28 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 652; +2=653; +4=371; +6=124

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you for the info. Just getting my morning coffee and will provide some responses. Please know I was not being critical or saying you made mistakes. I wish I had a dime for every decision I made with Gracie that didn’t pan out. It happens because we are dealing with hormones and living, breathing creatures. I was just trying to provide an overview.

I also would be careful when considering whose dosing advice to take when it is unclear to you what is going on and whether there needs to be an increase or not. Sometimes, it is clear and intuitive and many members can be helpful if you just need a second opinion to reinforce your gut opinion. Until we can figure out what is causing this and how to minimize it, dosing might not be so intuitive with Girlie and it might be harder to see when and how the protocol applies.

But, just because a member has a well regulated cat or a cat that went OTJ quickly, does not mean they understand the insulin, dosing, or reading a SS. There are only a handful of people still on the board that understand how to actually read a SS and the nuances. I know Wendy has helped you and she’s is certainly one of those people that I would always trust. She knows her stuff. But, like me, she’s been involved in a lot of intense family matters. Some of the others in that handful have been dropping in and out but it seems like everyone has got something going on and most of us have, very sadly, lost our FD babies over the past few years.
@Marje and Gracie , I put your newest post here as it's a new day for me and I've started a new post.

I didn't think for a second that you were being critical! In fact, I'm happy for you to be critical and point out where I could have done something differently. That's the only way I'll learn. I know I made mistakes or could have done things better, but I also realise that this is all new to me and it's all a learning curve. So point out anything you like that I did that I could improve in future: no problem from my side.

Thanks for the point re: dosing advice. I really trust Wendy. I know, though, that she has a real life and that there's a lot of family stuff going on with her. I would rather have a more experienced person guide me re: dosing advice and all other advice as this is so new to me and I don't trust my ability to interpret a SS yet. Sometimes it can get a bit tricky with the time difference issue, as my day is your night... :-)

I am so grateful for all of those who have lost their FD babies and who still come on the board to help others: that's real dedication and kindness. It says a lot about the people on FDMB. :bighug:
 
+2=653, so just like AMPS (652)

I have to go out this afternoon for an appointment, so from that perspective, it'll be good if she doesn't dive bomb today. We'll see! She's a creative cat as far as diving goes... :-)
 
+2 = 653
+4 = 371 (282 point drop): gave Cats in Kitchen Pumpkin Jack Splash (orange) MC 14 gravy (2 tsp)

We'll see if that slows her down, but the mobile vet is coming to give an enema shortly, so that might change things (day 5 of no poo: got to get the AVJ going). Whoop Whoop! :cool:

Stealing poop.jpg
 
got to get the AVJ going
If I were you I would start it. I started 1/2 teaspoon 2x/day (AM&PM PS meal) I moved pretty quickly up. I think I did 2 days intervals until I got to 1-1/2 teaspoon 2x/day. I stopped Miralax when I started the AVJ but with poor Girlies issues I would run them together and see how it goes (haha). :p
 
If I were you I would start it. I started 1/2 teaspoon 2x/day (AM&PM PS meal) I moved pretty quickly up. I think I did 2 days intervals until I got to 1-1/2 teaspoon 2x/day. I stopped Miralax when I started the AVJ but with poor Girlies issues I would run them together and see how it goes (haha). :p

Thanks for those tips. The enema worked its magic and she's now a happy camper in the poo department.

I gave her 1/4 tsp Miralax this morning. Now that she's been cleaned out, I wonder if I should wait until tomorrow morning to introduce the AVJ and see how she goes with just that for a day or two and no Miralax? I don't know how quickly the Miralax clears out of their system (should have asked the mobile vet: best $45 I've spent this week to have her come do this). I certainly don't want liquipoo! Ew! If they have too much AVJ, I'm assuming that that could be the result...?

Hey - are you stoked re the World Series so far? I just caught a glimpse on TV and it looks like Houston is getting ready to celebrate - or hoping to!
 
I didn't get liquid poo though it was soft after the initial start. I spaced out the Miralax between his meals/snacks so Gizmo got a bit with each feeding. I think that helped. Now with the AVJ his poo is firm and well formed but moist and at least every other day.

Game is just starting. I can't stay up and watch the entire games but I watch until I have to get to bed. Great series so far!
 
I didn't get liquid poo though it was soft after the initial start. I spaced out the Miralax between his meals/snacks so Gizmo got a bit with each feeding. I think that helped. Now with the AVJ his poo is firm and well formed but moist and at least every other day.

