? 27April2020/Maxi/AMPS:460/+2:402/Inappetance/Vomited/Weird Poo

Any history of pancreatitis? The symptoms make me wonder even if no history.

No history of pancreatitis.

He took only a few licks.

I gave him a different kind of food, and he took no licks.

He does have interest in sitting in the open window.

At AM, he seemed interested in food, but then only took the licks. I think if he were nauseous, he wouldn't show interest in food. No?

I have Entyce appetite stimulant and cerenia anti-nausea.

I will try to test for ketones, but it will be quite a while before he pees again.

What to do?
 
I’m just getting up and have to care for my cats.

If he’s not eating, I wouldn’t give R now. If he starts to eat, we can reassess.
 
Just now...

His +2 is 402.

When I offered him canned food, he sniffed at it, and he gulped --seemed to try to suppress wretching ?

He is not even interested in the treats he is usually crazy about. Not even one bite.

I just gave him cerenia.

He purrs nicely when I approach him.
 
Maxi just vomited.

It wasn't much. He hasn't eaten much to vomit.

It was 5 minutes after the cerenia. I searched carefully through the vomit but did not find the cerenia pill. Anyway, it must have already dissolved and was in his vomit, so not he has no anti-nausea medicine in him. But I can't be sure about that.
 
Should I take him to the vet?

I *hate* to put him through that, but he's pretty sick.
Yes. While this sounds like pancreatitis, there are so many other GI things that can also cause it. He definitely Italy sounds nauseous. Here’s the Primer on Pancreatitis if you haven’t seen it. It has a lot of good info to help you form questions for the vet. I’d also be sure and ask for ondansetron (zofran) as it works better than cerenia for nausea in cats. You can actually give them together following the dosing instructions (cerenia is once a day; ondansetron can be given more) as they work quite well together.

Wendy, Sandy, and I had just been talking about reducing his Lantus dose to 9u but let’s see how he does today and what the vet says is going on with him. If he’s got inflammation and his BG is staying high, we might want the dose to ride a bit longer just to give them that support.

Pls keep us posted and it’s a good idea to keep an eye on his BG every couple of hours or so since he hasn’t eaten. If the BG does drop, we’d suggest you reduce the dose tonight to 9u. We don’t know how much the cabergoline could be a factor in lower numbers.

ETA: cerenia is very bitter. But if he didn’t foam when you pilled him, it’s likely not the bitterness from the pill that made him vomit.
 
I would call the vet. There’s a blood test for pancreatitis. Those are definitely symptoms of it but of course symptoms for many other things. I wouldn’t want to start treatment without first talking to your vet.
 
I took him to the vet a couple minutes after I posted that question. We are at the vet’s office now. He panted on the way to the vet, which he has never done. The pancreatitis blood test results will not be back until tomorrow.
The vet is giving him fluids and an injection of anti-nausea medicine —don’t know what kind. Also is doing a full senior panel and checking for ketones.
 
I took him to the vet a couple minutes after I posted that question. We are at the vet’s office now. He panted on the way to the vet, which he has never done. The pancreatitis blood test results will not be back until tomorrow.
The vet is giving him fluids and an injection of anti-nausea medicine —don’t know what kind. Also is doing a full senior panel and checking for ketones.
Ask for a prescription for ondansetron. You only need about five to start with refills. It’s expensive.
 
Ask for a prescription for ondansetron.

Luckily, I did ask for that and now I have to go out and try to fill the prescription.

No ketones.

I'll post his blood test results later.

He just had diarrhea again. (very light-colored again -- why?)

He will not eat.

He must feel bad, and I'd like to make him feel better. What about giving buprenorphine?
 
Luckily, I did ask for that and now I have to go out and try to fill the prescription.

No ketones.

I'll post his blood test results later.

He just had diarrhea again. (very light-colored again -- why?)

He will not eat.

He must feel bad, and I'd like to make him feel better. What about giving buprenorphine?
What did the vet say about giving buprenorphine?
 
After the cerenia and ondansetron help with nausea, if he won’t eat on his own, will he let you assist feed him with a syringe?

