a shot this morning. This rollercoaster is killing me.
 
Re: 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153

Just goes to prove she is definitely a CAT....lol

Never under-estimate the power of a cat to do exactly what we don't expect them to do, and to do it when we least expect it. I'm sure Murphy wrote his law based on his cat.

But what a pretty number to wake up too.

Mel, Max & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153

So since she ate, her numbers are probably going to skyrocket really soon. What should I do if at the +4 mark she's in the 400s?

BTW, I checked her twice this morning and they were both 153 and 161 and my own was 91 - so I think I ruled out meter error.
 
Re: 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153

Looks like maybe her body has settled into the new increase........maybe she's trying for a trip to the falls........they love to play mind games with us. Have to say this is not a amps I would have expected but heck....Mishka gave me a 63 amps yesterday and then went down to 45.

I don't see any numbers past +2 last night so have to wonder where she went and if she is on her way back up from a low. May throw you off but test again at +1 and see if she is safe to shoot then or just let it go for this a.m. and see what she throws you.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

Shoot.....only an hr. late and you can shoot at her regular time tonight if required. No need to adjust schedule.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

Done. Now I'm really going to watch her for a while.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

Patrick.......many cats have gone into remission, especially newbies, by using Lantus. Prozinc is the newest insulin out there and doesn't work for many cats. If she keeps this up, I would strongly suggest you consider using Lantus or Levemir but.......they work differently and you would have to do some major reading to understand the insulins. There are many that could help you with the Lantus......I've never used it.....but IMHO Sabian would be a good candidate for the Lantus.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

And as a reminder, I have free bottles of Lantus to try her on. If she goes OTJ in a month, no money is wasted and you didn't have to go through getting a script and ordering 5 penlets from Canada. I've used the bottles for up to 4 months with good results. Your call.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

And as a reminder, I have free bottles of Lantus to try her on. If she goes OTJ in a month, no money is wasted and you didn't have to go through getting a script and ordering 5 penlets from Canada. I've used the bottles for up to 4 months with good results. Your call.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1(PP)-347 +1(PS)-

I might take you up on that Dale. I just took a +1 post shot (+2 postprandial) and it was 396. Eating anything really seems to shoot her numbers up hard since she was only 346 at +1 after eating. I'm planning on catching numbers on her every hour for the next few to see what it's doing.

Before I change insulins (it'll be a few weeks I think), I want to try the longer needles with a larger bore, just in case the change in needles to the 31g shorts are causing the problem.
 
Re: Advice? 3/1 Sabian (PZI 1u) AMPS-153 +1-347

+2 (shot) is 250. She's on her way down at a sharp angle.

oimg


+3 is 191.
 
+9 is 314.

I've thought about it and will probably go to that in a week or so. I want to change needles first to see if that will have any effect. It really shouldn't affect it much, but it won't hurt to try that first.

I picked up a trial-sized bag of Canyon Creek Ranch "Duck Tenders" to see if she likes them. The only ingredients are duck breast, vegetable glycerin and "natural flavor". I'm not sure what the carb content would be, but duck is fairly fatty of a bird.

She ate a few tiny bits of it so we'll try to get her off the few pebbles of DM I've been using as a treat. That, in and of itself, could be throwing off her BG some.
 
She drops too fast........you'd think she was on Humulin N......fast acting, short duration. Considering what her amps was this morning you might want to set your alarm for a +4 or +5. That 153 might have been a number on it's way up from who knows where.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top