Game is just starting. I can't stay up and watch the entire games but I watch until I have to get to bed. Great series so far!

I'm just laughing here: I just finished writing the description of Girlie's recent poo in her chart, and then I read your description of Gizmo's poo. I also take pics of her poo so I can compare re: Miralax and results. Now THAT is sad! I transfer them and delete them straightaway, though, from my phone. Honestly: I need to get a life! :rolleyes:

Enjoy the series. Good luck to your team! :-)
 
+5 = 371
Enema and then pukas (some food and liquid gravy from +5)
+6 = 124 (247 point drop): 2 tsp CIK MC 14 gravy

Get off the diving board, Girlie! :woot: :stop:
 
I’m going to split this into two posts: one to respond to your responses and one to discuss managing the curve with food so please be sure and read both.

Marje, I can't thank you enough for everything you wrote and your insight re: her SS. I've been thinking of ordering calipers; I'd like to get the one you reference in your post, but we don't have that brand here in Australia. I'll keep searching. I haven't been able to find the Terumo half-unit syringes here in Oz; I'll have to see if I can get them from overseas. I'm using the BD Micro-Fine 0.3 ml 1/2 unit U100 syringes, which are the right ones for the insulin ruler, at least. Interesting what you have to say re: that you found more inaccuracies using that than using the calipers.
You’re very welcome!!! Any digital calipers will do and I’d think you could get them at any hardware store but I found some online. The 6” calipers are just fine.
DHGate

Sadly, Terumo discontinued their syringes. Many members had to figure out how to use the calipers with different syringes after Terumo discontinued theirs so you won’t find them in Australia. Thanks for confirming the type of syringe you are using. Perhaps the reason I did not like the insulin ruler was because I had been using the calipers for some time and my dosing accuracy got really, really good. I could dose to 0.05u with them.

I agree: she made a HUGE jump to 504 PMPS on 10/10, and the only thing that seemed to be different was the Zydax injection and the blood and urine tests at the vet's.
I think it’s worth checking out. Evidently, this must be a drug that stays in their system if they only get one shot a week but you would think if it was increasing the BG, you’d see a jump early on but as the med depleted, her numbers would improve. That isn’t happening here. At first, I thought I was seeing a connection between the Flixotide and a rise in BG but it isn’t consistent.

There was no sign of bacteria or infection in the urine sample
This is not uncommon with kidney infections. Gus did not seem to have any symptoms either. He didn’t strain when he peed; it didn’t take time for the pee to start once he got in the box. His white blood count was normal. He did have a few white blood cells in his urine. If she has a kidney infection, which could be a long shot....I’m just brainstorming things that can cause the creatinine to rise so quickly when other numbers are fairly stable......getting it checked out sooner is better than later.

Subq fluids: I can ask the vet re: subq fluids; she didn't think that was necessary just yet, but wanted to see where Girlie was in a month (Nov). I'm happy to give those if it's indicated. The hematocrit is 0.34! Sorry.
You can see where her creatinine is in Nov. It’s best for cats to get as much water as possible through drinking it or from their food so if you aren’t adding extra water to her food, it would be good to do so. Once you start seeing the creatinine consistently at 300 or above, she will likely benefit from fluids as long as her heart is stable. Thanks for letting me know the hematocrit is good. Once it gets to be about 30%, they need help maintaining it with some B vitamins (not injectable B vitamins).

Could it just be the difference between Australian and US numbers? We'll be repeating the blood and urine tests, so I can ask her to check whatever I'd like. If you have any specific suggestions, just let me know, and I'll get those tests.
I don’t think it would be the difference between US and Australian numbers. Diseases such as diabetes, cancer, and CRF can depress T4 levels , so a cat above age 8 or so with any illnesses and with even a "normal” tT4 can be hyperthyroid (this is referred to as “euthyroid sick syndrome” where the cat is hyperthyroid but because of other concurrent disease, thyroid levels are in the normal range) . However, thyroid levels can also change so I would definitely just monitor it for right now. And I would have my vet feel her throat around her thyroid to see if she can feel a “slip”. She should know what that is. I also would be checking Girlie’s blood pressure.

When she starts from lower numbers (anything under pink), she does much better, of course.
This is normal. Cats who start in high numbers have much further to fall than cats that start at lower numbers. Obviously a kitty that starts at 100, won't drop 100 mg/dL an hour as a cat starting at 300 can (and as they do).

