? 3/1 Ivy Amps Lo L/83 C, +3 45 L, +6 133, +9.5 75, Pmps 125, +3.5 99 Libre; Bupe concern, ear twitch

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/28/25
Amps Libre Lo=
83 Contour Next

Well, that was a long night or I should say a short night. No rest was had for me or Ivy. She was low on her Libre all night long. So we did feedings through the night. I started out feeding her lamb 12.5% and 20% Carbs. But it didn’t seem to pull her up. Eventually tried feeding some 20% Friskies that I had.
I’m not sure that that actually really did too much either.
I think she was just staying lower. I never did try Karo or anything because I didn’t feel she was in danger.

This morning she was LO on the Libre before feeding and shot time but she tested at 83 on the Contour Next meter, which makes sense for how she surfed all night.

She ate her meal well last night and again this morning and the snacks throughout the night. I had given her a half a dose of mirtazapine last night and if she continues to eat well today, I think I’m going to stop giving that and won’t give another dose.

She seems to feel pretty good, poops are still slightly soft but formed, so I’m pretty happy with where she is there after this whole round of pancreatitis.

Just need to try to figure out how we can avoid having that ever happen again if possible. What a nightmare! :blackeye:

Hoping to get her to surf a tad higher today. I’m not sure why these cycles have been so low for her. It has to be tied to all that’s going on with her whole system. I did take another reduction this morning down to 2.5 units.
I also fed her some 16% MC for breakfast and snacks today. Will see how that works.

I don’t want her surfing quite so low all day and night. It’s just too much for me to not sleep every night and make sure she’s safe all night long with that Libre constantly going off with alerts.
At that level, it will most certainly kill the sensor and we replaced one sensor this week due to cycles like this.

She continues on her dose of Cerenia and we have two more doses of buprenorphine and then that is done.

I plan to speak with the doctor early this coming week to see what the plan is going forward. We definitely need to discuss how to medicate her with sedation prior to vet and lab visits.

And I don’t plan to be fasting her anymore for the lab visits her system clearly can’t handle it With the sedation on board.

I guess we’ll see what happens today. It’s always a mystery.

Wishing everyone a very safe Saturday, I hope it’s a very boring one and everyone stays very safe
:cat:
 
Update:
I’m noticing some ear twitching and a little bit of head twitching.

I’ve never seen her do anything like that before and she certainly has had a very low overnight cycle and she still lower for her this morning, Despite a lower dose and a little bit higher carb breakfast at snacks.

It’s not constant and she just ate her +2 snack.

I read these can be some signs of hypoglycemia so I’m a little concerned between her lower glucose and wondering if there’s something to do with maybe the buprenorphine dose?
(Or Cerenia and Mirtazapine).

I think she’s just very sensitive to all kinds of medications, especially ones that have sedating properties. And since the buprenorphine is an opioid, that concerns me.
We have two more doses of that that we are supposed to be giving her. One tonight and one tomorrow morning, but it concerns me.

I did send an email to the vet as I know he is in this morning.
(I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m a complete nut job with so many concerns and questions)
:rolleyes:
Thanks for your thoughts.
 
Good morning Staci and Ivy.
My, my. :eek: Ivy just decided to mojito party all night!
Maybe she was trying to celebrate Mikan's birthday!
Thank you Ivy, Mikan had her favorite Gravy Lovers too.

20250301210716.jpg


Now that the party is over, it's time to go back to a calm, relaxing beach!

I hope Ivy continues to feel better.
I also hope you get to rest some today, Staci!
Sending you restful vibes! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci and Ivy.
My, my. :eek: Ivy just decided to mojito party all night!
Maybe she was trying to celebrate Mikan's birthday!
Thank you Ivy, Mikan had her favorite Gravy Lovers too.

20250301210716.jpg


Now that the party is over, it's time to go back to a calm, relaxing beach!

I hope Ivy continues to feel better.
I also hope you get to rest some today, Staci!
Sending you restful vibes! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, awww sweet Mikan. I love seeing her beautiful face ❤️❤️❤️
I just miss her so much :bighug::bighug:
I know she somehow was loving that gravy lovers candle in her honor :kiss:

Yeah, we had quite the :D:D:D “party” last night. She’s still not bumping up today. ;)

Sending you warm thoughts and hugs. Ivy and I celebrate sweet Mikan with you❤️
I hope you also have a relaxing weekend. Thanks for checking on us this morning, we appreciate your support always!! :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Update:
I’m noticing some ear twitching and a little bit of head twitching.

