3.1 Bella amps 124.+2.5 78 vet results

Praying for a GREAT visit today....I know only too well the feeling of waiting for those blood tests to come back and to learn the results.....remember to take care of Jamie:bighug:
 
Relaxing thoughts to you too Jamie! I hope the vetty visit goes well and the numbers are good. Acceptance is the key.

Have a wonderful cool Sunday :)
 
Not such good news
BP was through the roof, now on bp meds,
20200301_095327_1583074466313.jpeg
20200301_095317_1583074466456.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 20200301_095327_1583074466313.jpeg
    20200301_095327_1583074466313.jpeg
    28.9 KB · Views: 126
  • 20200301_095317_1583074466456.jpeg
    20200301_095317_1583074466456.jpeg
    47.5 KB · Views: 129
Keep an eye on appetite. Gabby was initially prescribed amlodipine and her appetite plummeted. She was switched to telmisartan. This is a link to info on amlodipine. Note that one of the side effects can be elevated kidney values.
 
Keep an eye on appetite. Gabby was initially prescribed amlodipine and her appetite plummeted. She was switched to telmisartan. This is a link to info on amlodipine. Note that one of the side effects can be elevated kidney values.
So the high bp is causing damage right now
Screenshot_20200301-112043_Chrome.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20200301-112043_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20200301-112043_Chrome.jpg
    55.5 KB · Views: 125
It's a side effect. It doesn't happen to every cat. You're going to monitor kidney values anyway. No doubt your vet has more hands on experience with amlodipine. I'd ask the vet. It may be that all calcium channel blockers have similar side effects. Telmisartan is an angiotensin receptor blocker and doesn't effect the kidneys.

My 2 cents -- if you know appetite is off as a result of starting amlodipine, I'd rather switch the BP med than have to give Bella an appetite stimulant every day. Fewer medications are better than more medications.

High BP whether in humans or cats has an effect on the body. That's why it's important to get BP controlled.
 
It's a side effect. It doesn't happen to every cat. You're going to monitor kidney values anyway. No doubt your vet has more hands on experience with amlodipine. I'd ask the vet. It may be that all calcium channel blockers have similar side effects. Telmisartan is an angiotensin receptor blocker and doesn't effect the kidneys.

My 2 cents -- if you know appetite is off as a result of starting amlodipine, I'd rather switch the BP med than have to give Bella an appetite stimulant every day. Fewer medications are better than more medications.

High BP whether in humans or cats has an effect on the body. That's why it's important to get BP controlled.
Thanks so much!!!!!!
 
Ravan's been on Amlodpine for nearly a year. He gets 1/4 tab once a day (that's the usual dose from what I've read) I'm surprised your vet is giving such a high dose.
Do you know how they tested his BP? With Raven they first used a "Pet Map" machine. His readings were high like Bella's ,up to 280

My vet he told me they seldom test blood pressure (might be why they couldn't get an accurate reading?)

I was very concerned & brought him back in a week to re test. If Ravan was really stressed his BP would be high & if they tested on his rear leg it was high. I was bringing him in every few weeks at first.

I started using the Feliway in his carrier & Pet rescue which I rubbed on his ear. I'd leave him in the carrier & pet him & talk quietly while the tech would test him. If they're at all stressed the reading will be high. They also need to take 4-5 readings & average it out.

After a while I asked them about using a Doppler to test & my vet went & bought a new one! Doppler is "supposed" to be the most accurate. Every time they used the doppler the cuff would slip off & it was really difficult to get an accurate reading.

If the cuff is the wrong size or slips the reading will be off. After all this time with Ravan's reading being over 180 I asked them to try using the old Pet map machine & test on his tail. This time his BG averaged out to 138.

You know how some vets see a high Glucose & tell people to increase the dose of insulin by too much I'm wondering if your vet did that with Bella's dose of Amlodpine? An entire 2.5 pill in one day seems like too High?
Ravan has never taken more than 1/4 tab a day.

It's not easy to cut the pills accurately. I've tried several pill cutting devices & now use a small pair of scissors with a curved blade. I cut only one pill into quarters & this way in 4 days he gets One entire pill. I'd suggest bringing him in soon to be re checked. It seems the dose is really high? I don't think the Amlodpine has affected Ravan's eating at all. But maybe because he gets a low dose?
AUVON Scissors-Shaped Pill Cutter
 
Last edited:
Sorry about the vet visit...more meds is never any fun.
That's tough too....it is likely higher than normal due to kidney issues but...It is reaaaaally hard to get an accurate reading on an cats at the vet.
Similar to stress hyperglycemia, you get misreadings and white coat syndrome.
We used to take 3 readings with the manual (handpump) doppler away from the owner and 3 readings with the automatic machine - the surgivet / EKG monitor with the owner present to see what the averages where...and that was with both the tail and the paws.

You should be able to buy pill cutters on Amazon too maybe. I had to quarter soloxine before and that was impossible without a pill cutter
 
Ravan's been on Amlodpine for nearly a year. He gets 1/4 tab once a day (that's the usual dose from what I've read) I'm surprised your vet is giving such a high dose.
Do you know how they tested his BP? With Raven they first used a "Pet Map" machine. His readings were high like Bella's ,up to 280

My vet he told me they seldom test blood pressure (might be why they couldn't get an accurate reading?)

I was very concerned & brought him back in a week to re test. If Ravan was really stressed his BP would be high & if they tested on his rear leg it was high. I was bringing him in every few weeks at first.

I started using the Feliway in his carrier & Pet rescue which I rubbed on his ear. I'd leave him in the carrier & pet him & talk quietly while the tech would test him. If they're at all stressed the reading will be high. They also need to take 4-5 readings & average it out.

After a while I asked them about using a Doppler to test & my vet went & bought a new one! Doppler is "supposed" to be the most accurate. Every time they used the doppler the cuff would slip off & it was really difficult to get an accurate reading.

If the cuff is the wrong size or slips the reading will be off. After all this time with Ravan's reading being over 180 I asked them to try using the old Pet map machine & test on his tail. This time his BG averaged out to 138.

You know how some vets see a high Glucose & tell people to increase the dose of insulin by too much I'm wondering if your vet did that with Bella's dose of Amlodpine? An entire 2.5 pill in one day seems like too High?
Ravan has never taken more than 1/4 tab a day.

It's not easy to cut the pills accurately. I've tried several pill cutting devices & now use a small pair of scissors with a curved blade. I cut only one pill into quarters & this way in 4 days he gets One entire pill. I'd suggest bringing him in soon to be re checked. It seems the dose is really high? I don't think the Amlodpine has affected his eating at all. But maybe because he gets a low dose?
AUVON Scissors-Shaped Pill Cutter
Doppler and cuff, each time they did it 3x, he goes back next sun
 
Sorry about the vet visit...more meds is never any fun.
That's tough too....it is likely higher than normal due to kidney issues but...It is reaaaaally hard to get an accurate reading on an cats at the vet.
Similar to stress hyperglycemia, you get misreadings and white coat syndrome.
We used to take 3 readings with the manual (handpump) doppler away from the owner and 3 readings with the automatic machine - the surgivet / EKG monitor with the owner present to see what the averages where...and that was with both the tail and the paws.

You should be able to buy pill cutters on Amazon too maybe. I had to quarter soloxine before and that was impossible without a pill cutter
They did both leg and paw
 
Back
Top