3/1 Ivy Amps 267, +2 283, +5 285, +8 398, Pmps(PFS?)370, +2.5 151, +3.10 67, +5.75 54 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
2/29/24
Amps 267
Good morning,
Flat yellow night & overnight after a beautiful cycle yesterday am.
Update: I stopped adding the Thorne Digestive Enzymes last night at dinner. And she ate from her auto feeder at all 3 of the snacks. (Yay!!)
I’m hoping that was the problem she was having with using the feeder (anti jinx). I guess she will show us.

The enzymes were being added to her food and were grossly stinky:eek:
I had been adding them to meals for about a week, which coincided with the time frame she’s been not wanting to use the feeder. Hoping I cracked the problem, paws crossed.
Once I give it a few days to see if we are back on track I will need to contact the vet for yet another request for something to replace that product (which was a replacement for the Pan Chelate (capsule emptied in food) she had been eating with no problem, but was discontinued).
:arghh:

Will see how she does today with her snacks.
Have a great Furiday all:cat:
 
I have a whole container of Adored Beast Healthy Gut in my fridge that Pepper won't touch if it's in his food. Ugh! Of course the stuff is expensive! I've been giving him Dr. Mercola Bark & Whiskers Digestive Enzymes (it says it's for kibble diet but I put it in his wet food). I'm not sure if it's helping his IBD or not but he does eat his food with it in there. ;)
 
I have a whole container of Adored Beast Healthy Gut in my fridge that Pepper won't touch if it's in his food. Ugh! Of course the stuff is expensive! I've been giving him Dr. Mercola Bark & Whiskers Digestive Enzymes (it says it's for kibble diet but I put it in his wet food). I'm not sure if it's helping his IBD or not but he does eat his food with it in there. ;)
Thanks for letting me know!! :bighug:
 
I have a whole container of Adored Beast Healthy Gut in my fridge that Pepper won't touch if it's in his food. Ugh! Of course the stuff is expensive! I've been giving him Dr. Mercola Bark & Whiskers Digestive Enzymes (it says it's for kibble diet but I put it in his wet food). I'm not sure if it's helping his IBD or not but he does eat his food with it in there. ;)
Does it have a strong odor? (The Thorne was disgusting smelling, I can see why she was turned off)
 
Yay to the success with the autofeeder! :):):)
So it was the sticky additive that was the culprit :facepalm:
I can see that if smelly, they will likely say, No way ma'am!
It is silly that they make it so smelly for kitties whose sense of smell is so much stronger than ours!
Hopefully the vet can come up with better alternative for Ivy!
Safe surfing, Ivy, and have a wonderful day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
A nice sunny start today for your sweet girl. Hopefully she decides to adventure a bit today and comes down to the beach to keep Nestle there.

And what great detective work with the auto feeder. I truly hope that was the problem and she'll be fine eating from it from meow on.

Hopefully it's mild and sunny where you are.
Enjoy your Furrrrrriday :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

upload_2024-3-1_9-53-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-3-1_9-53-48.png
    upload_2024-3-1_9-53-48.png
    90 KB · Views: 242
Yay to the success with the autofeeder! :):):)
So it was the sticky additive that was the culprit :facepalm:
I can see that if smelly, they will likely say, No way ma'am!
It is silly that they make it so smelly for kitties whose sense of smell is so much stronger than ours!
Hopefully the vet can come up with better alternative for Ivy!
Safe surfing, Ivy, and have a wonderful day, Staci :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, I’m still not sure if I’ve solved it. This morning was hit or miss. She ate when I coaxed her but not on her own yet. Last night was better. Sigh.
At least I can try to eliminate and see if it gets better. Paws crossed.
Hope you have a great day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good meowning Staci and Ivy!
A nice sunny start today for your sweet girl. Hopefully she decides to adventure a bit today and comes down to the beach to keep Nestle there.

And what great detective work with the auto feeder. I truly hope that was the problem and she'll be fine eating from it from meow on.

Hopefully it's mild and sunny where you are.
Enjoy your Furrrrrriday :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

View attachment 69365
Hi Karolina, yep. Sunny start and lazy sunny cycle. Snoozing in my closet. No beach for now :(

I feel like I always have to be a detective with her to figure out what’s bothering her and try to solve it. Everything‘s a mystery. It’s exhausting :confused:
Hope you have a nice, sunny Friday :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I would suggest just stopping the Thorne permanently and not starting anything else until you have the consult with Holly because she can best recommend what Ivy needs based on the testing she does. If she has never had pancreatitis, it is fine to hold off on what your vet seems as pancreas support until Holly can help you, IMHO.

It also looks to me like Ivy does need that dose increase to 4u. I’d suggest you increase tonight so you have two cycles under your belt before your Sat night out.

I have a whole container of Adored Beast Healthy Gut in my fridge that Pepper won't touch if it's in his food. Ugh! Of course the stuff is expensive! I've been giving him Dr. Mercola Bark & Whiskers Digestive Enzymes (it says it's for kibble diet but I put it in his wet food). I'm not sure if it's helping his IBD or not but he does eat his food with it in there. ;)
I use the AB Healthy Gut but I mix it with a probiotic, a few other supplements, and water and syringe it to my cats. They think whatever comes out of a syringe is a treat. I never put anything on their food (of course, for CKD cats with high phosphorus levels, you do have to mix the binder in with the food if using a binder).
 
