29/07/22. New Member**

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keshia

Member Since 2022
Hey…..Ok so I just started home testing gave my boy some soft food took his blood before the shot and it was 6.5 do I give insulin or not he’s on 2.5 of caninsulin sorry I was to slow and the 6.5 disappeared ‍♀️ I have just stated testing but he’s been in this for about 4 months now…. I tested not last night the night before and it was 6.8 that was just in the middle of the day… should I lower the shot not give him one at all and test him every 2 hours or so? Thanks sorry just trying to know what to do
 
Hey…..Ok so I just started home testing gave my boy some soft food took his blood before the shot and it was 6.5 do I give insulin or not he’s on 2.5 of caninsulin sorry I was to slow and the 6.5 disappeared ‍♀️ I have just stated testing but he’s been in this for about 4 months now…. I tested not last night the night before and it was 6.8 that was just in the middle of the day… should I lower the shot not give him one at all and test him every 2 hours or so? Thanks sorry just trying to know what to do
With caninsulin you need to wait 30 minutes after he's done eating to give insulin
Welcome I'm glad you started home testing , I'm not a caninsulin user but I can tag someone for you. Since you just started home testing I wouldn't give insulin since your cats BG was 6.5(117) this morning. That dose may be too high to start with until you hear from Melissa who is a caninsulin user ( Vetsulin)
@FrostD
If you can fill out what we call our signature ,information about your kitty
To set up your signature which you will see is at the end of everyone's post in gray, click on your name up top and then tap on the word signature and add this information
  • Add info we need to help you:
    • Caregiver & kitty's name
    • DX: Date
    • Name of Insulin (do not include dose or frequency)
    • Name of your meter
    • Diet: "LC wet" or "dry food" or "combo"
    • Dosing: TR or SLGS or Custom (if applicable)
    • DKA or other recent health issue (if applicable)
    • Acro, IAA, or Cushings (if applicable)
    • Spreadsheet link. Please put the signature link on the bottom line of your signature information, on its own, so it is easy to find.
    • Please do not put any information about your location in the signature for security reasons. If you wish to add your country location, please add it to your profile.
Be sure to click the 'Save Changes' button at the bottom. If you need help urgently it is important we know these things at a glance. We don’t want to waste valuable time finding out information.

Take a look at mine

If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/
 
How did you work your way up to 2.5U?

If he was 117 this morning I would reduce to 2U from here on out, as it means he was much lower overnight. On Vetsulin, we don't want them below 90. Make sure you fast him for 2 hours before your test, feed him, then wait 30 mins before the shot. For now, we recommend full dose (now 2U) only if above 200. At this point I would say skip below 200, but eventually you do want to try to shoot lower numbers (usually with adjusted doses until you get more data). But better to wait until you have the hang of testing and a little more data.
 
How did you work your way up to 2.5U?

If he was 117 this morning I would reduce to 2U from here on out, as it means he was much lower overnight. On Vetsulin, we don't want them below 90. Make sure you fast him for 2 hours before your test, feed him, then wait 30 mins before the shot. For now, we recommend full dose (now 2U) only if above 200. At this point I would say skip below 200, but eventually you do want to try to shoot lower numbers (usually with adjusted doses until you get more data). But better to wait until you have the hang of testing and a little more data.
We started at 2 like 2 months ago then I brought him to the vet for a curve and he was still like 20-18 so they said 2.5units so now it’s been about 2 months at that and I just started home testing with success…. I was trying but always giving up I get it best for his paw I’m doing a lot better now…
 
Can you set up your spreadsheet
If you would like to set up our spreadsheet where we track our cats BG to see how the insulin is working and how low it's dropping in case you want advice here is the link , if you need help with it just ask

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-create-a-spreadsheet.241706/

Make sure you have a hypo kit in case he drops to low and you need to bring those numbers up to a safe number

Med and High Carb food and some honey



Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs

Or any on the food chart.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
 
Last edited:
We started at 2 like 2 months ago then I brought him to the vet for a curve and he was still like 20-18 so they said 2.5units so now it’s been about 2 months at that and I just started home testing with success…. I was trying but always giving up I get it best for his paw I’m doing a lot better now…
@FrostD
I see you asked her this question in post #6
I see her SS is set up today's thread looks like she's now been giving 1 unit
Look like she also dropped low today @+5 (93) and didn't test after that , don't even know if she gave some LC after that . I asked her on her post from today but never heard back
Plus no pre shots at all
Thanks Melissa
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/just-started-home-testing.266530/#post-2983349
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top