27 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 625; +4=347; +7=239; PMPS 243 UTI?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gosh, I sure hope leaving it out for 3 hours wouldn't ruin it--I left my last pen out several times for a whole work day with no problems. I suppose it might be different if the place you left it was super-hot, but I'd be really surprised if 3 hours ruined a cartridge.
 
out for 3 hours yesterday spoiled it?
Leaving it out for a few hours on the counter at room temperature won't spoil the insulin. I forgot to put Georges away several times and had no ill effects.
When humans use the pen needle they don't store Lantus in the fridge and it's good for 28 days, so a few hours on the counter will not have ruined it.

What you are seeing is possibly a combination of a couple of things, she dropped 300pts yesterday morning into yellow, and that may have triggered a bounce, also some kitties experience what we refer to as New Dose Wonkiness(NDW)
 
Leaving it out for a few hours on the counter at room temperature won't spoil the insulin. I forgot to put Georges away several times and had no ill effects.
When humans use the pen needle they don't store Lantus in the fridge and it's good for 28 days, so a few hours on the counter will not have ruined it.

What you are seeing is possibly a combination of a couple of things, she dropped 300pts yesterday morning into yellow, and that may have triggered a bounce, also some kitties experience what we refer to as New Dose Wonkiness(NDW)
I vaguely remember reading that somewhere re: Lantus being good outside the fridge for 28 days; probably in the NDW post when I first started! Thank you for this link. I have to start bookmarking better - or bookmarking less, maybe! :)
 
New dose wonkiness, have patience. :bighug:
I'll try, Wendy, I'll try! :banghead:

China suggested yesterday that I should just stick to really LC food (and not the LC 5 - 9) until Girlie is out of the blacks. Yesterday I started with really LC, but then at +3 I gave the mix (equalled LC 7.5) and she did go down to reds and yellows, but that could mean nothing! Should I stick to really LC food for now, do you think, and just do the mix if she looks like she's going to dive?
 
For kitties that dive, manipulating the curve with higher carbs is a good idea. Girlie is one of those. I think Chris(China is her cat) was saying you don't need to pull out HC at lower numbers that aren't that low or if they are high and flattish.
 
For kitties that dive, manipulating the curve with higher carbs is a good idea. Girlie is one of those. I think Chris(China is her cat) was saying you don't need to pull out HC at lower numbers that aren't that low or if they are high and flattish.
Thanks, Wendy...
 
Come down, Girlie, or I'll get my hair done (finally, though interesting to discover my natural hair colour again - daunting how much grey there is, though); I'll go shopping; I'll go see a movie; I'll - I'll - I'll go on holiday! I'll increase your dose! :eek::p Oh these cats...sigh...:banghead: :rolleyes::D
 
Come down, Girlie, or I'll get my hair done (finally, though interesting to discover my natural hair colour again - daunting how much grey there is, though); I'll go shopping; I'll go see a movie; I'll - I'll - I'll go on holiday! I'll increase your dose! :eek::p Oh these cats...sigh...:banghead: :rolleyes::D
Darrah, you are a hoot :)
 
Girlie, black doesn't look good on you. Blue and green do, though. ;)
She heard you! Either that or she likes my hair the way it is ... :eek:

I knew she was coming down (even if only to pink and 347 - still, it's almost a 300 point drop from her AMPS and 200 from her +2). When my picky cat goes looking for food, I know there's a reason... I let her have it at +3:30 even though I could tell she was going down, as I thought her ears needed a bit of a break and I wanted to do the +4. Let's hope she doesn't go back to black. I told her firmly that it's not her colour... :-)
 
I'm hoping that she's broken her bounce with all of these consistent yellows since +4 - we'll see how she goes tonight. Good Girlie! :) And clearly the insulin works... When I saw that she'd dropped 353 points from AMPS to +6, I gave her a tsp of MC 13 just to slow the bounce down. It looks like that worked: she was +7=239; +11=259; PMPS 243. I don't know if that was a good idea or not...?

Interesting that she goes down from +11 to her AMPS - but I only have data on that since 19 August.

I hope we can go in for our acupuncture tomorrow which is at her AM+3: I can tell that she's not moving well and she needs some help for her arthritis...poor baby.

She hasn't been so happy today: not sure whether it's the arthritis; her dive; or something else. I keep wondering whether she might be developing a UTI or something: she has multiple (clean!) litterboxes to choose from with different litter (long story why there), but she'll go up to them: look - turn away - and try to get into a corner somewhere. She hasn't done her business outside the litterbox, though: just isn't keen on options 1, 2 or 3. The only other time I've seen her do this is when she's had a UTI. It's not constipation, because she had a good poo today.

There's no blood in the urine; her urine has been very diluted since she was diagnosed with diabetes; she's not straining to wee; she hasn't, though, peed since AM+1 even though she's had 298 ml (10 oz) of water over the past 24 hours. I've been waiting for her to wee since morning so I could do a ketones test. I guess I should get the vet who's going to do the acupuncture tomorrow to do a test... I'm probably imagining something that's not there, eh? Just odd that she hasn't weed with that much water going in...:confused:
 
Last edited:
I've been waiting for her to wee since morning so I could do a ketones test
That's probably the problem, Girlie wants her privacy.:p

Good idea to get the vet to test it if you have no luck, if they draw some urine they can also get a culture to see if ab's are needed.
 
I hope she feels better soon. They cause us so much worry and it can seem as though our entire life revolves around them. o_O
 
So very, very true! Right now, my entire life does revolve around Gizmo. ;)
With you there, my friend: no life for me right now! All attention focused on the beloved one...

Thank you so much, everyone, for your support! She finally did decide on LB #2: Breeder's Choice (paper pellets). Trying to find a litter that a) she'll like and b) won't affect her asthma and c) will work for mom, as well. Sigh... :banghead:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top