Also, you can give him Saccharomyces boulardi for the diarrhea. I use Renew Life but you can probably get something faster locally. Here is info about S. boulardi and emergency stop for diarrhea. Another member has had the same issue with her kitty and he had pure liquid diarrhea which is now improving with S. boulardi emergency stop.

Sending vines for him.
 
Got fluids and anti-nausea and buprenorphine injection at vet.
After return home wanted to eat but could not manage regular food; ate a spoon of Friskies.
I finally gave human tuna. He ate 1.5 oz with relative gusto.
He is drinking a lot.

Phosphorus is up.
I told vet I was splitting his 2 scoops per day of binder by eyeballing it into 4 doses because he eats 4 times a day, and she said to go ahead and give him 4 scoops of binder a day -- 1 scoop per meal.
 
After the cerenia and ondansetron help with nausea, if he won’t eat on his own, will he let you assist feed him with a syringe?

Also, you can give him Saccharomyces boulardi for the diarrhea. I use Renew Life but you can probably get something faster locally. Here is info about S. boulardi and emergency stop for diarrhea. Another member has had the same issue with her kitty and he had pure liquid diarrhea which is now improving with S. boulardi emergency stop.

Going back to pharmacy soon to pick up ondansetron. When should I give it? (He had an anti-nausea injection at vet at 12:30 or so.)

Will try to get S. boulardi.
 
Going out now.

Will post labs on SS after.


upload_2020-4-27_16-58-18.png
upload_2020-4-27_16-59-15.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-4-27_16-58-18.png
    upload_2020-4-27_16-58-18.png
    333.9 KB · Views: 171
  • upload_2020-4-27_16-59-15.png
    upload_2020-4-27_16-59-15.png
    492 KB · Views: 164
This is what they gave me, assuring me it was correct
 

Attachments

  • 52B74896-7D1B-46AE-990D-08B090745558.jpeg
    52B74896-7D1B-46AE-990D-08B090745558.jpeg
    61 KB · Views: 128
Can I give him store-bought pre-made bone broth?
Bone broth is unfortunately rather high in phosphorus.

As for the probiotic, I am in Canada - don't have a CVS and haven't seen the one you showed. Potato starch is carbs. I don't see mention of S. Boulardii. It's pretty obvious on containers I've seen.

Ondansetron you can give up to three times a day. I found it takes about 20-30 minutes to kick in, so did it about that long before meals.
 
So I have returned the bone broth to Whole Foods and while they have Renew Life probiotics nothing says S boulardii on it. The clerk asked someone else working at Whole Foods if they had it, and she came back with a negative reply
The pharmacist at CVS said that stuff was what I had written on the paper. You are sure that it is wrong? If you are sure I would like to return it because funds are limited. Thanks
 
What do you think? As Marje suggested above, you could lower to 9 units, to bring the nadirs up a touch. Did the vet have. suggested dose?

What do I think? Ha. I'm clueless. I guess I'd go for a decrease since both vet and Marje suggested it, and it seems you agree.
The vet did not mention a specific amount of decrease.

Is this S boulardii right? https://www.amazon.com/Renew-Life-A...myces/dp/B011D4WURM?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20 @Marje and Gracie

Thank you!
 
Thank goodness he ate about 1/2 portion of his regular Weruva once I mixed a touch of tuna with it at PM shot time.

He still expresses a desire to eat, interest in eating, but can bring himself to eat only tuna (or food disguised as tuna) so far.

He has not had diarrhea for several hours.

I did not give him cabergoline.

His PMPS was 241. 2 hours prior it was 258, so I'm worried about another night of sharp drops.

I gave him 9 units (not 9.25) of Lantus.
 
So I have returned the bone broth to Whole Foods and while they have Renew Life probiotics nothing says S boulardii on it. The clerk asked someone else working at Whole Foods if they had it, and she came back with a negative reply
The pharmacist at CVS said that stuff was what I had written on the paper. You are sure that it is wrong? If you are sure I would like to return it because funds are limited. Thanks
It’s wrong. They don’t understand probiotics.
Is this it?

I can't tell whether it's with or without larch arabinogalactan

https://www.amazon.com/Renew-Life-A...myces/dp/B011D4WURM?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
This is what I use.
 
PM+6: 156 and very good appetite

Now I don't know what to do about cabergoline. What do you think?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top