? 3/1-Flame-AMPS=495, +6-416, PMPS=380-Nauseous again-not eating-no nausea meds home-other suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna and Flame

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...eeing-or-pooping-yet-ugh.173974/#post-1907738

Good morning my friends!

That number is pretty ugly. Still mad at myself for skipping shot on Monday and not listening to Karen and others about giving full shot yesterday AM. Been trying to get a ketone test in but the booger isn't having it. Was worried last nite about him not peeing so didn't really want to disturb him when he finally did. Tried this morning, but the way he was squatted in the box, I couldn't get the strip or anything else under him.

Well, the treatments he had yesterday seem to have perked him up. He looks more comfortable today than he has in over a week. It's good to see him not struggling constantly and I am praying we can keep him this comfortable for the next few days.

He is still eating (thank goodness). Still only baby food. Tried giving him some watered down Weruva and FF last nite, and he tried to eat it but it seems like he's having trouble swallowing anything that he can't just lap up. So, baby food it is. I may try again today and see if he can eat any regular food.

No poop yet which has me concerned. That's another reason I'd like to see him start eating regular food. Baby food has none of the vitamins he needs and no fat really. I'm going to try some more pumpkin today and some SEB later (too close to meds now) if he still doesn't go.

Thank you for continuing to support us as we walk this last leg of our journey. My heart is aching, yet I know the good days are numbered and he has made his wishes clear.

Prayers and vines for all and so much love!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Glad Flame has perked up a bit and hope he eats some cat food today. SEB & pumpkin can take a while to work and if he's only eating baby food not sure how much stool that would produce. Give him extra :kiss::kiss: for me an lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug: for you.
 
I'm glad Flame is eating some for you, even if it is only baby food. I hope he will eat more solid food today. I'm glad he's perked up for you. Sending prayers for you and Flame. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Yeah well, he's not going for the ham baby food with the pumpkin today. He ate it with no problem yesterday. Will have to find a plan B.
 
Hey Donna,

Glad to see him eating some for you and that the treatments made him more comfortable which I know helps you through this last leg of Flame's journey. You and Flame are continued in my prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Since he isn't going for the pumpkin, try some unsalted butter and see if he will lick it off a saucer, or some Olive oil or coconut oil. Either of those things can help to get him moving.
 
:bighug:I just read yesterdays condo. The bw numbers aren't that much of a difference in terms of creatinine abs BUN. Max would have elevated ALT when having a pancreatitis flare. However I know what you mean about him be ready to end the fight. My heart goes out to you.
 
Last edited:
(((Donna)))

I read yesterday's condo and my heart breaks for you. I am a firm believer in ACs and I think it is just a testament to your powerful love for Flame thwtnyou are listening closely to what he wants even though you will never be ready.

I don't know if this helps you but when our Gussie was 18 and he'd been in CKD for four stable years and still was, but obviously had something like lymphoma going on, like you, we did not want to put him through any more when he was tired. He told the AC he was ready when we were and, also like you, we scheduled a time and day to do it at home. In the ensuing days, we stopped all treatments and did all his favorite things. When we let him go, he was surrounded by two vets who had treated him and loved him, Mike and me, Tobey and Gracie. There was an amazing light and peacefulness to it all. We grieved the loss of such an incredible kitty but because we did it his way and he was at home, we both just had this amazing peace and gratefulness for his life within us. I wish so badly that I had been able to give that to my Gracie girl.

I hope your heart will know and find this same peace and light.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
(((Donna)))

I read yesterday's condo and my heart breaks for you. I am a firm believer in ACs and I think it is just a testament to your powerful love for Flame thwtnyou are listening closely to what he wants even though you will never be ready.

I don't know if this helps you but when our Gussie was 18 and he'd been in CKD for four stable years and still was, but obviously had something like lymphoma going on, like you, we did not want to put him through any more when he was tired. He told the AC he was ready when we were and, also like you, we scheduled a time and day to do it at home. In the ensuing days, we stopped all treatments and did all his favorite things. When we let him go, he was surrounded by two vets who had treated him and loved him, Mike and me, Tobey and Gracie. There was an amazing light and peacefulness to it all. We grieved the loss of such an incredible kitty but because we did it his way and he was at home, we both just had this amazing peace and gratefulness for his life within us. I wish so badly that I had been able to give that to my Gracie girl.

