3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 PMPS 330 +furshot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Donna & KiKi

Member Since 2010
AMPS is probably slightly elevated from food. Since +10 KiKi has been acting really fatigued again. I've been letting him eat throughout the day -- cuz he lost a bit of weight (1/2 lb in last month). I gave him .40 but he doesn't want much to eat -- I dunno if he's just not hungry cuz he's been eatting already or if it's something else. He doesn't like being confined in 1 room, but it's really the only way I can be sure of what he's doing (from the other civvies). I have both 18% and 4% FF next to his water.

Any advice/ ideas/ thoughts/ feedback? confused_cat
Yesterday's Thread
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193

+1.25 Now he is up pacing around the room -- ate a little more food. Think he finally gave up on being let out -- now he is laying down bathing himself. I am so confused? Removed the 18% FF -- he only lapped up some of the gravy earlier, so I gave the rest to civvies. Replaced it with 6% Friskies --- is it a good idea to leave the food out if he hasnt eatten much since his shot? He has gone over a couple of times and nibbled some more at it . . .
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193

Hi Donna,
I am really concerned about kiki's lack of appetite. I understand he had labs done a few weeks ago before this started, right? And xrays just recently as well? There are so many reasons he may not be eating. and things can change so fast with these little furballs. You might want to consider getting another full blown blood panel.

Did the vet offer any appetite stimulants? Do you think kiki is in pain?

I know you want to monitor and keep him near by you. Trust me, with all have been thu w/ Latte I get it. But is there a way you can do this with out confining him? Is there something bad he is doing that you need to monitor, like peeing out of the box, vomiting, etc? It sounds like he wants out of the room. Maybe that alone will lift his spirits?

I have a cat that does not eat well and vomits. If you want any tips, let me know. We have been dealing with it for three yrs. There are many others on the board who can help as well. However, a lot of what will be suggested is short term. Getting to the root of the problem will be most beneficial to both you and kiki.

Hope the day gets better
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +2 235

I am really concerned about kiki's lack of appetite.
That's just it I don't really know that it's a lack of appetite or just becuz he's had enuf today. He has been eatting off and on all morning (I just dont know how much) -- no appetite stimulants, cuz it was never a problem before (possibly not now - I don't know)
Which I guess leads me to confine him to my office this last hour, so I can tell what HE is eatting, drinking and peeing.
My vet is perplexed as well -- she felt that atleast SOMETHING would have shown on the labs done previously -- even if just minutely.
He actually didn't make any progress until I stopped the insulin (well, as far as WCR goes - not BG)
I don't know-- should I just let him roam freely and not worry about food, water, etc.... I want to leave food out for him, but the others will come in here and eat it :roll:
He is sleeping again......has been for 15 minutes now ..... he is all stretched out -- so I don't feel like he's uncomfortable in any way -- every once in a while he'll stretch out again and go back asleep.
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193

Im sorry. Im confused and probably not being much of a help. :YMSIGH:

So your cat is losing weight.
You are uncertain if KiKi IS eating, is not eating, or is not eating enough? you have put him in your office away from the other cats to see what he will eat. he IS eating, but you are not sure how much? Am I following it?

Do you remember how much he ate before the lethargy, weight loss, and concern started? did you have regular meal times for him and the other cats? if so, why not go back to that and see how he does for a day? Is he just not eating when you want him to? (Latte does THAT all the time)

If you dont know how much he is eating, measure it. You have some idea dont you? You put 1/2 can of food out...is he just taking a few licks and walking away? Is a portion of it gone? How much would you estimate, if so. Log it in the ss and review it after a day.

Again, I understand your concern and wanting to watch over him. But if he is acting normal, I would probably let him do his normal things. You may never know the real results if he is in a contrived setting. Feed normal meals and see what he does in a 12-24hr period.
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193

I do know that he went from 7.2 to 6.8 in the first 10-12 days he was on Lantus, but BG was all over the place. So I was striving to get him to eat more (whenever /however that might be). Before today I just fed everyone 2x daily.....maybe I am just overly concerned that he had lost weight PERIOD - I don't know.
Anyhow....took your advice.....let him out of the room. Two minutes later he was back in here eatting the food :roll:

I also went and picked up some Elegant Medley FF -- Im pretty sure he liked it before (9%, 10% and 11%) figure small price to pay % wise. I will monitor more closely his intake -- I really think this morning was the first time I noticed it . . . now he's back in here eatting more. :lol:

This is so stressful ohmygod_smile . . . or rather: I am making this stressful
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +4 188

I have a couple of thoughts. If this has been discussed previously, I apologize. I've been out of town for a few days and was off and on the Board very intermittently.

One of the concerns I had with Kiki was whether he was getting enough food. I think the last time I posted to your condo, I had mentioned how diabetes effects how food is metabolized and cats (or people, for that matter) lose weight despite eating until their BG becomes regulated. I was wondering if he was lethargic because he was hungry.