I’ve never seen her do anything like that before and she certainly has had a very low overnight cycle and she still lower for her this morning, Despite a lower dose and a little bit higher carb breakfast at snacks.

It’s not constant and she just ate her +2 snack.

I read these can be some signs of hypoglycemia so I’m a little concerned between her lower glucose and wondering if there’s something to do with maybe the buprenorphine dose?
(Or Cerenia and Mirtazapine).

I think she’s just very sensitive to all kinds of medications, especially ones that have sedating properties. And since the buprenorphine is an opioid, that concerns me.
We have two more doses of that that we are supposed to be giving her. One tonight and one tomorrow morning, but it concerns me.

I did send an email to the vet as I know he is in this morning.
(I’m pretty sure he thinks I’m a complete nut job with so many concerns and questions)
:rolleyes:
Thanks for your thoughts.
Oh, Staci. My post above got posted on before your second post.
I hope her twitching is benign - any other unusual behaviors? Is she enjoying your touch?
Having an appetite is definitely encouraging. Hope twitching is transient and will ease up with time.
Sending you hugs, Staci. It's been so rough for you. Get some rest if you can!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh, Staci. My post above got posted on before your second post.
I hope her twitching is benign - any other unusual behaviors? Is she enjoying your touch?
Having an appetite is definitely encouraging. Hope twitching is transient and will ease up with time.
Sending you hugs, Staci. It's been so rough for you. Get some rest if you can!
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
No other odd behavior. And it seems to have stopped for now.

Just thought I should ask in case it means something serious.
She let me pet and kiss her no problem.
I just can’t believe she’s not bumping up at all. I’d like her a little higher while she’s recovering from this whole thing and she’s on these medications.

The combination of all this stuff just makes me nervous for her to surf so low (for her).

And the fact that I’m lowering the insulin and she’s not bumping always makes me a little stressed.

I know the depot is still at work of a larger dose, I know that takes a little bit to work its way out.
:arghh:
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
2/28/25
Amps Libre Lo=
83 Contour Next

Well, that was a long night or I should say a short night. No rest was had for me or Ivy. She was low on her Libre all night long. So we did feedings through the night. I started out feeding her lamb 12.5% and 20% Carbs. But it didn’t seem to pull her up. Eventually tried feeding some 20% Friskies that I had.
I’m not sure that that actually really did too much either.
I think she was just staying lower. I never did try Karo or anything because I didn’t feel she was in danger.

This morning she was LO on the Libre before feeding and shot time but she tested at 83 on the Contour Next meter, which makes sense for how she surfed all night.

She ate her meal well last night and again this morning and the snacks throughout the night. I had given her a half a dose of mirtazapine last night and if she continues to eat well today, I think I’m going to stop giving that and won’t give another dose.

She seems to feel pretty good, poops are still slightly soft but formed, so I’m pretty happy with where she is there after this whole round of pancreatitis.

Just need to try to figure out how we can avoid having that ever happen again if possible. What a nightmare! :blackeye:

Hoping to get her to surf a tad higher today. I’m not sure why these cycles have been so low for her. It has to be tied to all that’s going on with her whole system. I did take another reduction this morning down to 2.5 units.
I also fed her some 16% MC for breakfast and snacks today. Will see how that works.

I don’t want her surfing quite so low all day and night. It’s just too much for me to not sleep every night and make sure she’s safe all night long with that Libre constantly going off with alerts.
At that level, it will most certainly kill the sensor and we replaced one sensor this week due to cycles like this.

She continues on her dose of Cerenia and we have two more doses of buprenorphine and then that is done.

I plan to speak with the doctor early this coming week to see what the plan is going forward. We definitely need to discuss how to medicate her with sedation prior to vet and lab visits.

And I don’t plan to be fasting her anymore for the lab visits her system clearly can’t handle it With the sedation on board.

I guess we’ll see what happens today. It’s always a mystery.

Wishing everyone a very safe Saturday, I hope it’s a very boring one and everyone stays very safe
:cat:
I’m glad to hear the twitching stopped, and hope the vet has some answers for you. Lowering the dose right now seems like a good idea for sure. Sending her healing vines from the city!
 