Food: Finding the right food and the right carb level has also been a challenge. Early on I mistakenly thought FF I was giving her was LC, but it was actually MC in Oz. Then I was mixing half LLC and half MC to get a 6 or 7 LC food: not a good idea? Then I tried to just stuck to FF LLC 1 (Savoury Salmon) or Wellness Beef and Salmon (LC6) or Wellness Beef and Chicken (LC4). She can be picky with food unless she's really diving; she's never been food motivated.
It’s too bad she doesn’t like honey (Gracie didn’t either but she loved corn syrup). Do you have anything there that is like corn syrup or any kind of pancake syrup that she might like? It’s really best to manipulate the curve with food. The syrup is really best used if numbers drop below 50 or if you have a cat, like Sienne’s Gabby, that is allergic to glutens in some food so she had to keep the same LC diet and use honey or syrup (I don’t remember which she used) to help slow down the numbers.
 
Last edited:
Darrah....first, some homework for you. I know you’ve been studying Girlie’s SS so the things you need to know are her onset, nadir, and duration. Does she ever get carryover and/or overlap and under what circumstances?

I want to give you some information about duration that will help you look at her SS with a different eye.

Take a look at her a.m. cycle of 10/23. See how she went from 184 to 243 and then continued to skyrocket? That initial fast bump up isn’t a bounce; that’s loss of duration. Things that can cause loss of duration include too much HC food (or even LC if the cat is really carb sensitive), lack of absorption of the shot, or not enough insulin. On that particular date, she had a lot of HC with gravy at about her nadir and that will put the screeching brakes on duration faster than anything I know of. I’m not saying she didn’t go on to bounce....that’s probably why you saw 700s. First, she lost duration, and then she took a hard bounce because she dropped so fast and so low. So now you can look at her SS and see how often she is actually losing duration. Looks to me like she also lost it the day before in the a.m. cycle.

That brings me to ask the question....how is your shooting technique? Again, I’m brainstorming but I’ve seen a couple cats that were very clearly losing duration but they weren’t always getting a lot of HC food and there wasn’t something that caused a steep drop or low numbers. When we checked the shooting technique, it turned out the insulin was just getting right under the skin and not going into the subq tissues. Obviously, you also have to be careful in how you shoot so you don’t hit muscle. I don’t know if you’ve seen the post I did on Testing and Shooting Tips but you could review your shooting technique in comparison with what I discussed. What I’ve found when technique is the issue is the CG was shooting parallel to the spine but also shooting really “flat" instead of at a 45 degree angle so the insulin was just going right under the skin which meant less absorption and less duration.

Ok....let’s talk about managing the curve with food. :):):):)

A cautionary note to readers first: this advice is specific to Girlie and where Darrah is using lantus insulin. If your cat is bouncy and you want to learn to manage the curve with food, please tag a long-time member who has a lot of experience using this technique. ECID.

Girlie’s SS reminds me a bit of Tashies SS although I have seen other cats that looked like this as well. You might also see some similarities.

When we see a cat with such deep dives and hard bounces (and I do believe that kitties that dive fast have harder bounces than those that just go lower....and Girlie’s SS also shows this), we try to get the curve to flatten out with food. We call this “using food to manipulate the curve”. The process is like this:

manage the curve with food ----> flatten the curve ------> adjust the dose (if necessary and it usually is).

This process or method is feeding so that we prevent the kitty from dropping too fast and/or too low. You can imagine if you aren’t careful with it, you can overfeed the kitty so it’s important to:
  • recognize this is a process that doesn’t change things overnight
  • requires that you, in general, feed the same amount of food kitty needs to maintain its current weight (assuming kitty is not under or overweight); obviously, if you’ve fed Girlie her food for the cycle and then she fools you and takes another dive, you might have to feed a little more depending on where in the cycle she drops again.
  • requires consistency and some extra commitment at the beginning
  • requires that you know your kitty; what are her onset, nadir, duration......and does she ever get any overlap or carryover.
Typically, unless the kitty is taking a huge dive (which Girlie does) or drops below 50, we try to use LC to manage the curve with food. Obviously, if she is coming down really fast early in the cycle as she is wont to do, and we know LC doesn’t slow her down, you have to up the “ante” (i.e. the carbs). However, we do not typically feed a higher carb food at shot time unless you must have the insulin start its onset from a higher number, for example, in the case where you might not be able to monitor.

