3/1 Bubby Gave shot at +19, now +2/73

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisaStew

Member Since 2016
We have only given 3 shots in the last 4 cycles due to delays because I'm not comfortable shooting in 70's given how far he drops on a dose, then delayed to get back to a better time. Seems like he's trying to go into remission but I want it to be strong so should I give a smaller dose than .25U so I feel comfortable shooting. I realize he still has a bit of the .75 depot left so when he earns reductions on consecutive doses what should I do? I don't think the delays have hurt him. If he gets to low he bounces (well he use to anyway) new territory here. Therefore we do reductions at 80 or after a really large drop ending in good numbers. I try to keep him between 60 and 90. I don't know if what I'm saying here makes sense or his chart for that matter. Just asking for suggestions from people who have seen this before. All these better numbers since the dental back in January. He's been diabetic for a full year hopefully full remission is still possible.
 
According to SLGS, he would have earned a reduction to 0.5 units on the 27th and then technically 0.25 that evening, although that would be a back to back reduction probably due to the 0.75 unit depot. If he eans a back to back reductions, it's your call whether you decide to reduce or keep the dose. If you think Bubby will hold the reduction, then go for it. Another option is to shoot a one time reduced dose to help drain the depot, then go back to the earned dose.

SLGS suggests not shooting below the 90's, although if you were to do so, you would find Bubby wouldn't drop as low as he does when he starts in blue. I also notice you are giving honey in the 60's, usually we use below 50 as our take action number. Next time you see the 60's, especially later in the cycle, try a tsp or two of low carb food. You want his body to get used to healthy green numbers and spend some time surfing there.

Going forward, I would try a 0.25 units dose. If you find yourself skipping doses a lot, then maybe try the 0.1 unit dose to see if that works so you can give a consistent dose. If you were delaying without food today, that's probably the reason his blood sugar kept dropping. We do try to keep cats on insulin as long as safely possible and with Bubby almost a long term diabetic, his pancreas may need a little extra support. But who knows, maybe that dental is really paying dividends! :) And yes, we do see longer term diabetics go into remission. And at least I celebrate them a little extra cause I know how much extra work goes into that.
 
Did you skip yesterday's AM shot and then shoot 5 hours late last night? I assume you skipped this morning? If so you can get back on schedule tonight. Not sure what to say about the dose. There may be some .75 depot at play...where it actually is with skips and late shots thought it's hard to tell. I might try to hold the .25u dose but if he continues not to let you shoot then maybe try .1?
 
According to SLGS, he would have earned a reduction to 0.5 units on the 27th and then technically 0.25 that evening, although that would be a back to back reduction probably due to the 0.75 unit depot. If he eans a back to back reductions, it's your call whether you decide to reduce or keep the dose. If you think Bubby will hold the reduction, then go for it. Another option is to shoot a one time reduced dose to help drain the depot, then go back to the earned dose.

SLGS suggests not shooting below the 90's, although if you were to do so, you would find Bubby wouldn't drop as low as he does when he starts in blue. I also notice you are giving honey in the 60's, usually we use below 50 as our take action number. Next time you see the 60's, especially later in the cycle, try a tsp or two of low carb food. You want his body to get used to healthy green numbers and spend some time surfing there.

Going forward, I would try a 0.25 units dose. If you find yourself skipping doses a lot, then maybe try the 0.1 unit dose to see if that works so you can give a consistent dose. If you were delaying without food today, that's probably the reason his blood sugar kept dropping. We do try to keep cats on insulin as long as safely possible and with Bubby almost a long term diabetic, his pancreas may need a little extra support. But who knows, maybe that dental is really paying dividends! :) And yes, we do see longer term diabetics go into remission. And at least I celebrate them a little extra cause I know how much extra work goes into that.

Hi Wendy, thanks for your input. I wil clarify a few things in more detail. As far as the feeding med or HC food, Bubby is intolerant of poultry so all fancy feast and such gravy foods are out that is why I use the honey but just a tiny drop to try and make his low carb food into med carb food. I do this in the 60's so he won't go below 50 as that usually would have set off a bounce (especially at night as I am prone to sleeping through alarms and he just sleeps when he gets low.)

I am continuing to feed him during the delayed shots. He will eat every 2.5 - 3 hours. Without the shot: he will go up into the 90's after I feed him then comes back down around 70's after 2 hours. We are currently at 6.5 hours past his shot this AM and he is finally at 90 but it's only been 1.5 hours since he ate and he may come back down yet. I think I will try the .1 dose to see if I can get him back on some sort of schedule. Over all he's been feeling really great especially these last few days but right now he has a sort of uncomfortable look on his face which may mean he's not going to come down from these 90's. Should I always make sure he is going up before I shoot? His nadir use to be around +10.
 
Did you skip yesterday's AM shot and then shoot 5 hours late last night? I assume you skipped this morning? If so you can get back on schedule tonight. Not sure what to say about the dose. There may be some .75 depot at play...where it actually is with skips and late shots thought it's hard to tell. I might try to hold the .25u dose but if he continues not to let you shoot then maybe try .1?

Hi Karen, we delayed the PM shot on the 27th which is normally at 11PM so shot at 1AM. Next shot would have been 1:00 in the afternoon on the 29th. We delayed that until 6PM. This mornings 6 AM shot still hasn't been given. We are at +7 just now and if he is in at least the 80's I'm going to try .1 and see how that goes. Sounds confusing but I believe that's how it went.
 
Just gave him .1 (approx. that is a hard one to measure) we are at 7 hours past what shoul have been his newest shot time and he has eaten 3 snacks in that time and is now at 100. Don't know if .1 will be enough but there is only one way to find out.
 
With as much "off" schedule with delayed and skipped shots, I'd hold the .1 dose for a least 6 cycles to let the depot stabilize. Of course unless Buddy goes too low. Good luck
 
With as much "off" schedule with delayed and skipped shots, I'd hold the .1 dose for a least 6 cycles to let the depot stabilize. Of course unless Buddy goes too low. Good luck

PS/100, +2/73. LC food on its way. By the way I've been doing things he already earned a reduction at 80. Plus I'm sure he'll go a lot lower. What is protocol for reducing from .1?
 
Should I always make sure he is going up before I shoot?
If he's surfing flat, you are probably OK to shoot. Provided you can monitor of course. My comment above about honey was not so much on the type of food, but using it in the 60's instead of waiting until below 50.

When Bubby has been on 0.1 for a while and earns a reduction, post here for suggestions as there are a couple of ways to go. It'll depend on what his SS looks like at the time. Good luck with the new dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top