? 28/5 Tucker AMPS 396.4

Tucker

Active Member
I’ve looked through the guides and can’t find what I’m looking for. After years of being regulated and pretty healthy we are having to slowly increase his Lantus. Last week we moved from 1.4 to 1.5 and saw improvement. Today his morning test was high and at nadir he’s barely come down. Besides accidental food carbs are there general things to check for when your cat stops being regulated? He’s had dental issues in the past but was recently checked and was ok. He seems happy, playing, trilling, still trying to steal food… (I caught him trying to open a bag of peanuts this morning) all normal Tucker behavior. He’s had mast cells removed in the past and all were not a problem. He has a few little ones now but his vet says the anesthesia would be more dangerous than the mast cells.
Any suggestions are appreciated.
 
You've been holding the 0.75 unit dose too long. It could be some glucose toxicity has set in. You should increase back to 1.0 units. Next time he earns a reduction, wait until the bounce is over, and if no greens by then, the reduction has failed and you need to go back up.
 
Last edited:
You've been holding the 0.75 unit dose too long. It could be some glucose toxicity has set in. You should increase back to 1.0 units. Next time he earns a reduciton, wait until the bounce is over, and if no greens by then, the reduction has failed and you need to go back up.
Hi Wendy,
Thanks for the reply. Can I please just double check that. Tucker was stable at around1 unit for more than a year. He did have a couple of lows so we dropped him to a ‘skinny’ 1 unit but in the last 6 months we’ve slowly had to increase his dose. A ‘fat’ 1 unit seemed to to be the sweet spot for many months. In the last month we’ve had to increase 3 times. Last week we went to 1.5 but after having a few days of higher pre shot numbers (342 range) we are going to increase to maybe 1.7. I was wondering besides stress or dental if there’s a list of common reasons and regulated cat suddenly gets huge glucose?
 
Just looked at your updated SS which Bhooma set up for you. Thanks Bhooma!
I see you don’t have any pm cycle tests in there… are you still getting those?
 
I see you have added two days pm tests. Can you get a couple of tests in tonight and if they do not drop into blue or green, I would increase to 1.75 units.
 
I see you have added two days pm tests. Can you get a couple of tests in tonight and if they do not drop into blue or green, I would increase to 1.75 units.
We increased to 1.75 this morning. His AM test was still high. 341 and 3 hours later it has dropped to 313, but still in the pink. I’ll do extra tests over the next couple of days to keep him safe. He’s due to see the vet in 2 weeks for repeat bloods and urinalysis- they told us to jump him up to 2 units today because they want to take the strain off his kidneys. I’m thinking we’ll stick to 1.75 at least for a few days and watch the trend. What would you do if your vet said to go higher??
 
I would wait a few days to see how the 1.75 U dose goes and get those extra tests in. And as you mentioned in a text to me I agree that getting a C&S urine test is also a good idea to see if you can find out why the BGs are rising.
 
Back
Top