3/08 - very strange!

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Active Member
So last night I woke up in the middle of the night and Sam tested 151 +6.
He will be due for his shot in 20 min and he tested 119!!!
How long should I wait until I test and feed him?
 
I would wait an hour and retest and see where he is. Do not feed him before retesting!
 
You can't shoot a number that low. You need to be sure it is going up and much nearer 200. I would test again in 20 minutes without feeding. If he isn't starting to zoom, it may be that you just have to skip the shot today, but let's see. I am leaving in 25 minutes but will wait for your number.

Now you see what we were worried about Nadja. He has been bouncing from lows to highs - throwing more insulin at that pattern just makes it worse. So glad you got a nightime number - Hurrah!!!
 
Yes, I agree with Sue-- the lower night time numbers probably have been creating your high preshots. Good on getting the test last night.....it is all about gathering data!
 
thank you :mrgreen: I can't believe I even heard the alarm I was so tired :D

k I just tested him and he is 153. I didn't feed him but I gave him 2 tiny pieces of chicken so he can relax a little. He's been by the bowl the entire morning.
Should I wait longer? I have to leave in 1 hr so should I retest him in 1 hr and still not feed him?
I'm concerned to skip the insulin and then have his numbers go super high. :/
 
If you shoot in an hour, would that completely mess up your schedule 12 hours from then? If so, you should probably skip.

Yes, if you skip, he will be high tonight. But better high for a cycle than low for a few minutes, especially if you are not around to help. So tonight, regardless of how high he is, we would suggest a reduced dose - like .5 Our reasoning is that your high number tonight isn't a "real" number. It is both because he dropped low and is potentially bouncing and because he will have been 24 hours without a shot. .75 gave you an unshootable amps, so we don't want to give that dose.

I know this is complicated, Nadja, but I am hoping you are seeing what we are saying. You can write this cycle off in terms of the numbers, except that it showed you he is most likely dropping low at night, and that .75 is too high a dose. We'll just start again with that info. Do you have some time off this weekend when you could get more numbers?
 
We don't use PZI but I recognize a 'like' problem - KT drops hard during the night too. I finally figured out he was sleeping so soundly that he slept thru needing to eat. The insulin had free run without putting any food in there to give it something to work on thus low runs. I've started making sure he eats at least a bit before I head off to bed. Seems to be helping.

HUGS!
 
I agree, I would skip the shot this time.

Remember yesterday when I said if his PMPS came back down to the 300's that the .75u dose was too high. His PMPS did come back down to the 300"s and you gave him .75u and now this cycle you have an unshootable bg number.

Skip this shot and we can start over fresh tonight. I think his new dose should be .5 unit.
 
thanks everyone :] I will do that and give 0.5u tonight.

When I woke up in the middle of the night I feed hm after testing him. I have another cat and sometimes I don't want who ate what, I make sure I leave food for the both of them but I don't know who is eating. I'm assuming it's my other piggie cat.
Also do you think I should give different doses for am and pm? or 0.5u for both am and pm?
I will keep you informed what he tests like tonight.

Thanks again for your patience :mrgreen:
 
sad you had to miss a dose but that might be why Sam is bouncing- Sneakers did that alot at first.

good luck on the reduced dose.
 
Thanks Heather.

This dose thing can be so confusing. I really thought he needed more than 0.75u because during the day he doesn't seem to get out of 300's but last night +6 until this morning he wasn't 200. so yeah I hope a lower dose will help him and my sanity too lol
 
It is confusing, Nadja. For us too! But I am so glad you got a nadir last night. That and your amps makes the picture much clearer. We'll see what .5 does for him. Hopefully you can get more tests in this weekend.

I know you understand why it is so important to have dose advice posted on the board and have it peer reviewed. I hope the person who was giving you the advice to raise the dose by private message sees this thread and understands that also.
 
Just tested Sam for his pm shot and he is 392!! I was a bit happy, I thought he would be closer to 500! I hope being 392 is a good thing taking into consideration I didn't give him insulin this morning!
I will give him 0.5u when he is done eating :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top