3/1 Milo AMPS 192 +4 331 +6.5 213 +8 164 +9.5 165 PMPS 298 +4.5 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

milosmommy

Member Since 2009
Milo Saturday

I am having problem understanding the high jump from AMPS /PMPS before he hits nadir. I do understand depot insulin that Levemir is and it's wearing off. I just don't like that he goes that high still.
 
Hi Meredith, sorry I don't have an answer for you, but I hope that Milo recovers from this high quickly. Awesome string of better PS numbers.
 
are you talking about his amps 192 to +4/331? If so, I think what you're seeing is the end to a normal Lev cycle. His nadir for last night's pm cycle was at +12/amps this morning, and you're seeing a rise to the end of the cycle after that. Cycles can change - some days he's nadiring earlier in the cycle than other days.

The other issue you've got is that he isn't to the "right" dose yet. He's got nadirs in the upper 100's at this point - I see you're methodically increasing following the TR guidelines - just keep it up and you'll get him there. Some cats need more insulin than others - you just want to give him what he needs.
 
NDW usually last for the first couple of cycles after an increase. You'll find as you get closer to a good dose, that he won't go as high after preshot until his onset. One of my clues that Neko will have an active cycle is if her +3 to +4 is similar to her preshot. As Julie said, keep following the protocol on the increases, you are doing a good job and you'll get there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top