3/1 Mandarin AMBG 73 / Walter AMPS 249, +3.5 97 + Lenny is out of surgery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mandarin'sMom

Member Since 2014
Last condo

Crazy day yesterday. I left right after Walter's AM shot to drive Lenny out to the vet clinic in Ann Arbor - so I temporarily reduced Walter's dose to keep him safe. I managed to make it back right in time to teach my night class... and all I wanted to do when I came home was sleep. Instead, I was up most of the night trying to calm my animals. We had two major storm fronts move through. The first one started around 9:30 pm with large hail, straight line winds and blaring tornado sirens. According to the news, two tornadoes touched down very close to where I live. My dogs don't generally care much about thunderstorms, but it was the hail that really freaked everyone out.

Needless to say, I feel like a zombie this morning... and I am getting ready to head to campus. Part of me is glad that I have some distraction though. Lenny's surgery is scheduled to start at 1 pm and it is supposed to take about 3 hours. My stomach is in knots and I just hope that everything goes well. :nailbiting:
 
Keeping continuous vines and prayers flowing for Lenny. Sorry about those nasty storms and glad you didn't get hit with anything worse. Hope you can get some rest in soon. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
mega prayers for Lenny, Christina. Glad Walter is behaving
It wasn't nearly so bad @ my Mom's house ( a few miles away) shows how localized these storms can be -
Hope today is uneventful for you and you can rest - I'll be thinking about Lenny this afternoon :bighug::bighug:
 
I was thinking of you last night when I heard about the storms:nailbiting: I'm happy to hear you are safe. We always get your "leftovers" but they tend to burn themselves out as they enter southwestern Ontario and by the time they reach London they're meh. I hate storms so "meh" is good.
Sending some nerve-calming vines for everyone and lots and lots of surgery vines for Lenny!
 
So glad I listened to my spidey senses and ran home to check on Walter. I was tempted to stay on campus since I had almost no time to prep my class and could have used my lunch break for that - but seeing his number, I am glad that I got a chance to test and feed.

I also got a nice update on Lenny. His vet sent a picture and then called to let me know that he is resting comfortably (even though he is really upset about the lack of food). He should be going into surgery shortly. :nailbiting:

It wasn't nearly so bad @ my Mom's house ( a few miles away) shows how localized these storms can be -
It feels like it's is oftentimes the south side that gets hit particularly hard. I am very thankful that I have power this time - nasty storms are one thing, but being without power (and heat) for days makes it so much worse.
 
Let's hear for the Spidey Senses!!

Sending healing vines to Lenny. I am sure you will feel better after he is home and resting comfortably. And after you get a good night's sleep!
 
Piling on the vines for Lenny. I hope you have a good night full of sleep and no storms (and no kitties showing off their diving skills).
 
I FINALLY got the call a little while ago. They ended up having to do an emergency surgery on a dog that was completely paralyzed after an accident and Lenny's surgery got pushed back to after 3 pm. But he is awake and doing as well as can be expected. The surgery went well - but his disc was completely shattered, so they had to remove lots of little pieces. He was under anesthesia for over three hours. He is still on IV pain meds and they want to keep him completely calm for at least 24 hours. The poor guy even has a urinary catheter since he is not supposed to get up to pee.

So far, they don't know the outcome. Tomorrow, they will make sure he has feeling in his toes. On Friday, they'll see if he can stand and then we'll go from there. I knew all of that ahead of time, but it is still difficult to think of my big boy laying in a cage so far away. If he can't come home on Saturday, I will for sure go up there for a visit. For now, I am hugely relieved and exhausted. This was the longest day ever... but I am very glad that the clinic kept me posted throughout the day.

Thank you for all of your vines and prayers!!!
 
I'm so glad to see that Lenny came through the surgery okay. Sounds like he really needed it, poor baby. I hope his recovery goes smoothly. I know it's hard to not have him there with you, but he is in the best possible place right now.

Walter, what were you thinking? Mama is very stressed out and distracted, so you be a good boy and surf safely for the next few days, 'k?

Mandarin, keep doing what you're doing! :D

Sending lot of vines and :bighug:s.
 
I can imagine yesterday was a very long day for you; I hate when one of my babies is left at the vet for surgery. Sending some more vines to Lenny; hopefully he comes through the tests with flying colours!
 
Mega vines and prayers for Lenny today as he begins his recovery. I hope that all will go well.

Hugs and scritches, and hopes for better weather so that the kitties will not be spooked.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top