2nd AMPS 70 on Lantus

Status
Not open for further replies.

bbwyo

Member Since 2017
We just started the 1 u. 1x day on the Lantus? I don't know what to expect from the Lantus. Any ideas? Fed 30 mins will recheck shortly.
 
We just started the 1 u. 1x day on the Lantus? I don't know what to expect from the Lantus. Any ideas? Fed 30 mins will recheck shortly.
I looked at your SS. Is the other data from a different insulin? People here will want data before advising on Lantus dose.
 
yes. thanks. Will just be watching closely. Think Vet started w 1 cu because hadn't been getting great response with Vetsulin. Had increased Vetsulin dose and bg had been coming down but not regulating. Yesterday, day 1 of Lantus she purred (a good purr) all day. Wish we could have started a little slower with .5 cu with the Lantus but I will watch her closely. Do appreciate all the good info on this site. Thanks.
 
Just monitor her throughout the day and pop in if you need help :)

Do you have some higher carb foods and plenty of stripes? (I always err on the side of extreme caution! Lol)

Good luck to you and Bev! :)
 
It would be very helpful if you could insert a red bar on your spreadsheet above where you started Lantus (and write in, "Started Lantus") -- otherwise we assume all of the data is based on Lantus.

Have you had a chance to read the sticky notes at the top of the board? With Lantus, you will need to do your best to get some spot checks during the cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle and not on the pre-shot number, like with Vetsulin. Lantus is a much gentler insulin and is also a depot-type of insulin. All of this makes switching from a shorter acting insulin like Vetsulin a little challenging given what you learned about managing your cat's diabetes. It's very different with Lantus. Please let us know how we can help.

 
It would be very helpful if you could insert a red bar on your spreadsheet above where you started Lantus (and write in, "Started Lantus") -- otherwise we assume all of the data is based on Lantus.

Have you had a chance to read the sticky notes at the top of the board? With Lantus, you will need to do your best to get some spot checks during the cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle and not on the pre-shot number, like with Vetsulin. Lantus is a much gentler insulin and is also a depot-type of insulin. All of this makes switching from a shorter acting insulin like Vetsulin a little challenging given what you learned about managing your cat's diabetes. It's very different with Lantus. Please let us know how we can help.
thanks for that. I have read the stickies but wasn't sure about what I was reading. I will fix my spreadsheet. I tried to type in where I began the Lantus, (yesterday) but haven't been doing the spot checks in the interim. I've been watching her closely, yesterday she was purring and kneading more than I have seen her for some time. I figured with the Lantus it would take some time for her body to adjust. I have a full kit for hypo emergencies. Is it correct to think that where a hypo might occur earlier in the cycle with Vetsulin, it would be more likely to occur later on with Lantus?

This morning I went ahead with her dose because she had eaten a full meal an hour earlier and also I think she may have had a bird (she's inside/outside cat). AND her bg had gone up from the 70 to 101 in the hour. Not sure my reasoning is correct on
all this. I did delay the dose for 45 mins. Does this mean I should give her the next shot at the later time.
 
6+ bg 57 Fed mid day meal 20 mins before testing. She's still acting like a happy cat.
 
A couple of differences...

Theoretically, the Lantus nadir is at around +6 but this varies widely from cat to cat. (My cat's nadir was at around +3 except when it wasn't.) You're correct in assuming that typically, there's an earlier nadir with Vetsulin. It's a shorter acting insulin and nadir is earlier and you don't get the same duration as you do with Lantus.

Like most of the shorter acting insulins, their onset is very quick. Not so with Lantus. For most cats, onset is at +2. Thus, you can test, feed, and shoot as soon as you want. I tested, fed and shot Gabby all within about 10 min. You don't need to wait for the food to be on board for an hour like you do with Vetsulin because onset isn't immediate. In fact, we discourage feeding within 2 hours prior to shot time. You want to know what your cat's BG is at shot time and not have the numbers influenced by food. This is one of those differences between a depot-type insulin and a shorter acting insulin.

As for hypos, never be complacent. As soon as you think you have your cat figured out, the unpredictability gene will express itself. Our kitties like to keep us guessing. As experienced as I was at managing Gabby's FD, she was always capable of throwing me a surprise.

 
A couple of differences...

Theoretically, the Lantus nadir is at around +6 but this varies widely from cat to cat. (My cat's nadir was at around +3 except when it wasn't.) You're correct in assuming that typically, there's an earlier nadir with Vetsulin. It's a shorter acting insulin and nadir is earlier and you don't get the same duration as you do with Lantus.

Like most of the shorter acting insulins, their onset is very quick. Not so with Lantus. For most cats, onset is at +2. Thus, you can test, feed, and shoot as soon as you want. I tested, fed and shot Gabby all within about 10 min. You don't need to wait for the food to be on board for an hour like you do with Vetsulin because onset isn't immediate. In fact, we discourage feeding within 2 hours prior to shot time. You want to know what your cat's BG is at shot time and not have the numbers influenced by food. This is one of those differences between a depot-type insulin and a shorter acting insulin.

As for hypos, never be complacent. As soon as you think you have your cat figured out, the unpredictability gene will express itself. Our kitties like to keep us guessing. As experienced as I was at managing Gabby's FD, she was always capable of throwing me a surprise.
I've tested several times today and at +13 bg is finally starting to rise. I'm a little concerned about tomorrow morning. Today was only the 2nd day on Lantus at the 1 unit daily. How does the "depot" fit into all this. Day 1 she was great but day 2 has been a little dicey. Possibly because I was testing and aware of her low #'s but maybe because her "depot" is full?? :-))) or the carry over? Also if I just looked at today's testing it looks like her nadir was somewhere between +11-+13. I know her body hasn't adjusted to all this newness. Would you think the low #'s are just part of the adjusting period or indication that the 1 cu is too much? It seems too early to start changing things but clearly don't want a hypo scenario developing.

I guess I'm wondering how to process all this. Thanks for any comments.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top