There are important things to consider when you are determining whether to feed lc, mc, hc:
  • where are is she in the cycle? If it’s early in the cycle and she’s dropping fast, you probably want to use higher carb food; if it’s nadir or later in the cycle and nadir is above 40, you might want to try LC.
  • how carb sensitive is Girlie? Some kitties never need more than LC food even when they take a steep dive or go lower. Others need the big guns if they drop fast early in the cycle. This is going to be up to you to figure out and experiment with. I have noticed that you’ve given her MC and/or HC food and it’s sort of done the job but it’s been reactionary which is what we all do at first. Many kitties, like Girlie and like my baby girl, need us to be proactive with the feeding so that’s what we need to change.
It’s also important to know why we manage the curve with food. The goal is to get the curve to flatten, as shown in the diagram above. If we are consistent and do it right (and it’s ECID and trial and error as to what is “right”), then kitties will typically flatten out at a higher BG. Flattening prevents those dreaded dives and huge bounces. Flattening also will allow you to get more insulin in the kitty safely. This can, in turn, allow you to hold a specific dose longer. In addition, lantus and levemir are not insulins that can pull high numbers down as quickly as some of the other insulins can. However, for a bouncy cat, more insulin can help bring down the numbers. It also helps to offset the spikes that very carb sensitive kitties get in response to food.

For anyone reading this who then thinks, “well, if I just give my cat more insulin, the bouncing will stop”. No it won’t and it’s not safe to just increase the dose to stop bouncing. It’s the process of managing the curve with food specific to your cat that keeps it safe to increase the dose. That entails:
  • knowing your cat and having the time and commitment to experiment with feeding
  • feeding the correct amounts of food at specific times to bring the over all curve up
  • flattening the curve at a higher BG
How do we do this for a cat on lantus?
  • start by dividing the kitty’s normal food portion into four minimeals each cycle which are fed consistently at PS, +1, +2, +3, at first.. As you get more data, you might need to adjust those feeding times especially if your kitty onsets later and you might find you have to feed at different times to address the difference in cycles.
  • determine if kitty needs to be fed the same amount at each meal or if he/she needs to be fed different amounts at each meal. As an example, I studied Gracie’s SS when she was on lantus and figured out when she onset and when she took her steepest dive. I then determined I really needed to “frontload" her cycle with food. This had me fine tuning not just the times I fed her but feeding the majority of her food at PS and +1 and a little less at +2 and +3. Over time as I got more data on how she did with that, I changed the amounts of food and also changed the feeding times. When I switched her to levemir, I had to do the same thing all over again.
  • test more at first to catch the drops. And did I say test? When you are first starting manage the curve with food, I would suggest you test every cycle at PS, +1, +2, +3 because that is most likely when the dives will occur. You need to figure out exactly where she drops so you know exactly when and how much to feed to prevent the drop. Don’t get complacent if she’s higher at +1 than PS and think “I’ll test at +3”. This will not be forever. This is just to find out where she drops so you can then manage the curve appropriately to flatten her out. Over time, as you start at a lower and lower PS, the dives should stop and you can get back to regular testing. Now is a good time for you to try it since you have to go back to work full time the end of November.
  • realize that even after it works, she might, at some time, revert back to her diving. Gracie did occasionally. I would start testing more to find out where she was dropping and then I could get proactive to adjust feeding the curve to prevent the drop. (Keep in mind, once I started managing the curve with food, I always did but patterns change from time to time and you have to be flexible and realize what worked for one pattern, might need a bit of fine tuning for another).
In summary, learning to manage the curve with food involves learning how Girlie responds to different carbs at different times during the cycle. You have to be a scientist and an investigator. Write everything down (you’ve actually been doing a really good job but I’d go a little further and note the response you got to what you fed, how much you fed, and when you fed it). What kind of a bump does she get from LC, MC, HC early in the cycle and late in the cycle? Using this info, you can guide the cycles. Again, remember you might find that you have to steer the cycles differently. Gracie had a different a.m. cycle than p.m. and so her feeding schedules were a bit different. Any time you make a change, leave it for 3-4 days and give her time to adjust before you make another change.

That’s a lot of info at once but you can bookmark this and come back to it.

One other thing: when you make changes, make them one at a time. If you suspect a med might be impacting her BG and the vet agrees with you stopping it, then only do that. Don’t stop the med and change the dose at the same time. I never increased the dose and changed the pen the same cycle (not saying you do but I’ve seen people do it). You’ll never know what the cause/effect is if you are making more than one change at a time.

Please let me know your questions. And, I realize that there is a little :banghead::banghead::banghead: when you read what this details. The first time it was introduced to me, I thought “why can’t they just tell me exactly what to feed when?”. As I learned, it’s because no one size fits every cat. Gracie was my kitty and I was the one that was going to have to do the work to figure it out. But I had been given very valuable tools on how to do it. And.....everyone should know their cat this well. :):):)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top