28-Mav PMPS 517

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
History today

AMPS 425
+6 365

I'm sorry I need to vent. I really don't see the point of all of this. I stopped dry food, I got an autofeeder so I can get Maverick eating more frequently, but really I just keep going nowhere, might as well start the dry again. I test a whole bunch, but all I see are crappy numbers, and believe me I have patience.

He's back to another terrible preshot number, and I'm tired. I'm going to take a break for a bit from here, I just can't keep up anymore.

Good luck to all, I hope you and your kitties do better than we are.
 
I'm so sorry that you are feeling frustrated. Trust me, I've been there also. Take a break if you need to. Get some rest so that you are able to take care of Maverick. You are doing a great job helping him to get better. He is still on a low dose of insulin and probably just needs more to be in better numbers consistently. Please don't be a stranger for to long ... I'll miss checking in on Mav!
 
Hi Christie
Just wanted to stop in to give you a gentle hug:bighug::bighug:
This is a really tough dance..dance is a really appropriate name for it because there is a lot of forward, backward, side step and then some weird jazzy stuff thrown in to totally throw us off.
Add to all of that that we dance a lot of it running on sheer willpower to stay standing despite sleep deprivation and total exhaustion , and it is no wonder that wall hits us smack in the face from time to time and it seems all too futile..
Take a good breath, take some time to care for yourself..
That you are here is testament to how much you love Maverick..
Give him some scritches and when you are ready, come back at this if that’s what is right for you and your cat:bighug::bighug:
It’s definitely a long game, I wish it weren’t but that’s just the nature of the beast..and those patience pants really do pinch..:(
Sending more hugs..:bighug::bighug:
When you are ready we will all be here for you and Maverick:bighug::bighug:
 
Christie, I well know how you feel. Girlie was stuck in high blacks and reds for so long I didn't think there were other colours... and I certainly never expected to see nice blues and greens. It is really, really hard taking care of a diabetic cat. There have been many days when I've rolled out of bed and then just rolled back into bed, not even bothering to get dressed what with all of the BG testing and other things that go in and then come out. I'm only finally, finally, after two months starting to see some possible light at the end of the tunnel.

I've really enjoyed getting to know you and learning more about wonderful, wonderful Maverick. Sending hugs your way - you take all the time you need to. I hope to see you again, though - I'll miss you! :-)

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Just to make you smile....
Kisses.jpg Wink.jpg
 
((((Christie)))) The sugar dance is not an easy one. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: As hard at it is, try not to focus on the numbers. Try to look at Maverick and see how he is doing/feeling. How are the 5 P's? A cat is so much more than his numbers.

Neko took a year to remove red from her spreadsheet, and that's with me using a human meter. Your AT will read higher. I too know what it's like to get the "highest score" most days. But was it worth it? Heck YES! Neko lived one week shy of 5 years on insulin, and she had many other things going on too. Most of those 5 years were good years for the two of us. Way more time that I thought at the beginning. Sure the testing is a pain and I so often felt those high numbers were a reflection on me - they aren't, some cats just love to bounce.

Some suggestiong going forward - take them or leave them as you wish. You've removed dry food (good for you), gotten and autofeeder (excellent) and you do a great job testing. Maybe it's time to look at what you do about dosing. You test enough for TR, you could switch, but maybe it's still not for you. SLGS can be customized a bit, once you know your cat and know what works for him. Maybe he doesn't hold reductions at 90 and you have to take that number down a bit. Some kitties really do need to spend more time in normal numbers to stop bouncing as much.

Take the time you need to have a break. It think we've all used this board as a place to vent. I had a few good pity parties at my place. We get it. Give Maverick a little smooch on the top of his head from me.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top