I’m glad to hear the twitching stopped, and hope the vet has some answers for you. Lowering the dose right now seems like a good idea for sure. Sending her healing vines from the city!
Thanks, Eamon, we do appreciate the city vines.
It’s always something to worry about with these furry ones!
Hope you and your brood have a wonderful Caturday :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
I’m glad she’s moving in the right direction. I never could figure out how to prevent pancreatitis episodes nor could my vet internist. None of my reading on the subject was helpful either. I just learned to keep supplies in hand and start meds at the guest sign if inappetence with Max. I hope you are more successful.
 
Those nights with the Libre alerts are absolutely exhausting. I'm glad she's starting to feel so much better! The twitching is a little concerning, but I hope that it's just sensitivity to medications, like you said.
 
Phew. So glad Ivy seems to be on the other side of the bout of pancreatitis, but goodness me, how stressful with the lows. I hope she stabilizes soon and you can have a more relaxed rest-of-weekend, Staci. You must have a lot of sleep to catch up on!

Noogi did a bit of twitching with one of his earliest hypo episodes. I panicked big-time! But it was over quite soon, and it was all fine. He wasn't even that low.
Hoping the twitching was just a one-time thing with Ivy too.
 
Oh Staci, you have to be exhausted, I'm happy that Ivy continues to have an appetite, that's very encouraging. I hope the twitching was nothing and you are not a nut , I would call my vet too.
I'm glad she's feeling better . I think reducing the dose was a good call. You both need a break. I hope she continues to come up today :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
I’m glad she’s moving in the right direction. I never could figure out how to prevent pancreatitis episodes nor could my vet internist. None of my reading on the subject was helpful either. I just learned to keep supplies in hand and start meds at the guest sign if inappetence with Max. I hope you are more successful.
Thanks, Elise. I wish you had the answers. This is so nasty and dangerous.
I’m not sure what I would do if it happened again since I don’t feel we treated it very well.
I believe the ondansetron wasn’t great for her. But it could have been that she was just in pain and nothing would have helped since they hadn’t yet addressed that issue.
Thanks again for your help and support :bighug::bighug:
 
Those nights with the Libre alerts are absolutely exhausting. I'm glad she's starting to feel so much better! The twitching is a little concerning, but I hope that it's just sensitivity to medications, like you said.
Yes they are, Brianna. It’s been a rough patch.
I’m glad she’s feeling better though. And eating !

I’m very curious if I hear from the vet what he has to say about the twitching.
:bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Phew. So glad Ivy seems to be on the other side of the bout of pancreatitis, but goodness me, how stressful with the lows. I hope she stabilizes soon and you can have a more relaxed rest-of-weekend, Staci. You must have a lot of sleep to catch up on!

Noogi did a bit of twitching with one of his earliest hypo episodes. I panicked big-time! But it was over quite soon, and it was all fine. He wasn't even that low.
Hoping the twitching was just a one-time thing with Ivy too.
Oh wow that’s so scary, Helen. I’m glad Noogi was ok after his episode of twitching.

It’s been a very difficult 2 weeks. Just relieved she feels better.
Have a nice weekend and hope Noogi is doing well :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh Staci, you have to be exhausted, I'm happy that Ivy continues to have an appetite, that's very encouraging. I hope the twitching was nothing and you are not a nut , I would call my vet too.
I'm glad she's feeling better . I think reducing the dose was a good call. You both need a break. I hope she continues to come up today :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
Yes Diane, you guessed it. I’m exhausted. What a night it was.
Glad she’s finally come up a bit today. Whew!!!

So glad she’s finally feels better my sweet furball.
Hope you have a nice weekend :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Good morning Staci and Ivy.
My, my. :eek: Ivy just decided to mojito party all night!
Maybe she was trying to celebrate Mikan's birthday!
Thank you Ivy, Mikan had her favorite Gravy Lovers too.

20250301210716.jpg


Now that the party is over, it's time to go back to a calm, relaxing beach!

I hope Ivy continues to feel better.
I also hope you get to rest some today, Staci!
Sending you restful vibes! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Happy heavenly birthday Mikan! cat_wings>o
We miss you sweet girl ♡♡♡
 
Oh Staci,
Looks like Ivy took you for a wild ride last night. I'm sure you're exhausted today. Hopefully she's calm and steady tonight and you can catch some Zzzzzzzz's.
Come on sweet Ivy give mama a break! Nestle loves having you on the beach but he doesn't like snorkeling.

Wishing you both a very boring night and happy caturday :bighug::cat::bighug::cat:
 
Back
Top