? 27/6 Mauer AMPS 277, +3 281, +6 196

SashaV

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/22-6-mauer-amps-85-2-191-4-171.248902/#post-2807637

At some point I believe I've held the dose way too long, on the other hand she started bouncing as if she was being paid to do so...
Her days is bad, nights are fine.

I need to play it safe. Without meds I'm falling asleep between the alarm and getting up. I cheated last night, she dropped 50% before onset...

She's not acting high, even though her numbers is high...
She's finally loosing some weight, I've ditched the raw for the time being.

I can't stop thinking about why she have better numbers during the night? I serve 7% that they both eat throughout the night. During the day I give meals with fewer carbs.
Is it unlikely she needs the carbs to work with?

I got my appointment at the cardiologist, so hopefully I'll have some sort of explanation soon and some closure.

Have a great day guys :D
 
Many prayers that you get good results at the cardiologist, Sasha. I have no explanation for cats that go lower at night but it sure can be a nightmare for the caregiver. I hope you have a good day.
 
I'm also wondering whether you're taking reductions when you should. With a cat that's a year past diagnosis, you reduce when:
  • numbers drop below 40
  • numbers are in the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate cycles
  • numbers are in normal range for a week
I'm wondering if you missed the "door #2" option. If not, then keep it in mind.

I do think you're holding the 2.75u dose longer than you may want to. You've been at that dose since 6/4. Shortly after you decreased, the numbers look good. It does look like the reduction didn't hold, though. The green numbers have been scattered so I can see why you may have held the dose. It just doesn't look like it's doing the job at this point.

As for lower numbers at night, it's fairly common. Cats are nocturnal and Mauer may be more active at night. In addition, there's dawn phenomenon. Stress hormones (corticosteroids) are present in a cyclic manner -- they wax and wane throughout the day. Typically, they begin to be released earlier in the morning as a means of preparing our bodies (or a cat's body) for the stresses of the day. This causes a rise in BG during the AM cycle. However, if you look back to May, though, it seems like Mauer was lower during the day.
 
I'm also wondering whether you're taking reductions when you should. With a cat that's a year past diagnosis, you reduce when:
  • numbers drop below 40
  • numbers are in the 40 - 50 range on 3 separate cycles
  • numbers are in normal range for a week
I'm wondering if you missed the "door #2" option. If not, then keep it in mind.

I do think you're holding the 2.75u dose longer than you may want to. You've been at that dose since 6/4. Shortly after you decreased, the numbers look good. It does look like the reduction didn't hold, though. The green numbers have been scattered so I can see why you may have held the dose. It just doesn't look like it's doing the job at this point.

As for lower numbers at night, it's fairly common. Cats are nocturnal and Mauer may be more active at night. In addition, there's dawn phenomenon. Stress hormones (corticosteroids) are present in a cyclic manner -- they wax and wane throughout the day. Typically, they begin to be released earlier in the morning as a means of preparing our bodies (or a cat's body) for the stresses of the day. This causes a rise in BG during the AM cycle. However, if you look back to May, though, it seems like Mauer was lower during the day.

Please forgive my stupidity, Sienne :oops::bighug:
Do you mean I've missed reductions?
The door #2?:oops:

You right, it doesn't seem to be doing the job, but still she's green. Last time when I upped her dose, when she was in the green she was overall great, but I had no life and didn't get much sleep.
The only reason I'm not increasing now, even though I want to for her sake, is that I'm afraid I won't wake up to do the testing during the night. From one day to the other she went lower during the night, and since we're still there.... it's simply not safe to increase.

For her sake, health and everything other than my own health, I would have increased long ago. I actually hate these up and downs... they're unhealthy and confusing. And messing up her ss that used to be awesome!

I can't keep her safe if I'm not healthy. And it sounds wrong. Point is, I want to do absolutely EVERYTHING for her. Right now I don't know what's going on with my own heart, if it was a hand or foot I wouldn't care. But a heart is kinda important :nailbiting:
I don't want to choose between her or me, but safety first for the both of us, and hers first...
 
I might be way too optimistic, but my appointment is the 8th of July.
I'm hoping he gives me the go ahead to take my meds during the night again.
If he does, I'm going to kick her butt driving her doooooown.

But if not I really don't know. Keeping her safe and in good numbers seems to be impossible ...
 
Door #@ was the second bullet point. (Sorry -- failed attempt at humor.) You did reduce when numbers dropped into the 20s. I just wanted to make sure you were aware that there are other options..

There's always a balancing act especially if the caregiver has his or her own health issues. If it makes sense, you could always "fatten" the dose (give a dose that's a little more than 2.75u but not as much as 3.0u). You may want to wait until you see your MD to decide.
 
Door #@ was the second bullet point. (Sorry -- failed attempt at humor.) You did reduce when numbers dropped into the 20s. I just wanted to make sure you were aware that there are other options..

There's always a balancing act especially if the caregiver has his or her own health issues. If it makes sense, you could always "fatten" the dose (give a dose that's a little more than 2.75u but not as much as 3.0u). You may want to wait until you see your MD to decide.
I love humor!!!!
I'm just....sleep deprived so I feel stupid. Actually feel stupid. :oops:

Where do you see a 20?!
I'm reducing after three drops below 50, once below 40. As I'm supposed to?

