2nd day of high, flat cycles ?dose adjustment

Status
Not open for further replies.
I think if he were my cat, I would just finish the antibiotic as to not risk antibiotic resistance and see what happen. If he is having pressure/ pain that could account for the higher number. It's just such a crap shot with this sugar dance. Right when we think everything is under control. BAM! They sure show us.
 
You could just keep giving it, like Bobbie says it's just one number, see if his numbers stay high. Can you reach the vet that prescribed it and ask?
 
thanks, Bobbie and Sharon - I'll have to call the pharmacy when they open on Monday (they had to compound it and then make into a suspension) right, just when I thought he was beginning to get regulated and I found the sucrose in his culturelle probiotic - and I was thinking - Eureka! I found the problem - hah!
Sharon - how is Colin?
 
He's about the same. Hit a high 200 this evening and that was after a late AM shot and an accidental dose reduction-air bubble. He seems to feel fine, so I'm over panicking(maybe) about his high numbers. I know I'm doing all I can. Will talk to vet about Insulin resistance. It sounds like a real possibility that he could have that. He was on too low a dose for so long because I didn't know better, and that can cause insulin resistance. Thanks for asking.
 
Hi Carol! I'm with the others...I'd keep giving it for now. While he may be able to do without the antibiotic, it's possible the sinusitis is causing high numbers too because he doesn't feel good. The antibiotic will help. You can definitely call the pharmacy Monday and til then...hope that this helps Murphy! Like Bobbie said...it's just one number.
 
Hi, Carol - Noticed that Murphy's AMPS today dropped by 92 points; that's good! I'm with the others about the antibiotic; stick with it, but I'd definitely check with the pharmacist who compounded the doxy for you re: the added sugar - just so you know what's in it. (I did notice that Bat's #'s dropped more after she'd finished her course of Orbax, which had "malt flavoring"; she really had to have the Orbax to clear up the infection, so I gritted my teeth & kept giving it.) Keep in mind that most antibiotics taste HORRIBLE unless they add something to cut the bitterness, so there's that ... also, Murphy's has had two types of inflammation going on in his body at the same time: The sinusitis (which you're still waiting on to resolve) and the allergic reaction that his ears showed you. (Which appears to have gone away now, right?;)) And even a single source of inflammation will cause BG #s to spike, so maybe his #s will calm down as the sinusitis abates. (That may take a little more time.)
You're doing a really good job with him, Carol! :bighug:
 
Murphy's ears are ok now - I'm using vasoline on his ears now - only good thing about that reaction was that his ears were always warm so I didn't have to warm them with a rice sock to do the pokes :cat: I gave him a skinny 1.5 this morning and so far, at +6, he's had minimal response - assuming this is another high flat cycle, should I give him the same for this evening? His snuffles have been much better the past few days (too soon for that to be due to the doxy) but it's been such an issue for weeks now, I will continue it again, thanks everyone for your support and advice
 
I gave him a skinny 1.5 this morning and so far, at +6, he's had minimal response - assuming this is another high flat cycle, should I give him the same for this evening?
If this was my kitty, I think I'd hold the same dose for tonight (less monitoring involved & just gives a little more time for him to adjust) and if tomorrow's AMPS hasn't dropped any, bump up to a straight 1.5 (or even a slightly fat 1.5) during the day when I can easily monitor.
 
I'm with Robin on this. I really hate to see him sitting at these high numbers, but I worry about changing the dose too quickly. He's needed time to settle in before, so it may be that he needs that now too...plus evening cycles can be different from daytime cycles. Plus it means you can get some sleep.

Sorry I haven't been around much this weekend. As it turns out, I have walking pneumonia. Been trying to rest up per doctor's orders so I can get back to work tomorrow. It's gonna be a long week!
 
Sorry I haven't been around much this weekend. As it turns out, I have walking pneumonia. Been trying to rest up per doctor's orders so I can get back to work tomorrow. It's gonna be a long week!
@Rachel - Oh, wow ... sorry to hear that, Rachel! I hope you're feeling some better. (Try not to overdo @ work; don't want a relapse, right?;)) Sending healing vibes your way & these, too: :bighug::bighug::bighug: - R
 
I'm with Robin on this. I really hate to see him sitting at these high numbers, but I worry about changing the dose too quickly. He's needed time to settle in before, so it may be that he needs that now too...plus evening cycles can be different from daytime cycles. Plus it means you can get some sleep.

Sorry I haven't been around much this weekend. As it turns out, I have walking pneumonia. Been trying to rest up per doctor's orders so I can get back to work tomorrow. It's gonna be a long week!
Oh no, walking pneumonia You need to get a lot of rest - please rest up Rachel and feel better quickly!
 
Thanks guys! I'm already trying to figure ut of my boss will be feeling friendly and let me go home a bit early today. I rarely take sick days so I'm thinking I've got a shot...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top