I hope your heart will know and find this same peace and light.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you for sharing this Marje. This AC is a personal friend of mine and also my Reiki Master Teacher. She also knows Flame very well and has spent time at my home and he knows her. Every time I think about it I get a little sick and my heart just feels so heavy... especially today, because to look at him today (aside from some rattly breathing) you wouldn't know he was as sick as he was.

I did the same for my civvie Hobbes 3 years ago. He had CKD and IBD (or lymphoma but I refused to let them cut him open to biopsy him) and I had a session with the AC and he literally said to me "Mommy, make it stop! I'm tired". I sobbed when I heard those words, but I honored his wishes.

I was able to have the vet come to the house (on a Saturday evening after hours in a snowstorm in January... God Bless her!!) to help Hobbes on his way.
I had never had to put an animal to sleep before, Hobbes was the first. I was really nervous, but in the end, it was so beautiful and peaceful.
I had soft music playing, a candle lit and my friend who is also a Reiki practitioner here sending Reiki as he passed. He was surrounded by the immense love of his family and the vet that cared for him and loved him helped him on his way. My AC was also sending distant Reiki and holding a space for him as he transitioned. He was ready.

Thank you for all of your help along this journey Marje and for holding my hand when I didn't know what to do.
With love and thanks....:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
{{{Donna}}} Thinking of you in the next few days. :bighug::bighug::bighug: I know your stress level must be to the moon, at least mine was. Try to relax, be in the moment with him. Love on your little boy, generate some fantastic memories. I took a lot of pictures and video. I also did the same as you, booked an appointment at home. No more clinic visits was what I wanted too. Several days before I had had a great chat with Marje and one thing that really resonated out of that conversation was doing things on your and kitty's time frame instead of it being a crisis. When vetty was here she told me that it was time, and she wasn't long from it being a crisis. It really helped me and will probably help you to know you are doing what Flame wants and when he wants it. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Have you tried doing a purree of food for Flame? My Magic Bullet got quite a bit of use when Neko was having difficulty with food.
 
Thank you so much Wendy for the thoughts and encouragement. There are moments when I'm at peace with it and then there are moments when I fall apart. I'm supposed to be "working" at home, but not getting much done. Can't concentrate.

Earlier, he was laying on the living room floor looking out the glass sliding door - looking for squirrels no doubt! I just went an laid with him, stroked his soft fur and talked to him about what a blessing he's been to me/to us, how I was so grateful he picked us to be his family, how much he has inspired me and how much I have learned because of him and of course, how our hearts have always been connected and how they will be... for ever and ever. I was sobbing of course. He's deaf but even though he can't "hear" me with his ears, I know he can hear me with his heart.

Have you tried doing a purree of food for Flame? My Magic Bullet got quite a bit of use when Neko was having difficulty with food.

He did eat a bit of watered down FF today. Not a lot, but it's a start. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Donna, my heart is breaking for you and Flame. Understanding his wishes and keeping your promise to him is the greatest, but hardest, love you can ever give. Gentle scritches to Flame and (((hugs))) to you. You are both in my prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
{{{Donna}}}

I'm sorry I missed yesterday's condo. Things are a little chaotic at my house right now.

I'm glad Flame ate a bit and is enjoying watching for squirrels. I hope he sees one. I was going to suggest a blender, but Wendy beat me to the punch. The problem with watering down the food alot is that water has no calories or nutrients, so it takes up space in the tummy that should be filled by food.

Have you tried giving him a little coconut or canola oil for the constipation? I found, when Cinco was really blocked up, 1/2-1 teaspoon got things moving.

I am so sad to read that Flame has told you he doesn't want to fight any more. I think it is very brave and loving of you to honor his wishes. When my Cinco was very, very ill with DKA, I promised him, if he would fight to get well, I would never let him suffer again. Five years late I had to keep that promise. It was the toughest one I've ever kept, but it was what he needed.