I've also started to dose with colored water instead of relying on the syringe.
So most days depending on the syringe, she gets what's actually 2.5 or 2.25.. they're surprisingly different :banghead:

Would it be stupid to feed her higher carbs, say 7% instead of the usual 4%? Maybe just do a try tomorrow?
 
Sorry. 30s. The sun was in my eyes and a bit blinding and I didn't proof well. You'e got the instructions right.

Experimenting with food can be helpful The one thing I notices with Gabby was that it took a while for her to adjust to a food change. My words of "wisdom" would be to not expect an overnight response.

Had you every thought of using digital calipers to measure your dose? It can help with consistency. Check on Amazon. Most of us have used 6-inch calipers. Either Amazon or a scientific instruments outlet should have them.
 
Sorry. 30s. The sun was in my eyes and a bit blinding and I didn't proof well. You'e got the instructions right.

Experimenting with food can be helpful The one thing I notices with Gabby was that it took a while for her to adjust to a food change. My words of "wisdom" would be to not expect an overnight response.

Had you every thought of using digital calipers to measure your dose? It can help with consistency. Check on Amazon. Most of us have used 6-inch calipers. Either Amazon or a scientific instruments outlet should have them.
As I recall that time she earned her reduction from going below 40, and that was her third below 50. So it was definitely time.

I have been thinking of the calipers. But I don't know how to do the calculations to get the right numbers to dose from
And i actually find it easy to compare to colored water. We don't have Amazon in Denmark, and new laws from the first of July makes it more expensive to buy from other countries. Point is, I'm thinking about it! :D

How long should I give it a try, with higher carbs?
 
My hubby got me calipers at metalworking and woodworking tool shops. We can also get them at car repair stores. And they were surprisingly cheaper than online. Just make sure they have a locking knob at top that locks in the measurement. My first ones didn't.

The calculations are really quite easy. I just took a few "good" syringes and measured 10 units on the calipers of all of them. Then I took the average, and divided by 10 to get a 1 unit measurement. Some people measure just 1 unit, but measuring 10 and dividing by 10 removes more error. (that's my math nerd brain!) Not that it's essential that you get it exactly right. Your 1 unit doesn't have be the same as mine. It's more important you get it the same each time.
 
My hubby got me calipers at metalworking and woodworking tool shops. We can also get them at car repair stores. And they were surprisingly cheaper than online. Just make sure they have a locking knob at top that locks in the measurement. My first ones didn't.

The calculations are really quite easy. I just took a few "good" syringes and measured 10 units on the calipers of all of them. Then I took the average, and divided by 10 to get a 1 unit measurement. Some people measure just 1 unit, but measuring 10 and dividing by 10 removes more error. (that's my math nerd brain!) Not that it's essential that you get it exactly right. Your 1 unit doesn't have be the same as mine. It's more important you get it the same each time.
That's just the thing. Do you know someone who can get 2+2 =5?
I'm that kinda gal!
I think I'll do a try, you make it sound so easy! :D:p
I do actually have one, and it locks, but it isn't digital.
And with the colored syringe I just have to make sure the top is the same place - I leave the cap on the colored one then the other lines up perfectly. And then get the same amount. With a caliper I'd have to eyeball the top of the syringe AND the right amount of juice? If it makes any sense
 
Do you know someone who can get 2+2 =5?
The math is fairly easy once you decide what is 1 unit on your particular brand of syringe. On the BD Ultra ones I use from the United States, 1.62 mm is 1 unit, so you divide that by 4 for .25 units, by 2 to get .5 units, or if you need 2.75 you multiply 1.62mm by 2.75 which equals 4.455 mm. Once you have the measurement locked in you don't have to think about it until you have to change the dose.
 
On the BD Ultra ones I use from the United States, 1.62 mm is 1 unit
My BD's from Canada, I originally used 1.6mm. In the interest of simpler math! 1.6 divides nicely, 0.8mm for 0.5 unit, 0.4 for a 0.25 unit. 0.6 for a fat 0.25 units or skinny 0.5 units. Plus my original calipers without the locking mechanism only had one decimal digit. :banghead:
 
Well, it's comforting to know that it isn't the exact measurements that counts but the consistency. If I can't figure it out, I'll know where to ask :D:cool::p
 
on the other hand she started bouncing as if she was being paid to do so...
hahah you make me laugh every time with your expressions :D:D

congratulations on Mauers weight loss, what is it that does the trick?

keeping our fists and paws crossed with the cardiologist. Do you have some heart issues?

take care Sasha and Mauer :bighug:
 
hahah you make me laugh every time with your expressions :D:D

congratulations on Mauers weight loss, what is it that does the trick?

keeping our fists and paws crossed with the cardiologist. Do you have some heart issues?

take care Sasha and Mauer :bighug:
Then you should learn Danish and hear what I have to say! Unfortunately they sound enormously bad in English :rolleyes:

I stopped giving raw... it was only 25 grams, but still.. let's see if it makes a difference in the long run, I really hope so!!!

Not that I know of. But a pulse that's way too high. My doc seems to think my heart is stressed by Mauer :banghead: not sleeping.
My blood work is completely off too.. I make too much blood, have too many white and red blood cells... literally I had two tests within range. 2!!
And my doc went on vacation the same day the results came in, for a month and she believes it can wait. So hopefully she's right? If not Chico will have a sister by another mister :cool::p
Just kidding... I'm even laughing at my own joke.... sleeeeeeeep zzZZZZzzzzzz
 
Back
Top