28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88 +4=85

Status
Not open for further replies.

GraceAndAngie

Member Since 2013
Good morning LL,

Thanks, Kat and Sienne, for the suggestion to test 3 hours after eating. I did just that this morning before I even turned on the computer so I must have been channelling you. She is lower so I will go back to her old feeding schedule. I think she preferred it anyway.

0.25IU for Angie tonight. Time for some breffies (for me anyway, Angie's already finished hers and gone to sleep on her day bed, all in the time it's taken to write this). ~O)

Thanks for your help again.

Yesterday's condo is here.

Grace
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187

Hi Angie! Good morning (7:18 p.m. 5/27 here in USA, Ohio.) I am so happy to see the lower AM number! Thanks for visiting Gobbles' condo. Have a wonderful day & good luck with the insulin; perhaps she won't be on it long at all cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187

Hi Grace

I'm just now meeting you and Angie. :-D Thanks for visiting Checks in his condo. :smile:

That's a lovely blue amps for her. Here's hoping she surfs the day away in pretty blue. (or green :mrgreen: )
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187 PMPS=196 +2=92

I gave Angie 0.25 IU of insulin with dinner. Two hours later she's dived from 196 to 92. Given her history of steep dives into green and an early nadir, would testing her in an hour seem reasonable? Obviously I'll keep testing till she comes up again - just wondering on frequency at this point.

Thanks guys!
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187 PMPS=196 +2=92

GraceAndAngie said:
I gave Angie 0.25 IU of insulin with dinner. Two hours later she's dived from 196 to 92. Given her history of steep dives into green and an early nadir, would testing her in an hour seem reasonable? Obviously I'll keep testing till she comes up again - just wondering on frequency at this point.

Thanks guys!
Yes, testing her in an hour is certainly recommended. Please keep your subject line updated. Thank goodness you have history on her and know how she reacts. Do you have a hypo kit (I'm sure you know what that is, but just to reiterate: medium and high carb food, karo, lots of testing strips and lancets + being able to monitor her throughout the night)...
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187 PMPS=196 +2=92

And, again I'm sure you know this, but as you've been "out of the game" for some while: if you need more space on your subject line, delete the AMBG number. Was the PM shot of .25 insulin (5/29 in Australia?) the very first shot you have given her? You are +14 hours ahead of me in USA, Ohio. So I assume PM shot was about 10:30 p.m. the evening of Tuesday, 5/28; correct?
 
Re: 28/05 Angie AMBG=187 PMPS=196 +2=92

Hi Kat,

You're brilliant. I did need reminding of some of those things. I have everything in the house just not collected together. I'll go do that now - but testing first.

Right now it's 11 pm. Her dinner and shot was at 8 pm so right now it's +3. I'll be up as long as it takes!

I'm off to heat up that ear warmer.

Grace
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88

It looks like she won't have too sharp a drop now that the curve has flattend out. I'll test again at +4 - unless anyone suggests otherwise.

Ok, I have another question now.

At about the time that Angie started her OTJ trial Marje suggested trying feeing her before her am/pmbg. Can that still work now that she's on insulin? Is it ok to feed her at pm+9, amps, am+3, am+9, pmps and pm+3? Or does the first feed need to be with insulin?
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88

GraceAndAngie said:
It looks like she won't have too sharp a drop now that the curve has flattend out. I'll test again at +4 - unless anyone suggests otherwise.

Ok, I have another question now.

At about the time that Angie started her OTJ trial Marje suggested trying feeing her before her am/pmbg. Can that still work now that she's on insulin? Is it ok to feed her at pm+9, amps, am+3, am+9, pmps and pm+3? Or does the first feed need to be with insulin?
I always feed Gobbles 2-3 hours before his shot, then put the food up. I then feed him immediately after the shot. Then at test time, I have a more true, accurate reading of his BG....Then he free feeds, grazes like a cow, throughout the day
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88

To recap, your feeding schedule you posted above goes like this:

PM+9 (3 hours before her AM shot)
AMPS (you mean a feeding right after you shoot, correct? That would be the way I do it)
AM+3 (3 hours post-shot)
AM+9 (3 hours before her PM shot)
PMPS (immediately after shooting)
PM+3 (3 hours post-shot)

This is a good feeding schedule, however, you can even feed her at the +6 of each cycle (which is the nadir for most cats but not all cats, as I'm sure you know it can vary)
Further, if you get a low AMPS or PMPS (for example, say 70-ish...but ECID) then shoot (what is the lowest number you are comfortable shooting?); I would not let her gorge because she may start dropping early in the cycle and you don't want her full just in case you have to "feed" (aka "steer") her...