I don't think it's a bad idea to keep an eye on Kiki and do some monitoring of how much he is actually eating. It does sound like he's grazing today. That's fine. Not all kitties will eat all of their meal at once. In fact, eating smaller meals spread out throughout the day is wonderful for helping BG levels to stay relatively steady and to not overwhelm the pancreas.

Dealing with FD is stressful. Especially at the early stage of the learning process. You're doing great and Kiki's numbers are wonderful!

I'm not sure though, if I understand why you have been changing up his dose. It looks like you restarted at a skinny 0.5 but then shot 0.25 yesterday AM, back to your usual dose in the PM and then 0.40 this AM. Lantus does not do well with dose hopping. Can you hold the dose at the 0.5 until either an increase or reduction is needed. So far, this dose is looking good.
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +4 188

True - I shall leave it @ .50 tonite. Here's my question: if we shoot @ 335 and nadir is 85 -- and then the next PS is 135 (-200) How do you know it won't drop that far again? I didn't want to take a chance on going hypo and then not having any food available (becuz one of the civvies already cleaned the bowl out) -- I want to leave food out in case he needs/wants it, but I also want it to still BE there if/when he does. You know? That in part is also what led me to bringing him into the office with me.
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +4 188

Hi Donna! How are you? :mrgreen: You will get this figured out!

If you get a ps of 135, KiKi cant possible drop that far...150pts?! ;-) The game is shoot low to stay low. There is a sticky somewhere explaining it. It's important to have some data before shooting low, though. Sometimes that data gathering is seeing what happens when you skip that shot, or reduce it. The bounce or rise you see, may be enough to give you confidence to shoot the next time around. Watch in the a.m. (or even pm), when people are asking for advice about shooting a low number. We all do it...ask, freak out, skip shots, decrease shots, etc. Eventually we shoot something lower than we have done before and prepare!!! :mrgreen:

If you are home you can most certainly keep the food away from the civvies in a hypo situation and bring kiki into another room with you. That would be a very important thing to do. You would know when to do this because you are testing. Im not sure how to deal with it when you are not home, since I only have one cat. Might be a good topic in health and/or to ask specifically in your condo someday in the near future.

I do think it would be good to measure and keep track of to see how he is eating.

Hang in there!
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +4 188

Hello Donna,

I agree with Sienne, you should somewhat have a clue to how much food Kiki is actually eating.

Also, and I'll keep it short because there is a lot going on today... I see some vetsulin thoughts in your brain. This will only drive you crazy. Keep the few following things in mind:

- lantus is not based on PS number, and the deltas (change in BG) will not be the same even on the same dose.
- keep and use the same (or relative) same LC food unless you need to feed HC. It's hard for others to help interpret your SS when we have to take HC or even MC into consideration.
- lantus has a shed and although you shoot a less dose, there is 'help' from the shed.
- if you can, be consistent in the doses you give Kiki.

Does this help at all?
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 +4 188 PMPS 330

Well, yeh it makes sense......but someone gotta tell KiKi to follow the rules. I don't think he got the memo :lol:
1 unit proved to be way too much and yet he barely had any low numbers during that whole time-- he just ricochet off high numbers all day long. It makes me think: What other tricks he have up his sleeve?
I'm sticking with the .50 for now then AND going to go back to the 2x day feeding -- easier to track what he eats.
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 PMPS 330 +furshot???? ARGGH!

:oops: :oops: Fell asleep watching tv in bed :oops: :oops:
KiKi was sitting waiting for me oh so patiently. We're going to hafta adjust by 15 min every shot.....try to get back where we wanna be.
Oh well . . . it is what it is I guess. KiKi is content and in good spirits -- that's whats more important right now

**UPDATE** To make matters worse, I am thinking it may have been a fur shot cat(2)_steam
......and ..... no less.....here it is +6 and we are at 357 -- I guess that pretty much confirms that as well. When I woke up he was purring and alert and giving me kisses.... it looked so promising :cry: IT'S NOT AS IF WE HAVENT ALREADY HAD ENUF SETBACKS :evil:
Since PMBG he's eattin about 61g (full can is 85g) -- (eatting more now ....)
Negative for ketones tho
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 PMPS 330 +furshot???? (eyes please)

OK clearly this "late hour" pre-shot isnt working out. Seeings how that last was most likely fur shot.....is it possible to start our AMPS a few hours earlier? I have 50+ test strips and HC, even karo, but highly doubt we'd need that...............thoughts?
 
Re: 3/07 KiKi AMPS 193 PMPS 330 +furshot???? (eyes please)

Since last night was a fur shot you can get back on schedule. I think it was Sienne that said you should pick a time that is not so late so you will be able to get spot checks. Fur shots happen to all of us.....this is a good way to adjust your schedule.

You can start a new thread for today. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top