29/05 Angie pmps=218 +2=160 +3.5=76 +5=110

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Hi everyone,

Yesterday's condo is here.

I ended up not testing Angie at 5+ like planned. I stayed up for it but had given myself a hypo event because I forgot to look after me as well as her and hadn't eaten since dinner. Then tired after the late night and hypo event, I slept 3 hours past Angie's ambg! Once again, I'm struggling to balance my health issues while looking after hers. I'm going to give tight regulation another try - just in case she goes OTJ after we get through this stressful period but I might end up having to go to relaxed regulation so that I can keep going.

I haven't tested her today to give her a break. I was going to take that opportunity to move her shot time forward an hour this evening. Unfortunately I closed a door ohmygod_smile and Angie couldn't get in to her food so she ate it an hour and a half late. Would it matter if I fed her at am+10.5, pmps and pm+3? I was aiming to feed her at am+9.

Thanks,

Grace
 
Re: 29/05 Angie pmps=218

No one was on the board when I posted my question about feeding prior to shooting so I decided to shoot and feed her again. I picked that option because I was worried that I wouldn't be able to stay up late enough if I held off.

She has a pmps of 218. She had dinner 1 of 3 at am+10.5 and I didn't shoot this morning because I slept until +4!
 
Re: 29/05 Angie pmps=218

GraceAndAngie said:
Hi everyone,

Yesterday's condo is here.

I ended up not testing Angie at 5+ like planned. I stayed up for it but had given myself a hypo event because I forgot to look after me as well as her and hadn't eaten since dinner. Then tired after the late night and hypo event, I slept 3 hours past Angie's ambg! Once again, I'm struggling to balance my health issues while looking after hers. I'm going to give tight regulation another try - just in case she goes OTJ after we get through this stressful period but I might end up having to go to relaxed regulation so that I can keep going.

I haven't tested her today to give her a break. I was going to take that opportunity to move her shot time forward an hour this evening. Unfortunately I closed a door ohmygod_smile and Angie couldn't get in to her food so she ate it an hour and a half late. Would it matter if I fed her at am+10.5, pmps and pm+3? I was aiming to feed her at am+9.

Thanks,

Grace
Hi Grace! I'm happy to see that you got a little sleep but worried that your health problem sounds severe. I do know about sleeping past a test, but it looks like Angie was in safe numbers anyway.

Awesome that you're trying Tight Regulation again and I look forward to your posts.

With regard to your question: Yes, it would matter that you feed her at AM+10.5; I am sure that your PM reading of 218 is an elevated BG due to her eating. 218 is certainly not a bad number in light of her not getting the AM shot. With regard to the +10.5--But things happen and well, the little gal was hungry! As far as mattering by feeding at +10.5 (in either cycle), it can make a slight or even a big difference (ECID) at your pre-shot BG test; the danger is that she may be really low and you get an inflated number, then shoot her at a number that either you aren't comfortable shooting or a possible hypo event. For example, she dipped about 100 points yesterday evening at only PM+2 in her cycle (but you did a fantastic job testing her and steering her numbers, Grace). Maybe you should look at yesterday's post and revisit the feeding schedule discussed? Basically, with Gobbles (when he was on insulin) it boiled down to feeding every 3 hours every cycles (pre-shot, +3, +6, +9, post shot (+12). Of course with really low numbers, that schedule does not apply, as the numbers could need steering.

If you have any ?, you can always put the question mark in your subject line with a few words about your question, click the "?" icon, and I know that someone will see it and be more than willing to help you.

I commend you for your positive attitude towards Angie going BOTJ (just made that up--Back On The Juice ;-) ) and keep up the good work!
 
Hi Kat,

The +10.5 feed was an accident. I closed a door and shut Angie off from her bowl without thinking so she ate an hour and a half late. I do plan to follow the +9, postshot and +3 meal schedule.

Her numbers are on the way up again. I'm off to bed so that I can wake up again in 6 and a bit hours to jab her again. Poor girl - she thought I got over that hobby!

Good night,

Grace
 
Hi guys .. I don't think I've been to your condo before so welcome from us! I'm sorry to hear you are struggling with balancing both of your health issues .. I sure do hope that you will be able to maintain tight regulation but not at the risk of either of you getting sick over it ..
 
GraceAndAngie said:
...The +10.5 feed was an accident. I closed a door and shut Angie off from her bowl without thinking so she ate an hour and a half late. I do plan to follow the +9, postshot and +3 meal schedule....Her numbers are on the way up again. I'm off to bed so that I can wake up again in 6 and a bit hours to jab her again. Poor girl - she thought I got over that hobby!
No biggie on the feeding accident~I bet she was thrilled about it :lol: She's having a beautiful drop; perhaps for now her nadir is +3-ish? Revisiting Angie's SS, it appears she did the same thing at +3 yesterday evening. I'll tell ya what--this evening's numbers are superb in light of the withheld shot.

Just curious, what is cat mince? What's the carb % in it? I'm not familiar with it and am thinking maybe it is something available in Australia...???

I'm sure she'll get back into fashion with the jabs :-D I think that testing time increases bonding with our kitties. Funny thing: Since Gobbles stopped getting insulin 13 days ago, he still seems to want me testing him; I believe it is because for one reason, our kitties get used to a routine and for another, he loves the attention. So once in a while I mock test him; he's such a brat!

Grace, you are doing a fabulous job with Angie. Have a great Thursday :mrgreen:
 
Grace

Welcome back and I'm so sorry I'm just catching up and giving you a welcome home to LL. Let's hope Angie will get right back OTJ! Remember that with cats returning from remission, it's best to be aggressive in the dosing and get them right back into green numbers. So far, so good!!!

I looked at your condos and I don't think feeding her at +9 is a good idea at this point.

Feeding after nadir can sometimes really put the brakes on the insulin. Think about insulin as a car. You are driving along at a nice steady speed but you know you are coming up to a stop sign soon (the stop sign being the next PS). If you slam on the brakes (i.e. feed after nadir), then the car comes to a very sudden stop. However, if you just take your foot off the gas, the car glides gently up to the stop sign.

Some cats here do free feed. But we normally recommend not to feed after the nadir and see if you get better action from the insulin. One caveat.....when we have a cat that looks like they are about ready to go OTJ but can't bring blue PSs down, then we have them feed a +9 meal. If the pancreas is working, that food will work to bring the PS down. Take a look at Zoey's SS to see how that concept has worked.

I hope you are feeling better and life is getting back on track for you.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
I looked at your condos and I don't think feeding her at +9 is a good idea at this point....Some cats here do free feed. But we normally recommend not to feed after the nadir and see if you get better action from the insulin. One caveat.....when we have a cat that looks like they are about ready to go OTJ but can't bring blue PSs down, then we have them feed a +9 meal. If the pancreas is working, that food will work to bring the PS down...
Hi Marje :-D I'm sorry I gave Grace the wrong information; I was going on what works for Gobbles (before OTJ trial he usually wasn't fed on purpose at 3 hour intervals; he free fed with the exception of me putting his food up 2-3 hours before pre-shot test. When he started his Trial, it was suggested that I feed him frequent, small meals throughout the day as that would be good for his newly, functioning pancreas. I learned something today :-D and will keep that in mind when suggesting a feeding time, should a member ask me. Your analogy of a braking a car makes a lot of sense :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top