Re: 29/10 Remi AMPS 103, +1 88, +2 70,+4 77
when he goes below 50, you just need to give a couple of drops of karo/honey/pancake syrup to pull him up, or about 1 teaspoon of the gravy from a can of high carb cat food.
it will bump him up a few points, but that will only last for a short time. It won't cause high numbers in the same way a bounce does. In fact, it would be good for you to learn how many points a treat with a drop of honey will raise him. Bounces are caused by a cat getting into normal numbers when they aren't used to them - Remi is likely done bouncing because his body is accepting normal numbers as normal. Cats can lose that "familiarity" and begin bouncing again, but at the moment, there's no reason to think that Remi would bounce, although if he gets into the 30's he might because that's what the liver is designed to do to save him.
The risk of tinkering with his nadirs to prevent him from going below 50 is that he may become overdosed. The dose that was just right now will become too large as his pancreas heals and begins sputtering insulin out too. So you want to let him go below 50, do the "low numbers dance" which means to give him enough carbs to get him over 50 again, then retest in 20ish minutes to see if he's there.
I think in Remi's case, I would take the dose reduction at the next shot. As I said above, I doubt that he's going to bounce at this phase. I wouldn't decrease his dose tonight just because he might have gone below 50 today. He didn't, and it wasn't like you worked hard, giving him lots of carbs, to keep him above 50. You didn't, did you? Just a little food? As long as that's all you did, go ahead and feed him during his cycles as normal with regular low carb food, and if he goes below 50, refer to the
Handling Low Numbers sticky for the official recommendations on how to handle him. Then reduce his dose by 0.25u with the next shot. He may just gently work himself off of insulin. Wouldn't that be fantastic?!