29-Mar: Ty and M : AMPS 158: +4.5=139 : General update.

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
Previous Condo

Afternoon from an Autumnal New Zealand. I thought it was about time I made some sort of update as I have been Slack Alice yet again, even though I am not from Yorkshire, by not starting a condo each and every day.

For the past 6 days the poop situation has become suddenly much better. I've made comments into his spreadsheet about this. I have even been greeted by perfectly formed poo logs. I was very tempted to post up a pic in a frame :joyful: but last minute decided to spare your eyes. Contrast that with about this time last week where I had the great & deepest of joys of not seeing a splat on the shower-room floor and my bare foot found full on contact as it squidged up between my toes. :nailbiting:.

I am sorta following the SLGS method. My aim here is not to chase remission but rather to tailor his BG numbers to the best possible without putting added stress on any of his elderly organs or nervous system. This means somewhere between what a vet is trained to see as 'safe to do no harm' and what the TR method could achieve with the right cat. I shall aim for 'blues' with 'greens' but nowhere near a hypoglycemic lime green which could start a downward spiral from which Ty's old body & organs might not be best equipped to battle . This is still far far better than 'yellows' and 'pinks'.

His diet remains a little perplexing. He is still on the Royal Canin digestible and renal pouches. To this I add some pumpkin. I also add a little cooked egg white and baked venison or lamb. The aim with that is to reduce the amount of carbs a little bit and also to up the protein in the hope it will help him put on a little bit of weight. I have found that any raw meat seems to result in a cowpat squit out the other end. It is also with a thought to Ty's CKD.

His planter gait is gone. He is still getting the B12 tabs daily and the B12 shots once a week. He is also being given Denosyl as a liver detox.

He is finding his purrs and his talky voice again. He actually came upstairs last Sunday of his own volition. He is steadier on his legs although he does need more muscle mass.

He is a happier cat by far than he has been since the beginning of this year. My conclusion for this is that for Ty it is more about an overall balance and certainly about diet v poop.

IMG_2162.JPG
 
Last edited:
Ty is so handsome! :cat:
Thanks for the update. I'm glad he is purring and talking, his legs are steadier, and his poos are more formed. Good job in all you do helping him. :bighug:
 
I'm so happy to see an update. I saw you commenting on a few other condos yesterday and I wondered where your own condo was. :)

Fantastic news on Ty... I think you are right in doing a balance between everything and keeping Ty safe and healthy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top