If she has never had pancreatitis, it is fine to hold off on what your vet seems as pancreas support until Holly can help you, IMHO.

It also looks to me like Ivy does need that dose increase to 4u. I’d suggest you increase tonight so you have two cycles under your belt before your Sat night out.
Ok sounds good. I stopped the Thorne last night. It was disgusting, even to me. She’s never had pancreatitis.
I add all her other supplements, probiotic and binder, to her food and she’s never complained. Until now (if that’s her issue).
I try to limit what I have to orally give her. Right now it’s only the denamarin pill.

I hate to increase at night, but I will do so tonight. (Cringe) :nailbiting:

Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ok sounds good. I stopped the Thorne last night. It was disgusting, even to me. She’s never had pancreatitis.
I add all her other supplements, probiotic and binder, to her food and she’s never complained. Until now (if that’s her issue).
I try to limit what I have to orally give her. Right now it’s only the denamarin pill.

I hate to increase at night, but I will do so tonight. (Cringe) :nailbiting:

Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’re welcome.

I think I’ve mentioned before that there are much easier things to give in lieu of Denamarin. I am not sure I understand why you are giving it. Her liver values on her last labs were very good. If you are worried that stopping a product like that will raise the liver values (usually ALT), then you might want to try AB Liver tonic. You don’t have to give it on an empty stomach or pill her…it’s a liquid.
 
You’re welcome.

I think I’ve mentioned before that there are much easier things to give in lieu of Denamarin. I am not sure I understand why you are giving it. Her liver values on her last labs were very good. If you are worried that stopping a product like that will raise the liver values (usually ALT), then you might want to try AB Liver tonic. You don’t have to give it on an empty stomach or pill her…it’s a liquid.
Correct. I am afraid that if I stop giving it the ALT will become a problem again. So we stay with it. Following vet’s orders on that.
Is the AB liver tonic the same type of product? And it sounds like I’d have to dropper in her mouth? Or can it go in food (tasteless???)
 
Pmps 367
Increased to 4 units Lantus, however, she pulled away as I shot. So probably a PFS. I don’t think all insulin made it in, but I think at least some did. Oy!!
:banghead:
Guess we will see what happens. :blackeye:
 
Pmps 367
Increased to 4 units Lantus, however, she pulled away as I shot. So probably a PFS. I don’t think all insulin made it in, but I think at least some did. Oy!!
:banghead:
Guess we will see what happens. :blackeye:
Sorry to hear about the maybe a PFS - I hope more got in than didn't. Remember - show yourself some grace, ya hear! :bighug:
 
145 at +2.10 on Libre
So much got a PFS. She must be breaking her pink bounce very hard and or she got more insulin tonight than I thought. Whoa girl :eek:
 
Hmmm, your +2 doesn't look like a fur shot but only Ivy knows where she's going! :rolleyes: Wherever you go Ivy, make it a gentle slide, 'K?!!!:smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin: I hope you have a good evening Staci!
 
Hmmm, your +2 doesn't look like a fur shot but only Ivy knows where she's going! :rolleyes: Wherever you go Ivy, make it a gentle slide, 'K?!!!:smuggrin::smuggrin::smuggrin: I hope you have a good evening Staci!
Hi Ruth, yeah, she’s really working hard tonight. Who knows how much insulin she got and how much is a bounce break! I think both at work. :nailbiting:
Have a nice night :bighug:
 
Correct. I am afraid that if I stop giving it the ALT will become a problem again. So we stay with it. Following vet’s orders on that.
Is the AB liver tonic the same type of product? And it sounds like I’d have to dropper in her mouth? Or can it go in food (tasteless???)
I’ve not tasted it and I syringe it to Liv with some of her other supplements; she thinks they are a treat. I wouldn’t contaminate the dropper by using it directly in her mouth. Yes, it has the milk thistle that Denamarin has.

Ivy’s ALT was barely elevated and that was one test ….so just a snapshot in time.

You must have gotten insulin in her. Good job controlling it.
 
I’ve not tasted it and I syringe it to Liv with some of her other supplements; she thinks they are a treat. I wouldn’t contaminate the dropper by using it directly in her mouth. Yes, it has the milk thistle that Denamarin has.

Ivy’s ALT was barely elevated and that was one test ….so just a snapshot in time.

You must have gotten insulin in her. Good job controlling it.
I’ve not tasted it and I syringe it to Liv with some of her other supplements; she thinks they are a treat. I wouldn’t contaminate the dropper by using it directly in her mouth. Yes, it has the milk thistle that Denamarin has.

Ivy’s ALT was barely elevated and that was one test ….so just a snapshot in time.

You must have gotten insulin in her. Good job controlling it.

I wouldn’t contaminate the dropper by using it directly in her mouth. Yes, it has the milk thistle that Denamarin has.
How do you administer it then so you don’t contaminate the dropper?

The AB doesn’t have SAMe ( below from Denamarin product. You think that’s ok?

Denamarin contains s-adenosylmethionine (SAMe) to help increase your pet’s glutathione levels and support his liver’s detoxification capabilities.

Silybin found in Denamarin has shown better absorption in dogs and cats than the milk thistle extract found in many other products.

I know her ALT was ok in September but in past was elevated. I’ve been just continuously giving it to keep her stable. Do you think that’s not ok? Vet seems to think I should give it since she’s stable. (Yes it’s a pain to pill her daily)

I guess she got most of the insulin. It’s been a good cycle. Go figure!! :rolleyes:
 
Back
Top