29April2020/MAXI/Nervous about PM Dose/What to Do?

bambinaki

Member Since 2010
Last thread:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-will-can-not-eat.228919/page-2#post-2563609

Hello-

5:30am/+19: glucose 415
5:50: injected 1.75 R*
5:15-6:15: Maxi ate about 4 tablespoons of Wellness chicken + Nature's Logic Beef + dash of tuna with binder/drank water/got 125mg S boulardii
7:25: diarrhea (very slightly formed, runny) -->He went into the litter box and just sat down in there for a minute before pooing.
7:55: 125mg S boulardii
8:00: glucose 353/Did not have any interest in usual loved treat reward
8:45: 2mg ondansetron
9:05: glucose 346/As a treat reward, I gave him 2 tiny Fromm Salmon a la Veg 'cookies' and he ate them with gusto.
9:30/AMPS: glucose 352/7 units of Lantus
9:30-9:55: Ate 2.25 oz of Wellness turkey with binder and 125mg of S boulardii. He drank a lot while eating (food bowl to water bowl and back).
10:30/+1: glucose 346
11:40/+2: glucose 333
12:35/+3: glucose 322
1:30/+4: glucose 316/8mg cerenia/0.2 bupe
2:20: 125mg (or less) S boulardii
3:30/+6: glucose 333/diarrhea/Ate 1.5-2oz Weruva Steak Frites/lots of gas all day
5:30/+8: glucose 377
6:30/+9: glucose 370
7:30/+10: glucose 353/Maxi is playing!
8:30/+11: glucose 351
9:00/+11hrs., 30 mins: glucose 354
9:30/PMPS: glucose 349
10:15/PMPS: 357


*Maxi was interested in eating, so I didn't want to interrupt that to inject, and that's why he didn't get the R until 5:50.


Is it ok to give Maxi buprenorphine 0.3 ml every 6 hrs as Paula has done with Ollie?




@Sandy and Black Kitty @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
Last thread:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...9-will-can-not-eat.228919/page-2#post-2563609

Hello-

5:30am/+19: glucose 415
5:50: injected 1.75 R*
5:15-6:15: Maxi ate about 4 tablespoons of Wellness chicken + Nature's Logic Beef + dash of tuna with binder, drank water; got 125mg S boulardii
7:25: diarrhea (very slightly formed, runny) -->He went into the litter box and just sat down in there for a minute before pooing.
7:55: got 125mg S boulardii
8:00: glucose 353 did not have any interest in treat reward
8:45: 2mg ondansetron

*Maxi was interested in eating, so I didn't want to interrupt that to inject, and that's why he didn't get the R until 5:50.

I am waiting for advice on what to do at AMPS in 30 minutes / 9:30am eastern.
Exactly 24 hours after his last Lantus yesterday morning will actually be at 10:00-10:15, 1 hour to 1 hour and 15 minutes from now.

Is it ok to give Maxi buprenorphine 0.3 ml every 6 hrs as Paula has done with Ollie?


I don't know how to change the black cells in the SS to the right color. I try but it won't change.

@Sandy and Black Kitty @Marje and Gracie @Wendy&Neko
I just happened to be wide awake :confused: We discussed and with those numbers and he has eaten, we feel 7u is a good dose to try.

I’ll check back in later. And I’ll fix the SS.
 
I just happened to be wide awake :confused: We discussed and with those numbers and he has eaten, we feel 7u is a good dose to try.

I’ll check back in later. And I’ll fix the SS.

Thank you, our saviors. I hope it's ok to give him the 7 units at 9:45. His last dose of Lantus was yesterday morning at 10:00-10:15. He got 1.75 of R this morning at 5:50.
 
I can't say you should give bupre 0.3 every 6 hrs. Ollie's ER did that and sent it home for 48 hrs. Follow with her vet was changed to 0.2 very 6 hrs for 48 hrs. The every 12 hrs. Every time we've tried to reduce to 0.15 for even one dose, she goes into a flare. Her new vet said she needs it every 8 hrs and she does now. Every so often I try to make the last dose of the day to 0.15 but it just won't work with her.

Ollie's is actually waiting for it when she hears the alarm go off. She is in the kitchen before me. We made her an addict.

Bupre has a such a difference of range of how much and how often cats can tolerate it, you just don't know.

You would have to check with vet on that.
 
I can't say you should give bupre 0.3 every 6 hrs. Ollie's ER did that and sent it home for 48 hrs. Follow with previous vet was changed to 0.2 very 6 hrs for 48 hrs. The every 12 hrs. Every time we've tried to reduce to 0.15 for even one dose, she goes into a flare. Her new vet said she needs it every 8 hrs and she does now. Every so often I try to make the last dose of the day to 0.15 but it just won't work with her.

