29/01, Neo, 72 AMPS, 88 +2, 52 +6, 60 PMBG

Teire

Member
Previous post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/24-01-neo-394-amps-191-5-30-154-pmps.297741/#post-3239936

I've been having trouble sleeping thanks to anxiety and, as a result, I've skipped 3 morning shots and 1 evening shot and I haven't been testing, I just didn't have the energy to do anything at all. I'm really sorry for that. I expected his numbers to be higher tbh. Neo has been his usual self, as cuddly as always, and he's been quite active.
I really hope he can get off insulin.
 
Last edited:
May I ask why he is still on insulin? He’s on a really minuscule dose; he’s pretty (very) normal except one test that could have been a bad strip or a stressed cat. He’s had some dangerous hypo incidents. You’re exhausted. Your family is unhappy.

have you spoken to his vet? If my boy had his numbers i’d ask his vet to ask for a trial off insulin. I’m not an advisor here, just an MD wondering why he’s still getting insulin and what his vet thinks.

I hope you feel better. Life is hard sometimes and especially when you are worried about school and your pet and have family disputes. It may help you and Neo to see if he can be done with shots and testing. Good luck
 
Last edited:
His PMPS was 60, so I skip the shot

May I ask why he is still on insulin? He’s on a really minuscule dose; he’s pretty (very) normal except one test that could have been a bad strip or a stressed cat. He’s had some dangerous hypo incidents. You’re exhausted. Your family is unhappy.

have you spoken to his vet? If my boy had his numbers i’d ask his vet to ask for a trial off insulin. I’m not an advisor here, just an MD wondering why he’s still getting insulin and what his vet thinks.

I hope you feel better. Life is hard sometimes and especially when you are worried about school and your pet and have family disputes. It may help you and Neo to see if he can be done with shots and testing. Good luck
That's exactly what I was thinking about doing tomorrow, I'm gonna test him tomorrow morning at his usual AMPS amd see how it goes. Thankfully he's never had ketones even with very high numbers (500+ and seizing, that's when he was first diagnosed, but no DKA not ketones in his blood test, this happened when he was 7)

Fingers crossed that everything goes well!

And thank you very much, sadly Neo isn't the only one that has had health issues, my dog had had some too with a really bad allergy flare up, and then is my cat Estrella (15) that sadly has dementia and it has gotten to the point that she hides at night and refuses to eat dinner
 
Last edited:
His PMPS was 60, so I skip the shot


That's exactly what I was thinking about doing tomorrow, I'm gonna test him tomorrow morning at his usual AMPS amd see how it goes. Thankfully he's never had ketones even with very high numbers (500+ and seizing, that's when he was first diagnosed, but no DKA not ketones in his blood test, this happened when he was 7)

Fingers crossed that everything goes well!

And thank you very much, sadly Neo isn't the only one that has had health issues, my dog had had some too with a really bad allergy flare up, and then is my cat Estrella (15) that sadly has dementia and it has gotten to the point that she hides at night and refuses to eat dinner
Wow that’s so much going on in your life—so much stress at such a young age, and with exams coming up. I hope he does well off the insulin—he went into remission before so maybe he has again. It would be awesome if you and he could relax a little. Perhaps an advisor will also drop by and give their opinion—but if it were me, I’d err on the side of avoiding hypo especially since you can’t be home to watch him all the time. I’d call his vet if I were you, just to touch base about stopping. I think if you explain his numbers he’d agree it’s safe to try stopping.

I’m sorry about your dog and I hope he gets better. And Estrella—star—such a pretty name. One of my favorite nights in Spain was in Estrella, on the Camino. It’s sad when they develop problems late in life. While she’s not diabetic, perhaps you could ask for advice for her on the forum: many here have older cats and may have some ideas to help her.

best of luck with Neo, Estrella, your dog, your family and of course your studies and exams.
Colleen
 
Last edited:
Wow that’s so much going on in your life—so much stress at such a young age, and with exams coming up. I hope he does well off the insulin—he went into remission before so maybe he has again. It would be awesome if you and he could relax a little. Perhaps an advisor will also drop by and give their opinion—but if it were me, I’d err on the side of avoiding hypo especially since you can’t be home to watch him all the time. I’d call his vet if I were you, just to touch base about stopping. I think if you explain his numbers he’d agree it’s safe to try stopping.

