? 3/1 Chino|AMPS=451|+2=442(0.1uR)|+3=474|+4=473|+5=438|+6=385|+8=369|PMPS=361

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
Yesterday...

Chino had a few hours of blue last night. I meant to wake up and get a +8 but slept through nearly an HOUR of my alarm going off, and managed to get a +9. Sleeping through alarms is a consequence of skipping meds and losing sleep, but it's unavoidable when the PM +2 and +4 show a quick and consistent drop.

I'm going to pick up Novolin R later today with the hope of getting him under 300 for at least part of the daytime cycle. Thank you @Sandy and Black Kitty and @Wendy&Neko for answering my questions and helping me with this :)

In other news, he's still using both litterboxes. The stairs that I ordered arrived yesterday. Chino walked down them once last night to get from the couch to the floor, but other than that, has continued to jump up and down. Under the stairs is the fuzzball's new hiding place, so at least they're getting some use. :rolleyes:
 
R has helped Bronx so much get into lower #s and to stop a bounce in it's tracks. Wish I could give some advice but I am a novice at R, good luck. Just follow instructions on drawing from a vial, a little different than using a pen.
 
I can't get my work done until someone else does their job, so I was able to run out and get the Novolin R. I'm about to get a +1 and give 0.1 units. This seems to be an ideal day for it, since his AMPS was higher than usual.
 
Just realized my timing was off. I was thinking it was +1 since it was 1 hour into the workday, but it was 2 hours after his AM dose. Updated the title and spreadsheet accordingly, will have a +4 (Nov-R +2) to post shortly.
 
Pretty quiet so far at this R dose. The drop at +5 could just be the Lantus onset. Sometimes the value of R is to keep the numbers from getting higher, but it doesn't look like Chino traditionally goes a lot higher after preshot anyway.

One thing to be aware of, for some kitties, they get a lot of action on the cycle following the use of R.

Great news on the litterboxes. I guess he really didn't like you being away.
 
I don't have the insulin yet so I can't start it today, but I intend to get it this evening, if I can't take a mid-day break from work. Will you be available tomorrow morning?
I was looking for you at your shot time but didn't see a condo for today so responded in yesterdays - (repeated below)
Yes, I can be available tomorrow morning.
Hold the dose = keep the same dose? (Just making sure - when I worked in direct patient care, "hold" meant "don't give.")
I did not mean to suggest you withhold his Lantus but rather 'hold' the Lantus dose at the current 6.5u while trying to judge the effects of R on your kitty's BG. That way you are only introducing one variable, the R, to the insulin picture.
We've seen green just 3 times in the 3 months that he's been on insulin, and it generally only happens when he's coming down from a bounce, where there was no nadir on the previous cycle but a continuous downward trend. I would like to see green that doesn't rely on the momentum of a bounce breaking, but I know that will have to be a long-term goal.
Although you have caught green 'just' 3 times in 3 months, I suspect he has seen green more often. ( I would have given my eye teeth for Black Kitty to have seen green 'just' 3 times in his first 3 months on insulin. It was 6 months before he saw green. It lasted 3 hours and didn't return for another 6 weeks:rolleyes:)
Note that green is not caused by nor dependent upon the momentum of a bounce breaking. Green means the dose is bringing BG into the normal range. Unfortunately having become accustomed to higher BG his body for the time being may perceive green as dangerous. The resulting bounce is an attempt to bring BG back up to what has become the norm. The goal is to try and get his body accustomed to truly normal BGs once again.

You may have already been advised however it bears repeating :
one must be fully present in the moment when preparing syringes to shoot L and R at the same time .
over the years here in L&L land there have been several incidents when autopilot kicked in and things got twisted around, for example (doses following for illustration only) instead of 13uL and 5uR a caregiver has accidentally given 13uR and 5uL.

Good job on monitoring you first trial. It will be interesting to see how the rest of this cycle plays out, as well as the overnight. :cool:
 
Good job on monitoring you first trial. It will be interesting to see how the rest of this cycle plays out, as well as the overnight.

Thanks. This is his 6th cycle on 6.5 units. Assuming we don't see green tonight, would it be better to stick with 6.5 L and try 0.25 R tomorrow... or take him up to 7 L and wait a few days to try R again?
 
Last edited:
7th cycle on 6.5 units. I would appreciate some input on the question above, but I don't think I have room in my title to add "Dose advice?" :p
 
Since you saw blue on this cycle, I might hold the dose for another cycle after tonight, which means doing the R experiment tomorrow. I don't think there's any harm in increasing the L tomorrow if you wanted, but I'm thinking ahead. If you increase the L, then you have to wait a couple of days for another R experiment, which puts you into the weekend. I know at least I will have less time on board and it's usually a little lighter traffic then.

I am curious to see what he does tonight.
 
Thanks. Since he's following the same no-nadir trend as yesterday, I expect the BG will continue to go down, though I don't think it will go as low as it did last night. But I also won't be surprised if he goes up 100 points by +2, or if he drops like a rock - this little guy likes to keep me guessing sometimes. If his AMPS is over 350 again tomorrow, I'm going to try 0.25 units of R.
 
I would hold the Lantus dose steady for now. It will give you the opportunity to try the 0.25u R tomorrow morning, numbers permitting and keep any BG weirdness that may occur if you increase the Lantus out of the picture. I'll look for you in the morning.:cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top