28/4 Alice AMPS 430 PMPS 309

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Alice

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117877

Thanks or previous posts.

No, not offended - I know you are doing your best to help me. :smile:

Alice seems a little better with her numbers with the 0.75 units and today she drank less than usual.

I don't really feel that I can let Alice drop as low as you would like me to let her, I just cant do that! I like her to have low numbers & of course would love her to go into remission but I don't want to risk a real hypo. Her numbers stayed low despite the food and glucogel. I suppose from that respect I am becoming a "Start low go slow"! I started fast but think it was a mistake and that we missed the correct dose on the way.

I did a realise something, after doing a 24 hour curve today. The lows are always in the night and the curve is pronounced. The daytime curve is more like a high plateaux. The two cycles are completely different. I'm wondering how you lower the daytime one without affecting the night time one. Whether different dose at night is workable. Infact I wonder if Lantus, although heaps better than Caninsulin might still not be the best for Alice?

Anyway, sorry this has to be short today as need to catch some sleep while I can (2-3 hours max last night) not coping in the daytime too well! @-)

Bye for now
Juliex
 
Julie - I'm glad that Alice is feeling a little better and drinking a bit less. Those are good signs. As for your curve, some kitties just naturally like to go lower at night. Neko was notorious for that when she was on Lantus - heck, she still does that on Levemir. :roll: What was important for me when I started was to gather enough data on her cycles so I could tell when it was safe to go to bed for the night, and when I had to set an alarm for later. It does take a little while to gather that data. And there are times when I am just too tired and need my sleep and I'll give Neko some high carb food to raise her numbers so I can get some sleep. People here work during the day have the same situation. Depending on your before bed test you can decide if leaving high or medium carb food is needed.

Lantus likes the same dose day and night, so we don't lower at night. Another thing, kitties can mix it up so you may not always find the low at night. They can go low for a couple of nights and then switch it to the daytime. Neko goes lower at night and does a little bounce during the day. If the bounce lasts longer, sometimes it goes for more cycles and the low happens in the day.

Carla/ Furball is an example of someone using the SLGS protocol here because she works long days and can only get mid day tests on the weekends. Based on Furball's numbers, she'll leave food out either at night or during a work day to keep her safe. The SLGS protocol has a higher reduction number (80) but Carla had to change it because it wasn't working for Furball?

How is Alice feeling on Lantus vs. Caninsulin? I see you had spreadsheet notes while she was on Caninsulin that she was hungry and distressed. That's probably because that insulin didn't last as long. Neko was on Caninsulin first and she was always STARVING for a couple hours before her shot time.
 
Thanks Wendy,

That is interesting info. I think that Alice sounds similar to Neko in her response to Lantus - and Caninsulin! I hated how Alice was with Caninsulin. Yes STARVING! It was so stressful hanging back & not feeding her. I daren't go into the kitchen, she was really distressed. My notes don't reflect how bad it was! I cleaned out my cupboards upstairs so that I could avoid the kitchen & she knew she had no chance of food while I was there. For her to have Caninsulin meant she had to eat like a dog - woof it down quickly twice a day!

I am sticking at his dose for a few cycles now. I may need to increase again, we'll see. I am beginning to think she may be better, maybe, on PZI if the two cycles can be controlled independantly. I really don't know enough yet though, or if that is possible.

Thank you for dropping by. Good to someone is seeing similar with the Lantus, no comparison to Caninsulin.

All the best
Juliex
 
Hi Julie,

It's good to see that Alice is feeling better.
Maybe she's more comfortable without those low/high swings.
Keeping her at this dose for a while may get her used to these numbers (without bouncing so much) and it might be possible to ease her down gently from there if necessary.
Meanwhile you can get some much needed sleep, hopefully!

Alice has only been on Lantus for a couple of weeks and there is every chance that it will turn out to be a good insulin for her.
I think, because of the dose changes, it hasn't really had a chance to show what it can do.
Patience, Grasshopper! ;-) :lol:

If, a little way along the line, you feel (and the data shows) that it isn't working for Alice then yes, there are two other insulin options you could try. Both are long lasting insulins but have very different characteristics (Levemir and Hypurin PZI).
(And yes, with Hypurin PZI you can change the dose and see the effect of the dose change in that insulin cycle (but it is also very long lasting and works on overlap, so that needs to be factored in too. Every insulin has it's idiosyncrasies. :roll: ))

And don't give up on the idea of remission one day. Even cats on gentler dosing protocols can achieve this. (For example, there are currently 3 4 cats on the 'Relaxed' forum going through OTJ trials (14 day remission trials)).

I've noticed that a few folks on this forum have SLGS written bold in their signatures, and, if this is the route you want to go, then it may be helpful to add that to yours (so people advising you here know 'which hat' to wear).

Hoping you get some good sleep soon. I-)

Eliz

Edited to add that there are currently 4 (not 3) kitties on OTJ trials... nailbite_smile
 
Julie,

Re bouncing (and easing down into lower numbers) here's a link to a conversation in the Think Tank forum that you may like to read. It may or may not give you specifically helpful information, but could be of interest, and may at least reassure you that you are not alone...
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=84824
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top