? 28/10 Mauer AMPS 128, +2 122,

SashaV

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/17-10-mauer-amps-367.254329/#post-2865961

Guys... to be honest. I don't know what I'm doing with this caliper thing...
3.95mm is 2.5U.
4.50mm is 3U.
0.25mm is 0.25U.
Then how on earth did my caliper end up on 5.45mm on 4U?
I got confused and did 5.60mm so 0.15mm increase.

Did I do it on purpose?
The syringe still says 3U +/- a bit, totally disregarding the syringe by the way.
What do I do from here? :banghead::nailbiting:

Like I've said the whole time, numbers isn't my thing..far from it. The awesome thing is, she's getting the same amount consistently.. but I dropped the ball, and don't really know..anything really o_O
The tiny increase seems to do its thing. But her nadir is laaaate, might even be in the following cycle?

Does it make any sense? :oops:
 
Which syringes are you using? BD?

There is something amiss with your calculation:

3.95mm is 2.5U - then 1U = 3.95/2.5 = 1.58mm
4.50mm is 3U - then 1U = 4.5/3 = 1.5mm
5.45mm on 4U - then 1U = 5.45/4 = 1.36 mm

@Hercule's mum do you know what the mm reading for 1U BD syringes available in UK/EU is?

@SashaV you just mulitply the 1U mm with the number of units to get the mm from that dose. So if IU = 1.58mm then 4U = 4 X 1.58 = 6.32mm
 
Which syringes are you using? BD?

There is something amiss with your calculation:

3.95mm is 2.5U - then 1U = 3.95/2.5 = 1.58mm
4.50mm is 3U - then 1U = 4.5/3 = 1.5mm
5.45mm on 4U - then 1U = 5.45/4 = 1.36 mm

@Hercule's mum do you know what the mm reading for 1U BD syringes available in UK/EU is?

@SashaV you just mulitply the 1U mm with the number of units to get the mm from that dose. So if IU = 1.58mm then 4U = 4 X 1.58 = 6.32mm
But I did a massive jump... and I don't know why? Did I type it wrong, or?
I believe I wrote my measurements down when I started using the caliper.
BD microfine demi+ is the ones I use..
 
Which syringes are you using? BD?

There is something amiss with your calculation:

3.95mm is 2.5U - then 1U = 3.95/2.5 = 1.58mm
4.50mm is 3U - then 1U = 4.5/3 = 1.5mm
5.45mm on 4U - then 1U = 5.45/4 = 1.36 mm

@Hercule's mum do you know what the mm reading for 1U BD syringes available in UK/EU is?

@SashaV you just mulitply the 1U mm with the number of units to get the mm from that dose. So if IU = 1.58mm then 4U = 4 X 1.58 = 6.32mm
And by your calculations Mauer is definitely not on 4U.
My brain is fried. I'm seriously lost.....
 
BD microfine demi+ is the ones I use..
The mm for these are not there in the callipers sticky. Only the ones available in the US and Canada. BD Ultrafine II.

From your SS, I see that when you started using callipers (on July 4, 2021), you estimated that 3U = 4.58mm which means 1U = 4.58/3 = 1.52mm which is the same as that for the BD Ultrafine II. Let's work with that.

Just note this down somewhere?
1U = 1.52mm
0.25U = 0.38 mm

Do you have the mm for the 4U dose that Mauer was on for the last 2 weeks? 5.45mm? That is ~3.6U.

If she is on 5.60mm now that is 3.68U.

3.75U = 5.7mm
4U = 6.08mm
 
Last edited:
Hi Sasha, sorry I haven't seen this until now. The thing to remember with this syringes is that only part of the total value will be increasing lineraly, a certain amount is for the plack rubber thing, so 0 units, will not be 0mm.

I know we have gone through these values before in a previous thread, I'll do a search and post the values here again.

my 2 pence is that once you use mm, change based on that, or stay where she is. Don't worry about how many units it translates to....
 
You know, Mauer is seeing some pretty good numbers! I know nothing about calipers so I didn’t comment on that, but hopefully the caliper gurus got you straightened out.

