27/4 PenPen AMPS 122. His BG now (+4) is 34 ml!

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
His BG is 34 ml now (+4). I immediately give him dry food covered with honey and his normal can food. He looks completely fine and he just bite other cats like what he does everyday.

I think the reason of low BG is because normally I feed him one meal at about +2. However today I am not at home so he skipped that. Please advise, should I adjust his dosing to be 0.25
 
Peter, have you tested again? It is really important, for PenPen's safety.

I may not be able to stay on much longer (literal middle of the night for me, I was just up briefly). Please update us on what is going on!
 
OK, I am seeing a 58 on the spreadsheet, timestamped 20 minutes ago, about an hour after the 34.

That's good, but please keep testing to keep him safe. You want to get a couple of safe tests without food influence (i.e., not having given honey/carbs in the previous test).
 
I just checked 80 minutes later. Yes I fed them can food at +5. Do you think it is a risky thing to be close to 50 and it means we need to reduce dose
We say the reduction point is under 50 with tight regulaton
However if you are getting drops down into the 50s and 60 s you need to pay attention and be aware that the BGs could drop further either the current cycle or a another cycle soon.

The other option for you, if you don’t want to have them drop that low or if you are having trouble keeping up with tests, is to do the start low go slow method which is where you take reductions under 90 and you hold the dose for a week. If you are feeding any dry food at all, this is the method you should be using.
 
Here, the first image is monkey
 

Attachments

  • Monkey dose 1 unit.jpg
    Monkey dose 1 unit.jpg
    19.4 KB · Views: 47
  • penpen dose 0.25 U.jpg
    penpen dose 0.25 U.jpg
    17.8 KB · Views: 66
Those look pretty good to me, although PenPen's dose may be closer to 0.5U than 0.25U. It's really hard to get those tiny doses without the half-unit marked syringes!

PenPen will probably soon be on an even lower dose (and maybe Monkey, too, the way things are going). I'm attaching some guide pictures for the lower doses (you'll probably be doing 0.1U and "some insulin" next). They do use the half-unit marked syringes, so they won't look exactly the same on yours. The important thing, especially at these tiny doses, is to be consistent in your dosing, regardless of the precise objective amount. Some people use digital calipers for this.

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg
 
Ok they look good.
However we are changing the dose.
You need to be following SLGS method with any dry food and I think that you would be better on that anyway.
I have written in Monkeys thread to skip Monkey tonight and then start the new dose tomorrow morning,
@Nan & Amber (GA) is going to help you with PenPen new dose...ah there she is now!
 
Those look pretty good to me, although PenPen's dose may be closer to 0.5U than 0.25U. It's really hard to get those tiny doses without the half-unit marked syringes!

PenPen will probably soon be on an even lower dose (and maybe Monkey, too, the way things are going). I'm attaching some guide pictures for the lower doses (you'll probably be doing 0.1U and "some insulin" next). They do use the half-unit marked syringes, so they won't look exactly the same on yours. The important thing, especially at these tiny doses, is to be consistent in your dosing, regardless of the precise objective amount. Some people use digital calipers for this.

49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg


49823504036_be8b19dcbc_o.jpg

Yes, after enlarging the mark, it seems that it is closer to 0.5:nailbiting:. Maybe I will use a magnifier to control the dose
 
Yes, new dose tonight. The reduction point for SLGS is 90, so PenPen has done it again! Down to 0.1U, or

Yes, after enlarging the mark, it seems that it is closer to 0.5:nailbiting:. Maybe I will use a magnifier to control the dose

... at least, a smaller dose than what you were shooting. Again, the important thing is to be consistent. Reduce from what you are currently shooting and stick with that amount for a while. Sometimes, people will make up a sample syringe with colored liquid for comparisons.
 
Yes, new dose tonight. The reduction point for SLGS is 90, so PenPen has done it again! Down to 0.1U, or



... at least, a smaller dose than what you were shooting. Again, the important thing is to be consistent. Reduce from what you are currently shooting and stick with that amount for a while. Sometimes, people will make up a sample syringe with colored liquid for comparisons.

I will use the ruler in a magnifier to ensure the dose is constant.:bookworm:
 

Attachments

  • PenPen 0.1 U.jpg
    PenPen 0.1 U.jpg
    31.7 KB · Views: 48
Back
Top