3/1 Chuck 498AMPS;477+3;463+6;540PMPS;413+1;334+3;225+3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3

good morning, susan!

just a couple of thoughts...
i'd be real careful about increasing chuck's dose without KNOWING exactly how low this dose is taking him overall. it appears to me that he's bouncing off of drops to blues (possibly lower). there are some gaps in data collection so i can't tell for sure. i know daytime spot checks are rough to come by because of work. that makes PM spot checks more important than ever... especially since chuck appears to be able to drop from 500s to 100s all in the same cycle.

i don't think i'm being too cautious by suggesting more data collection before increasing the dose since we know 0.25u can drop chuck like a rock, but ultimately the decision is yours.
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3

Is there a sticky or somewhere that explains bounces for me? Chuck really didn't bounce before. I'm coming home at lunch (+7 or so), and will check him then. These high numbers are scarier for me because I can't do anything about them -- low numbers I can "feed"...
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I sure hope chuck comes down eventually .. high numbers are hard to see .. have a great weekend!
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3

i'm looking for some of the better posts i had bookmarked about bounces. unfortunately, they're coming up as "this topic does not exist". i'm guessing we lost a lot of good info in this switch to a new server, but i'll continue looking. :cry:

basically, when kitty drops too low (lower than their body is accustomed) or too fast (like chuck)... the liver dumps stored glucose (glucagon) and other counterregulatory hormones into their body. this causes high numbers... similar to what we're seeing with chuck.

i wouldn't be concerned with chuck not bouncing before and the possibility of him bouncing now because things change...
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3; 463 +6

Please be sure to update your SS with the latest # as soon as you can. I don't think it's a bouncing BG since it looks like that Chuck's been on this dose for about 5 days. Good luck with the dosecrease if you decide to do it. :-D
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3; 463 +6; 540 PMPS; 0.1

Sorry, I ran out of time at the +6. PMPS is 540. I just don't know what to do for him...
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3; 463 +6; 540 PMPS; 0.1

The additional piece of information about bouncing is that it can take 72 hours (give or take) for a bounce to clear. It looks like Chuck bounced off of the fast drop on 2/27. I wouldn't adjust the dose until the 72 hours has passed. While it's possible to increase the dose when a bounce is breaking, given Chuck's history, I don't think I would be comfortable suggesting increasing in this manner with Chuck. (The momentum of a bounce breaking plus the momentum of an increased dose could cause Chuck's numbers to tank in a big way.) As hard as it can be to see high numbers, I'd wait until you see that his numbers have stabilized before increasing.

(I don't think Angela knows about Chuck's history of a prolonged hypo.)
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498 AMPS; 0.10U; 477 +3; 463 +6; 540 PMPS; 0.1

I'll update the SS and subject line as soon as I post this.

334 +3

I guess I'll hold the 0.10U for another week and see if he stabilizes somewhat. This roller coaster of almost 600 at pre-shot followed by 180 at +7 is killing me. I guess I'm more comfortable if he's in the 300's consistently before I change the dose. Poor guy! He's starting to hide when he hears the microwave tone! But, his ears don't look nearly as beat up as they did even a couple of days ago..
 
Re: 3/1 Chuck 498AMPS;0.10U;477+3;463+6;540PMPS;0.10U

I keep running out of room in the subject line...
Today's numbers:
498 AMPS 0.1U
477 +3
463 +6
540 PMPS 0.1U
413 +1
334 +3
 
he's dropping pretty fast again. Is there any way you can get a couple of tests overnight tonight to see how low he goes before he heads upward again? If you can do that tonight and maybe tomorrow, then you might be able to increase his dose Saturday night or Sunday. That would still give you time to monitor a couple of cycles before going back to work.

What I see on his spreadsheet is that *maybe* he could have dropped to green yesterday during the day, and that whatever number he hit was low enough to send him bouncing up to 500 by PMPS. Then he stayed high for a few cycles and is now clearing that bounce and heading downward with a lot of momentum now. There's a possibility that the fast downward momentum could send him low again. Or maybe not, he might just bounce up again. ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top