3/03 - Herman - AMPG 148, +8 286, PMPS 347

Lisa AG

Member Since 2023
So, Herman keeps getting quite low even with dose reductions. I am struggling to get more than 4 cycles in a row. Is he bouncing? Why the late nadirs regularly? Do I need to reduce dose, or should I get brave with shooting blue numbers?

He is fed two meals a day, at AM and PM shot time. Sometimes he gets an afternoon meal if I think he will have a late nadir but I keep missing it.

Thank you for your time and input.
 
If he is getting food only with the shot, it's possible that he keeps dropping without food. Is there any way to make food available to him through the cycle (day and night) - except for the 2 hours before the shot? Ideally, you want to feed him small snacks every couple of hours in the first part of the cycle. Say PS, +2 and +4.

The other reason for later nadirs is bounce clearing. In bounce clearing cycles, the nadirs are later - some cats even nadir at the end of the cycle.

With SLGS you can shoot any number over 90. Rather than skip the shot when he has a preshot below 200 you want to shoot and get a test later in the cycle to keep him safe. You could try going down to 1U, but you do want to start shooting any number over 100 - especially if you can monitor.

Link to previous post:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/14th-feb-new-member-herman-and-lisa.274167/
 
Back
Top