Ollie's is actually waiting for it when she hears the alarm go off. She is in the kitchen before me. We made her an addict.

Bupre has a such a difference of range of how much and how often cats can tolerate it, you just don't know.

You would have to check with vet on that.

OK, thank you!
 
I don't know how to change the black cells in the SS to the right color. I try but it won't change.
Those cells have the word 'hi' embedded in your comments (buprenorphine and chicken). The SS is set up that if the words 'hi' are in there, it corresponds to the black colour because if someone gets a 'hi' reading on their meter, that is black. If you change the spelling of buprenorphine and chicken so it doesn't have 'hi' in them and us bup and poultry instead, you can adjust the colour of the cell.
 
Those cells have the word 'hi' embedded in your comments (buprenorphine and chicken). The SS is set up that if the words 'hi' are in there, it corresponds to the black colour because if someone gets a 'hi' reading on their meter, that is black. If you change the spelling of buprenorphine and chicken so it doesn't have 'hi' in them and us bup and poultry instead, you can adjust the colour of the cell.

Changed it. Thank you, Judy!
 
I can't answer on the AB. Lots of them cause diarrhea. P'titis can cause it. You might want to ask vet on the subq fluids though, especially if it continues and or vomiting. Want to keep him hydrated.
 
I have given 125mg S boulardii 5 times now, and Maxi still has diarrhea. Do you think maybe the S boulardii is exacerbating it rather than helping?

A friend told me when her (otherwise healthy) cat had pancreatitis, he got antibiotics and got better. Do you think Maxi needs antibiotics?

@Marje and Gracie @Sandy and Black Kitty @Olive & Paula
That’s a discussion you’ll have to have with your vet. My vet is not a big proponent of antibiotics unless they are absolutely necessary but you have to work with your vet. It think it’s a good suggestion to ask about the subq fluids. Tag me if you decide to go that route as I’ve done a video for FDMB on how to do it at home.

Regarding Emergency Stop for S. boulardi (below taken from “Raw Feeding for IBD Cats” website):

This frequent dosing method usually stops diarrhea within 24 – 48 hours, other than when diarrhea is caused by another disease that requires treatment (low B12, exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, hyperthyroidism, as examples). This “loading dose” can be continued for longer if necessary, up to three to four days – but if you do not see substantial improvement in the diarrhea on day 3, it is best to follow-up with your veterinarian. It is NOT necessary to use this approach, it can be given at “therapeutic” doses as discussed above twice a day (and doubled if you see improvement in stool but diarrhea or soft cow patty stools have not resolved).
 
How is his appetite today?
5:30am/+19: glucose 415
5:50: injected 1.75 R*
5:15-6:15: Maxi ate about 4 tablespoons of Wellness chicken + Nature's Logic Beef + dash of tuna with binder/drank water/got 125mg S boulardii
7:25: diarrhea (very slightly formed, runny) -->He went into the litter box and just sat down in there for a minute before pooing.
7:55: 125mg S boulardii
8:00: glucose 353/Did not have any interest in usual loved treat reward
8:45: 2mg ondansetron
9:05: glucose 346/As a treat reward, I gave him 2 tiny Fromm Salmon a la Veg 'cookies' and he ate them with gusto.
9:30/AMPS: glucose 352/7 units of Lantus
9:30-9:55: Ate 2.25 oz of Wellness turkey with binder and 125mg of S boulardii. He drank a lot while eating (food bowl to water bowl and back).
10:30/+1: glucose 346
11:40/+2: glucose 333
12:35/+3: glucose 322
1:30/+4: glucose 316/8mg cerenia/0.2 bupe
2:20: 125mg (or less) S boulardii
3:30/+6: glucose 333/diarrhea/Ate 1.5-2oz Weruva Steak Frites/lots of gas all day
5:30/+8: glucose 377
6:30/+9: glucose 370
7:30/+10: glucose 353/Maxi is playing!
8:30/+11: glucose 351
9:00/+11hrs., 30 mins: glucose 354
 
So, what Lantus dose would you feel comfortable shooting?

I don't feel capable of making a smart judgement. Short term, I want Maxi to have a good night tonight after the horrible last days. I'm scared of his numbers dropping drastically like they did. Long term, I want to treat this disease effectively. I wouldn't know what dose to say, but I guess at this point I'm thinking that this has been a crisis and I'd better think of getting him through this present crisis.

What are your thoughts?
 
Back
Top