I hope you are doing well, Sasha… and the twins, too. :)
 
You know, Mauer is seeing some pretty good numbers! I know nothing about calipers so I didn’t comment on that, but hopefully the caliper gurus got you straightened out.

I hope you are doing well, Sasha… and the twins, too. :)
She's finally coming down!
The twins are awesome and so am I. How are you doing, Suzanne? :bighug:
 
Hi Sasha, sorry I haven't seen this until now. The thing to remember with this syringes is that only part of the total value will be increasing lineraly, a certain amount is for the plack rubber thing, so 0 units, will not be 0mm.

I know we have gone through these values before in a previous thread, I'll do a search and post the values here again.

my 2 pence is that once you use mm, change based on that, or stay where she is. Don't worry about how many units it translates to....
I went back to that too.
Bhooma had it straightened it out for me :rolleyes:
She's a keeper that one!!!
 
She's finally coming down!
The twins are awesome and so am I. How are you doing, Suzanne? :bighug:
I'm doing pretty well. Overwhelmed with cats and kittens (the foster ones) since adoptions have really slowed down this year for some reason. If I can't get them adopted soon, I'm going to have to take them to Atlanta Humane Society (who do a really good job anyway). But I love all these guys and my daughter and son help me with taking care of them and feeding/cleaning up after them so it's not like I have to do it all myself (in addition to taking care of our regular horde of permanent/personal cats). Other than that, we are just looking forward to getting away at the end of November for Thanksgiving and going to Florida to visit family in December after Christmas (although I'm not looking forward to paying these exorbitant gas prices to drive there... but DON'T GET ME STARTED!!

I'm glad you are awesome!
 
How do you put mm on your spreadsheet instead of units? Just wondering.
I have no clue, you'll have to ask @Bandit's Mom :oops::smuggrin:

I'm doing pretty well. Overwhelmed with cats and kittens (the foster ones) since adoptions have really slowed down this year for some reason. If I can't get them adopted soon, I'm going to have to take them to Atlanta Humane Society (who do a really good job anyway). But I love all these guys and my daughter and son help me with taking care of them and feeding/cleaning up after them so it's not like I have to do it all myself (in addition to taking care of our regular horde of permanent/personal cats). Other than that, we are just looking forward to getting away at the end of November for Thanksgiving and going to Florida to visit family in December after Christmas (although I'm not looking forward to paying these exorbitant gas prices to drive there... but DON'T GET ME STARTED!!

I'm glad you are awesome!
Oh my. Our shelters if full too, it's horrible....
Our prices is gone up too. Power and heat especially... more than 50%. It's going to be a very expensive winter this year! :nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
my 2 pence is that once you use mm, change based on that, or stay where she is. Don't worry about how many units it translates to...
@Bandit's Mom it’s because of the comment above. I mist have misinterpreted it. I thought she was saying to use mm as your measurement instead of units. Is there a direct correlation between number of mm and units? There must be, or one could not enter units on the spreadsheet. And is the number of mm translatable into quarter units like 1.25 for example? Or would the decimal increments potentially be even smaller than quarter units (like tenths perhaps?)
 
@Bandit's Mom it’s because of the comment above. I mist have misinterpreted it. I thought she was saying to use mm as your measurement instead of units. Is there a direct correlation between number of mm and units? There must be, or one could not enter units on the spreadsheet. And is the number of mm translatable into quarter units like 1.25 for example? Or would the decimal increments potentially be even smaller than quarter units (like tenths perhaps?)
As you know, when using callipers, there is a mm measurement for each unit (or part thereof). While the CG can note down how much in mm each increase/decrease translates to, we need to know the units and not the mm - the mm per unit is different for each brand of syringe. Do I make sense? :-)
 
the mm per unit is different for each brand of syringe. Do I make sense?
Yes! That makes perfect sense. If the mm per unit is different for each type of syringe then it’s pretty useless to note on your spreadsheet how many mm you gave. It won’t help others looking at your spreadsheet at all. Thanks for this clarification!
 
Back
Top