29 Sept, Minerva, help please, AMPS 350, PMPS 92, +3 196

Joy W

Member Since 2021
Hey folk

Would really appreciate some advice based on tonight's PMPS. Short version, should I hold or decrease? @Bandit's Mom or anyone who sees this I would really appreciate your help. Thank you.

When I didnt hear anything after my last folk I took the plunge and did the increase anyway. On Tuesday night, only her second cycle on the new dose, she had a surprisingly fast drop after her PMPS so I set an alarm for +5 and overall was so pleased with her numbers, it looked like such a great result, preshot of 15 and nadir-ush of under 9, was stoked! I was expecting a bounce and sure enough, her next 3 preshots were high and the few in-between tests were up too. But then tonight's PMPS was crazy low! I did it twice and then tested myself and am confident it was a real value.

I didn't stall and retest as I didn't think to until it was too late (she'd eaten). I skipped as I didnt even feel confident enough to do a needle dose as I don't have data in this range and she dropped so far so fast two nights ago.

However her +3 was a big jump (10.9)* so she likely could have taken a small dose so maybe it was a bad choice to skip, but I don't have the health to stay up all night tonight to monitor her unfortunately.

I don't know how much lower she went during the day and don't know if I should consider it close enough to the 5 threshold (given it was only 5.1) to do a decrease?

*spreadsheet has spontaneously gone into read-only so I haven't entered that number. +3 is 11.30 PM so I'll fix spreadsheet in the morning when brain engages, I hope!

Thank you to everyone who helps.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/26-sept-minerva-amps-326-5-259-pmps238.268876/
 
Sorry that you got no responses to you previous post. It is good you increased. Holding doses too long, if the numbers are not where you want them to be, can lead to glucose toxicity (a temporary form of insulin resistance).

With SLGS you reduce the dose if she drops below 90 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) on a human meter. She did not do that today so you want to hold the 2.5U dose.
 
Thank you @Bandit's Mom!

I know I don't post frequently enough to have earned a reply to every post and am so grateful to you and other experts who give of your time so generously.

Two questions, thank you.

Is it 5.5 or 5 mmol/dl? 90 = 5 I think? She was under 5.5 but over 5, at 5.1.

Does the fact it was a pre-shot not a midway test make a difference? Isn't there a good chance she was lower during the day?

Thank you so much.
 
To get from mmol/dL to dg/ml, you multiply by 18. So yes, 5 mmol/dL = 90. If you go to the US tab on the spreadsheet, it'll show the conversion for you.

It does not matter when the low point was in the cycle. Some cats nadir around preshot time. Or she could have been breaking a bounce and sliding down to that 92 all day long. We don't guess what we don't see.
 
Thank you. Yes I thought it was a factor of 18 which made it 5, it was just that it said 5.5 in the reply so I was worried I had understood wrong, as she was under 5.5!

That makes sense about her numbers, thank you. I held it this morning, she was unsurprisingly high after that skip, so I thought she would be fine today, and we will watch her close as we can over the next few days for any drops under. We're obviously getting near the good zone so to speak, with that lovely set of numbers the other night and that one low number, just need her to level out and stop being so bouncy!

Thank you
 
Last edited:
Back
Top