28/6 Dave A couple of setbacks...

Status
Not open for further replies.

panda28

Member Since 2017
Hi everyone, long time no see!

Life's gotten in the way a bit and for a while I had a lot less time to post. Everything's sorted now, so I'll be back with my usual multitude of questions!

I'm really happy with Dave's progress, he's staying in the greens 95% of the time on 0.35 BID. But in the last week he's been improving less than he normally does, and I'm wondering if it could have something to do with something that happened on the 13th. Basically, Dave's (now ex-) vet gave us insulin that had expired mid-last year. There was a sticker over the expiry date, and so we didn't notice until I'd given it to him for three days and he did a lot worse than he normally does. It was swapped out for a vial that expires next year. If this could still be causing issues now, how long would you expect it would be before he's back to his usual self?

It's also pretty possible that I've been spoilt by how well he normally goes, and I'm being too impatient...

Anyways, it's good to be back!
 
I should think that by now you won't be seeing any issues from the out dated insulin, he's had over 10days on the new insulin.

I'm not sure why you took him up from 0.25 to o.35uon 6/26, he's been getting decent nadirs with the 0.25u
58 on 6/22 and 63 on 6/25.
I might have in fact been considering a reduction up until the day you took the dose up he'd had 6 1/2 days of being all green 7 days in all green/normal numbers would usually earn a kitty a reduction, he did have one blue number on 6/23 in that period of time, so if I was being 'aggressive' I might have held a little longer than the 7 days, but I really don't think I would have gone up in dose.

What are you feeding by the way?? are you aware that the wellness core has changed their recipe? Some of the varieties have gone from being LC to MC, could that be impacting Dave's BG??

Here's a link to a current food list from Dr Lisa, (I'm assuming that the US and AUS product are the same), it'll give you the current values for wellness core
http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
 
I should think that by now you won't be seeing any issues from the out dated insulin, he's had over 10days on the new insulin.

I'm not sure why you took him up from 0.25 to o.35uon 6/26, he's been getting decent nadirs with the 0.25u
58 on 6/22 and 63 on 6/25.
I might have in fact been considering a reduction up until the day you took the dose up he'd had 6 1/2 days of being all green 7 days in all green/normal numbers would usually earn a kitty a reduction, he did have one blue number on 6/23 in that period of time, so if I was being 'aggressive' I might have held a little longer than the 7 days, but I really don't think I would have gone up in dose.

What are you feeding by the way?? are you aware that the wellness core has changed their recipe? Some of the varieties have gone from being LC to MC, could that be impacting Dave's BG??

Here's a link to a current food list from Dr Lisa, (I'm assuming that the US and AUS product are the same), it'll give you the current values for wellness core
http://catinfo.org/chart/index.php


Yeah, thinking about it ten days is a long time. The increase wasn't really a proper one, for as long as he'd been on 0.25 I'd really been giving him closer to 0.35, with the occasional true 0.25. I realised I probably should write 0.35 if that was what I was giving him, on the 26th.

I am feeding him Wellness Core, that's actually pretty concerning. I did notice the label changed, but when I rang the supplier they insisted it was the same recipe. If they're wrong and it has changed I'll be annoyed. Thanks for telling me, I'll chase it up.

EDIT: Just checked the two cans vs each other, the newer one has a lower calorie count... It could just be a more accurate count, but if not and they have changed something, it might have changed the carb count too. For what it's worth, they do can them here in Australia, so it's possible they only changed the US recipe though it seems pretty unlikely.
 
Last edited:
Remember to get the as fed values to do the calculation.

The recipe has definitely changed in the US, it's caused a hiccup or two on the BG front for some US members,. The phosphorus content has also gone up.
 
Julia your values are comparable to Dr Lisa's new list, with the exception of beef venison and lamb, she has that as 13% carb, 269 P
List was compiled in Feb 2017. Are you sure about the values for that variety?
Hers the link for the new searchable charthttp://catinfo.org/chart/index.php
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top