Their little lives are so short, but the love we feel for them lasts forever. Hold him in your arms now, and remember how it feels. You can hold him in your heart for the rest of your life, until you meet again.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Crap, crap, crap!! He was so good all day. Up and about, alert, eating well and then tonite he started to slow down again... looked like he wasn't feeling well again and getting a bit congested. I checked his hydration and he seemed dehydrated. The vet gave me injectable Baytril to give him for the infection they detected on his BW. I was going to give it thru the fluid line but the line wasn't working properly so I just injected him and then gave him fluids with this giant 60 ml syringe and a small butterfly needle. Ever since then, he's acting like he's nauseous and refusing to eat again. I don't know why I even gave him that darn shot. That Baytril stuff must hit really quick. That's it... no more. Other than insulin, not giving him anything unless it's absolutely necessary.

Now, because he's not eating, I can't even crush a pill and give it to him in baby food. I don't really have anything home for nausea. I only have famotadine and I have cyproheptadine (appy stim and antihistamine) but both are pills. They gave him a shot of cerenia at the vet's office yesterday. I asked about the ondansetron (sp?) but the vet said they never used it. She would have given me a script but I didn't think I'd need it.
If need be, I might be able to call tomorrow and see if they'd give me a pre-filled syringe of Cerenia. I hate to give shots (except with tiny insulin syringes) and the Cerenia stings, but I'd do it if it makes him feel better. I just need to keep him comfortable till Friday.

Anybody have any other suggestions to help him feel better? He had .08 ML of Baytril. No idea how long that will take to wear off or if he'll be nauseous all nite and tomorrow. ARGGHHHH!!
 
Donna, more hugs. Fluids actually made Dakota feel worse. I have no idea why. I asked a vet and a few people, no one seemed to understand it either. I did it often enough I know it was that. Just sharing what I experienced not that it will help one whit.

More hugs...
 
Thank you for sharing this Marje. This AC is a personal friend of mine and also my Reiki Master Teacher. She also knows Flame very well and has spent time at my home and he knows her. Every time I think about it I get a little sick and my heart just feels so heavy... especially today, because to look at him today (aside from some rattly breathing) you wouldn't know he was as sick as he was.

I did the same for my civvie Hobbes 3 years ago. He had CKD and IBD (or lymphoma but I refused to let them cut him open to biopsy him) and I had a session with the AC and he literally said to me "Mommy, make it stop! I'm tired". I sobbed when I heard those words, but I honored his wishes.

I was able to have the vet come to the house (on a Saturday evening after hours in a snowstorm in January... God Bless her!!) to help Hobbes on his way.
I had never had to put an animal to sleep before, Hobbes was the first. I was really nervous, but in the end, it was so beautiful and peaceful.
I had soft music playing, a candle lit and my friend who is also a Reiki practitioner here sending Reiki as he passed. He was surrounded by the immense love of his family and the vet that cared for him and loved him helped him on his way. My AC was also sending distant Reiki and holding a space for him as he transitioned. He was ready.

Thank you for all of your help along this journey Marje and for holding my hand when I didn't know what to do.
With love and thanks....:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much for sharing this poignant story, Donna. Hobbes was very lucky to transition with so much love and peace and I wish the same for Flame.

Sending love and hugs
 
It probably wasn't just the Baytril that nauseated him, but the fact that he got it with an empty stomach. Most ABs should be given with or after food.

These next few days are all about spending time with Flame, and I know you want him to be comfortable. It might be good idea to get that script for Ondansetron. It can be given more often than Cerenia.

Vines and prayers are still flowing your way.

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:you are both never far from my thoughts right now... do you have sardines packed in water ? might be worth a try... praying for comfort and good moments till friday:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I've not been on the board much and just saw this, Donna. My heart is breaking for you - you and Flame have such a bond. Sending vines and prayers of peace and comfort - enjoy this day with him, Donna.
much love and hugs
Carol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top