I’m sorry about your dog and I hope he gets better. And Estrella—star—such a pretty name. One of my favorite nights in Spain was in Estrella, on the Camino. It’s sad when they develop problems late in life. While she’s not diabetic, perhaps you could ask for advice for her on the forum: many here have older cats and may have some ideas to help her.

best of luck with Neo, Estrella, your dog, your family and of course your studies and exams.
Colleen

Thamk you very much for your kind words.
Junior (dog) has been better these last few days, but he has to be on apoquel since he's intolerant to stereoids, they gave him a hypo episode last year and he had mild symptoms like tremors. The only downside about apoque is price

And about Estrella... She's starting to have more bad days as time goes, is really sad.
Here is a photo of her, Neo and Junior on december 14. She hates photos lol
20241214_130419.jpg
 
If you don't shoot, your subject line should either say +12 or AMBG or PMBG for AM or PM blood glucose. It lets us know at a glance that you didn't shoot. If you could gets a couple tests the next couple days, especially if you don't shoot, that'll help us decide whether he still needs insulin. Good luck with school and your other furkids.
 
If you don't shoot, your subject line should either say +12 or AMBG or PMBG for AM or PM blood glucose. It lets us know at a glance that you didn't shoot. If you could gets a couple tests the next couple days, especially if you don't shoot, that'll help us decide whether he still needs insulin. Good luck with school and your other furkids.
Thank you for your words and for letting me know, I've just edited the title
 
Thamk you very much for your kind words.
Junior (dog) has been better these last few days, but he has to be on apoquel since he's intolerant to stereoids, they gave him a hypo episode last year and he had mild symptoms like tremors. The only downside about apoque is price

And about Estrella... She's starting to have more bad days as time goes, is really sad.
Here is a photo of her, Neo and Junior on december 14. She hates photos lol
20241214_130419.jpg
Junior is very handsome—clearly a very good boy. And I love tortoiseshell girls—Estrella makes a good contrast to Neo. Tbh, I also don’t like having my picture taken. :)

Good luck with them all and with your studies (I see you were reading your notes with them next to you)—my fingers are crossed that Neo does well off insulin!
Colleen
 
They are precious, asleep together like that. It is a lot of stress on you, taking care of 3 senior and high needs pets on top of your studies, I admire you :bighug:
Neo is doing well, that is very encouraging, at least.
 
They are precious, asleep together like that. It is a lot of stress on you, taking care of 3 senior and high needs pets on top of your studies, I admire you :bighug:
Neo is doing well, that is very encouraging, at least.
They're actually 2 seniors! My dog is about to be 4 on March, but he's had to go once a month to the vet from january to september necause of his allergy and off leash dogs that severly injured him.
My dad also took in a kitten in 2023, she's already 1 but she still has kitten energy and love for destruction

I'm sorry to hear about Junior and Estrella , all of them are so beautiful. Good luck with the Trial. if you decide not to give any insulin. :bighug::bighug::cat:
Thanks!

Junior is very handsome—clearly a very good boy. And I love tortoiseshell girls—Estrella makes a good contrast to Neo. Tbh, I also don’t like having my picture taken. :)

Good luck with them all and with your studies (I see you were reading your notes with them next to you)—my fingers are crossed that Neo does well off insulin!
Colleen
Haha, I couldn't take a photo but today all 4 (Neo, Estrella, 1 y/o kitten called Nirvana and Junior) decided to join me while studying. Neo and Estrella on the bed, Junior sleeping at my feet and Nirvana sleeping on top of my computer tower
 
This morning it was 183, but I'll keep trying since my dog was barking just minutes before and my mother had fed him a treat ~20 minutes prior
 
Back
Top