3/1 ELIAN: after low of 47 ending nite with 358. :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Good morning! I feel like such a pest always asking for help. But last night Elian had what seems like would be considered a really good cycle - at least I think so since he wasn't jumping all around. But of course I was up all night and worried since I'm not used to those low numbers!

My question - it's time for his shot. Do I hold off, give him his regular S3 or lower him? Since I fed him during the night he may have dropped to 50 or below without food but I didn't want to chance it.

Hope to get an answer soon - thanks in advance!

yesterday's condo
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: amps 100! Dose help, pretty please?!!

Hi Susie :smile:

You could get another test 30 minutes after AMBG to see if he's going up.... are you around to monitor?

ETA: also put the "?" in your subject line :smile:
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: amps 100! Dose help, pretty please?!!

I'm home with him all day today. We just climbed back into bed after a night of no sleep! He just ate breakfast (yes we're in a much later routine than most!) so ill give it a few more minutes, test again and then probably follow up with his regular S3 unless I hear differently. Knowing Elian he could be back up to 400 by then which is why I'm thinking its probably okay. His nadir seems to be around +6 or so.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: amps 100! Dose help, pretty please?!!

With the 92 at +10 (thanks for getting that test) and the 100 at AMPS, it looks to me like he's surfing or slowly rising.
I think it's okay to shoot his dose, if you're going to be around today to monitor and test, and you have the supplies you need.

Otherwise, if you're concerned, do not feed him, and wait the 30 minutes, and see if he's still rising and shoot the full dose.

You have lots of data, and shoot low to stay low applies here, I think. I would be excited about what today may hold.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: amps 100! Dose help, pretty please?!!

Sorry, we cross posted, or I just type really slow :)

Since you fed him, his +12.5 will probably be higher because of the rise in BGs from the food.
If he ate fine, and it was me, I would just go ahead and shoot now. If you are concerned, then wait until +12.5 and test again.

Please change your 1st Subject Line to say something like "3/1 ELIAN: +12 100! Dose help, pretty please" AMPS means you shot the dose. Thanks.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: amps 100! Dose help, pretty please?!!

Oops - thanks. Will change it. And test and most likely shoot. Thank you!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

I agree with Dyana -- I'd shoot. It would be good if you could shoo before Elian decided to bounce!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

He ate, I just tested again and he's still at 100. Not sure what to do. We're now 35 minutes past normal shooting time.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

Okay - will shoot and closely monitor. Thank you all! I'm still a nervous mama since he can't stay in one place very long which is the total opposite of him - a total couch potato, well... bed potato!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

I would shoot. You have MC and HC or syrup, if you need it, right? You have plenty of strips? Those are your tools.
These are healing numbers. This could be the break through. If you keep waiting without feeding he may go lower because he hasn't been fed and then you may wait longer and longer and be really really off schedule when you finally shoot. The insulin will not have it's onset until around +2, and by then you will have fed him so he should go up from the food, and the late shot acts like a dose decrease.

ETA: Cross Posted Again :roll:
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

I shot, I have a new, unopened box of strips and one of lancets, an unused (thank goodness) bottle of Karo with syringe, and 2 more cans of high carb food. We are going to take a 'catnap' but my phone alarm will continue to be set for regular testing. He's amazing - makes it so easy for me .... he sleeps right beside me and allows me to basically roll over and test without a fight. Can't say it enough - I adore my guy!!! :)
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

Okay, start this cycle with a +1.
Have a good btb. I would like to do that, too.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

Thanks so much Dyana - cant tell you how much I appreciate the help. My alarm is already set for +1. Be back shortly!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, +12 1/2 100 dose help, please?!!

Now that you shot, can you please take off the "dose help, please?!!"
and change your Subject Line to be 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, AMPS (at +12.5) 100.

Thanks.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1

98 +1. So much for napping today..... will be keeping an eye. Sure hope this is the breakthrough we've been waiting for. Wouldn't that be nice!!!!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1

He certainly has been flat. Give him some (a little) LC and we'll see you at +2.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

We are down to 64 +2. He didn't want his regular food. Gonna try some more high carb. Be back in a bit.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

Just a little. You don't want him to get too full, okay? We might need him to eat later.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

I would add a teaspoon or two of HC to some LC.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

Let us know if she eats the HC.

Next test in 30 minutes, please.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

Morning, Susie! Just popping in to say Elian is looking fabulous! Hope he surfs pretty for you all day :mrgreen: Also, just realized we're neighbors (we are in Miami) Hope you enjoy this cooler weather we've been having... we love it! Kismet has been sitting up in the window enjoying the open air. Hope you have a great day.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

Just gave him about a tablespoon of FF in gravy - he ate all but one little bit and then walked away. Will test again in 30.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2

Hi Courtney! Thanks for posting. We are staying warm - my 4 guys are like me.... curled up under the blankets when it's chilly. They're all curled up on an afghan on my bed as I type. They're so funny!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

He's down to 47 +2 1/2. He just had a couple of Halo chicken treats. Will give some more HC FF if he'll eat it. Might have to pull out the Karo soon, I'm guessing. :-( Now its getting scary.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

It is nerve wracking the first few times you dip low, but you're doing great and Elian is going to be just fine.

