? - 28/10 Jake dose advice | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 28/10 Jake dose advice

Cloe & Jake

Member since 2025
Hello, I’d love some admin advice please.

I’m unsure whether to continue to hold Jake’s dose of 2.5 units or increase it back up to 2.75u. It’s not clear to me from the TR protocol or Tilly’s page. All numbers are between 50-200 but there are more between 100-150 than there previously were, though less in the 40-60 range.

Thanks
 
Linking you previous post for continuity:
? - 10/20 Jake Urgent Dosing Advice AMPS 77 +1 45 +3 53 +5 43 +7 65 +9 65 +11 58

Looks like you increased to 2.75U this morning? With nadirs in the 50s, you could have held the dose. Dosing is based on nadirs and not highs. The aim of TR is to get the cat to a dose where it can spend as much time as possible in the normal range with nadirs in the 50-80 range. However, given that the Libre tends to read lower than glucose meters and actual numbers might be higher, it's possible he might have needed that increase. But unless you can verify the Libre lows with a glucose meter, you would need to go by the numbers you get with the Libre for the purpose of dosing. @Staci & Ivy could help with how she handles this.
 
Hi Cloe,
I saw that Bhooma asked me to check in here.
I use a Libre 3 for Ivy and I verify when the Sensor reads LO.
“Usually” she will be under 100 on a handheld glucometer when the Libre says Lo.
(Sometimes in the 60s, 80s etc).

Other people have found the numbers between their Libre and a glucometer to be closer (10-20 points apart).

If Ivy is lingering in Lo readings I like to get a test to see how low the dose is actually taking her so that I can make decisions on possibly giving a reduction or holding the dose.

You’re welcome to take a look at my spreadsheet to see what I have done in that regard.

Is it possible that you can blood test with Jake if needed to verify any low readings you get?

I hope this helps and if you have any further questions feel free to ask me! 🥰
 
Hi Cloe,
I saw that Bhooma asked me to check in here.
I use a Libre 3 for Ivy and I verify when the Sensor reads LO.
“Usually” she will be under 100 on a handheld glucometer when the Libre says Lo.
(Sometimes in the 60s, 80s etc).

Other people have found the numbers between their Libre and a glucometer to be closer (10-20 points apart).

If Ivy is lingering in Lo readings I like to get a test to see how low the dose is actually taking her so that I can make decisions on possibly giving a reduction or holding the dose.

You’re welcome to take a look at my spreadsheet to see what I have done in that regard.

Is it possible that you can blood test with Jake if needed to verify any low readings you get?

I hope this helps and if you have any further questions feel free to ask me! 🥰
Thanks for your help. I have checked the accuracy a few times with ear pricks and generally find it quite accurate, usually slightly higher with ear pricks than the libre (maybe 10 higher). I’ve never had the libre give me a LO reading, at what level does that occur?
 
Linking you previous post for continuity:
? - 10/20 Jake Urgent Dosing Advice AMPS 77 +1 45 +3 53 +5 43 +7 65 +9 65 +11 58

Looks like you increased to 2.75U this morning? With nadirs in the 50s, you could have held the dose. Dosing is based on nadirs and not highs. The aim of TR is to get the cat to a dose where it can spend as much time as possible in the normal range with nadirs in the 50-80 range. However, given that the Libre tends to read lower than glucose meters and actual numbers might be higher, it's possible he might have needed that increase. But unless you can verify the Libre lows with a glucose meter, you would need to go by the numbers you get with the Libre for the purpose of dosing. @Staci & Ivy could help with how she handles this.
Thank you, that’s good to know. It was starting to worry me that the spreadsheet was getting more blue and less green! He also has increased his drinking again. I totally forgot it’s based on nadirs and not all levels to be honest so that’s a good reminder.
 
Thanks for your help. I have checked the accuracy a few times with ear pricks and generally find it quite accurate, usually slightly higher with ear pricks than the libre (maybe 10 higher). I’ve never had the libre give me a LO reading, at what level does that occur?
I’m glad you are able to check with an ear pricks.

The Lo reading comes as they drop below 40. It next reads Lo.
Once I see Ivy dropping into the 50s (I watch closely) and she will usually drop down to 40s then Lo.

I’ve also had her longer in Lo range for several hours and it has caused the Libre to shut down and stop working.
(I believe it’s a safety feature in the Libre, since it is intended for humans. I think the sensor somehow reads that it’s inaccurate if it’s in the L range for many hours it must be faulty so it stops working.)
So, just be aware that that can’t happen.
Are you able to use the Libre 3 where you are? Or are you only able to get the Libre 2?

The reason I like the Libre 3 is you do not have to physically scan the sensor on your cat. It reads wirelessly and sends the data to your phone via the Libre Link Up app, which I find much more convenient.
 
I’m glad you are able to check with an ear pricks.

The Lo reading comes as they drop below 40. It next reads Lo.
Once I see Ivy dropping into the 50s (I watch closely) and she will usually drop down to 40s then Lo.

I’ve also had her longer in Lo range for several hours and it has caused the Libre to shut down and stop working.
(I believe it’s a safety feature in the Libre, since it is intended for humans. I think the sensor somehow reads that it’s inaccurate if it’s in the L range for many hours it must be faulty so it stops working.)
So, just be aware that that can’t happen.
Are you able to use the Libre 3 where you are? Or are you only able to get the Libre 2?

The reason I like the Libre 3 is you do not have to physically scan the sensor on your cat. It reads wirelessly and sends the data to your phone via the Libre Link Up app, which I find much more convenient.
Thank you. I have the Libre 2 here but it reads wirelessly and I don’t need to scan. I think it’s different to the American libres.
 
Back
Top