And sometimes they surprise us...she dropped 100 points in 2 hours, which means she most likely will have an active cycle (continue to drop)...



I hope I'm making sense...
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88

GraceAndAngie said:
It looks like she won't have too sharp a drop now that the curve has flattend out. I'll test again at +4 - unless anyone suggests otherwise.
Well, I wouldn't be too complacent because she hasn't had any insulin in her for about 2.5 months. You fed her at +3, correct? And I assume it was low carb? Just want to be sure she's safe. BTW, OT: do you work? I'm only asking because it is relevant to her new, insulin regime and to make sure you/someone is around to test and steer, if necessary, her numbers down the road....
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88 +4=85

Yes, this is her feeding schedule.

PM+9 (3 hours before her AM shot)
AMPS (immediately after shooting)
AM+3 (3 hours post-shot)
AM+9 (3 hours before her PM shot)
PMPS (immediately after shooting)
PM+3 (3 hours post-shot)

I'm glad I can feed three hours before I shoot. It seems to keep her BG down.

I'm not complacent- just hopeful that it wouldn't be another dramatic night like she used to do a lot. I was worried about a sharp dive too when I saw that drop. She used to have an early nadir - sometimes +3. It's now +5 and I'm hoping that I can go to sleep after this test.

Yes low carb food.

I'm not working at the moment so I can be around for her. I get the feeling that once her storage had built up again we'll be reducing her dose.

I'm not comfortable shooting green at this point because I haven't got much data in her recently and she had a prior history of dramatic dives. Well at least not without the support of somebody experienced.
 
I will be here until 1 pm (my time). If another experienced or and advisor does not jump on board before then.... Any experienced members available, out here in Lantus Land? (please feel free to jump in now, if you'd like and I will just hover...lol :) and I will keep checking on you, Angie.
 
Re: 28/05 Angie PMPS=196 +2=92 +3=88 +4=85

GraceAndAngie said:
I'm glad I can feed three hours before I shoot. It seems to keep her BG down.

I'm not complacent- just hopeful that it wouldn't be another dramatic night like she used to do a lot. I was worried about a sharp dive too when I saw that drop. She used to have an early nadir - sometimes +3. It's now +5 and I'm hoping that I can go to sleep after this test.

Yes low carb food.

I'm not working at the moment so I can be around for her. I get the feeling that once her storage had built up again we'll be reducing her dose.

I'm not comfortable shooting green at this point because I haven't got much data in her recently and she had a prior history of dramatic dives. Well at least not without the support of somebody experienced.
Hi Angie :) I'm so glad feeding three hours before shooting works well for you. I hope I didn't offend you any way re: complacency, I was just worried about her, what with just beginning insulin, that's all. Oh, and I know how trying the "pajama parties" are...stressful + lack of sleep + too much coffee :lol: I do hope you got some restful shut eye. Great that you're feeding her low carb; I was only worried that perhaps she was being fed medium (or high) carb the first few hours of her cycle, which as you know, would mask her BG. I agree with you that once her storage/depot gets built up, she will get a reduction and possibly (paws crossed, paws crossed) go OTJ again!

Good call on not shooting green presently; her cycles may have changed, what with all the variables and getting a little bit of insulin. Dramatic dives=Pajama parties and low-number experience for you!

Have a wonderful Wednesday :) You are doing a superb job :) Sorry that you're back here at FDMB, but I'm glad to have "met" you again :) I'll keep an eye out for your 5/29 condo!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top