Are you feeding tbsps or tsps of HC? I find that when I need to use food to raise Kismet's BG, feeding 1/2- 1 tsp at a time prevents him from getting too full and that way I can spread food out over a few hours if need be.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Not really measuring but giving a heaping teaspoon. Getting 3 servings out of the 3 ounce can. If he turns his nose up all I have to do is sprinkle Halo chicken treat crumbs and he eats every drop. Talk about kitty crack - all four boys go crazy when they hear the jar!!!! Will check him again shortly. If he dips again I guess I have no choice but give him the Karo? Hope that's not the case. This is so crazy with his history of high numbers. But it looks like we get to start another reduction tonight!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Congratulations on another dose reduction! :mrgreen:

Yes, it's early in the cycle, so you don't want to get him too full. How much HC did he ate last time?

I would give him more than a teaspoon or two now. I would give him about a tablespoon or a tablespoon and a half (about 1/4 3oz can, if that's what you're using).

Next test in 30 minutes from the last one.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

You can put both 100s in the AMPS column in your ss, and put both the 64 at +2 and 47 at +2.5 in the +2 column.
Look at my ss for an example. Otherwise you'll run out of room and it will be hard to understand days or weeks later when we're looking at it.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Ahhhh..... feeling a bit relieved. Back up to 65 +3. Would like to see him just surf out the rest of the day without a bounce. Not asking TOO much, is it? Haha. Wow do I need a nap. Never did get to go back to sleep after being up with him throughout the night.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Nice!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You might want to write everything down, what he eats and how much and what he won't eat. Then you'll have some data for next time about what effect the food has on his BGs.
Liz
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Thanks Liz. I am keeping a notebook with my readings and notes along with the online spreadsheet. Luckily he is not picky about his food - he eats what I put down for all four (which has changed since his dx! They are all on FF Classics and NO kibble.) As I posted above, on the rare occasion he's not interested all I have to do is sprinkle the crumbs from a Halo treat and he'll eat anything put in front of him.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: +12 100, amps @+12.5 100, 98 +1, 64 +2, 47 +2

Lovely night and day for Elian. You must be exhausted! Congrats on the reduction.

You might want to change your first subject line to show that he's come up a bit now. That 47 catches the attention.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3 - feeling a bit relieved :-)

I would still test again in 30 minutes as the HC will wear off. It's still very early in the cycle.

You done good.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3 - feeling a bit relieved :-)

Dyana - I plan on it. We're still 2 1/2 hrs or so from his nadir. I'm not relaxing yet!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3 - feeling a bit relieved :-)

Good catch Susie! Elian, that's enough of the quick step, let's just do a slow waltz now...k? 1...2.3...1...2.3...

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

Thanks Wendy and Lyresa! Wish there was a "like" button for comments like we have on Facebook! He's slowly on his way back up but thank goodness it's slow. Fingers and paws crossed he stays that way.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

way to go, Elian!!! And Susie too, of course. :mrgreen:

I know the lower numbers are stressful at first, but it is really great that Elian has had green in two cycles in a row. That's HUGE progress.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

I'm very happy about the two cycles, Libby! But I'm still on edge because he has a history of bouncing. Hoping today may be his breakthrough day. Wouldn't that be wonderful. Will wait and see how he does. So glad I have no obligations today and am able to stay home ALL day. Very rare for me!
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

he may still bounce, probably will at some point, but at least he is able to surf longer before bouncing. Then the next time the surf will be even longer, then the next time even longer, until one day he'll just forget to bounce.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

Sure hope that's the case. Now I have to figure out time and amount for reduction. I was giving him a S3 units.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5 - a bit relieved

Good luck with measuring a S2.75 dose. Maybe it would be like a 2.5 with just a hair of a line of light showing after the 2.5 mark. Whatever you decide it to be, just try to be consistant. I think just a hair of a line of light showing would help me to be consistant. I don't know about you.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

So far, so good. Just a few more hours and I hope he doesn't bounce. I will reduce his dose but now I'm wondering if I can go back to our usual time since I stalled him for about 40 minutes this morning. Or maybe cut back 20 minutes tonight and 20 in the morning? Thx in advance for advice.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

I would do the 20 and 20.
Keep surfing nicely Elian cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

Thanks. Will do. This has been his longest surf and at good numbers! Sure hope it continues. Gonna give them all dinner now and he'll get his shot around 10:10 tonight.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

FYI most of us would give a main meal after the shot and if we were going to feed at +8 it would be a mini meal or snack.
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

I divide two 3 oz cans between 4 of them - he usually nibbles but doesn't finish his portion. I feed again after pmps/before shot. I didn't think that was much - is it too much?
 
Re: 3/1 ELIAN: back up to 65 +3; 106 + 4.5; 140 +6; 160 +8

I guess it depends upon what your cat is used to. My cats eat in 1/4 can meals, but lots of people feed differently.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top