? 27/4 - Djoko - amps high

Marj & Djoko

Member Since 2020
Djoko's values have been terrible in the last few days. We have installed the Freestyle libre but we did not pick the best week to do so. There is no PS in the SS, but I check with the Libre and it is always higher than 400 and I suspect that it reads low. This because I tested with AT2 and Djoko was at 29.2 and on the device it said 20.
I am wondering if it is time to increase or if the insulin may have gone bad.
Any suggestions?
Merci
 
Last edited:
As long as the insulin is kept away from really hot foods put in the fridge, and not stored beside something frozen you are thawing there, it should be fine. Don't store it in the door, which sees too many temperature fluctuations. If insulin has gone off, you may see something other than clear liquid.

With so many mid cycle tests missing, it's hard to say whether Djoko is bouncing or not. We determine how to change the dose based on the low points, which tend to happen mid cycle, not the preshots, which tend to be the high points. Getting a before bed test each night will help give an indication if Djoko is going lower at night. Getting tests during the day if you are home will also help.

The AT is a pet meter, the Freestyle Libre is a human meter, so you will see differences between the two. Generally the AT will read higher. I'm tagging @Judy and Freckles who used the Libre for a while. Maybe she can help you get the Libre numbers in your spreadsheet.

The link to your last post here, which we like to have included for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...6-5-463-pmps-599-bouncing-or-increase.228684/
 
This insulin is not kept in the door, not frozen, not near anything that could warm its temperature and the liquid is clear.
Where do you see so many midle test missing except for March 23rd?? He went to the vet yeserday and got his implant. Given that the meters do not read similarly, I do not want to include data from FSL so I only include AT2 in his SS.
Also, it is important to point out that by the amount of water he drinks and the amount of pees he has per day gives an indication of if he is high or low. And he has urinated a lot in the past 6 days and not moving too much. When he is in good values, he tends to be more awake.
His ears are yellow crusty so if I notice that he pees 4 times in 10 hours, I will spare his ears...
I have not had a reading below 19 in the last 6 days. Today (using the freestyke libre) it has not fluctuated more than 3, all reading being between 19 and 22 all day long. Yesterday, his best reading was 15 on the FSL.
 
Where do you see so many midle test missing except for March 23rd??
23rd and 24th AM cycles, 21st and 23rd PM cycles. I can't see the Freestyle data, so can't comment on it. You are on the second day of the Freeestyle? After 3 days/nights on the Freestyle you should be able to see if there are any lows you are missing.

Have you got a description of what your vet's dosing method is? We can't help you on dosing unless we see that.
 
23rd and 24th AM cycles, 21st and 23rd PM cycles. I can't see the Freestyle data, so can't comment on it. You are on the second day of the Freeestyle? After 3 days/nights on the Freestyle you should be able to see if there are any lows you are missing.
Third day now and always the same pattern. He drops to healthy values and then is up for the subsequent cycles. After Sat 25 and 26 during early night, he has been above 29.
 
23rd and 24th AM cycles, 21st and 23rd PM cycles. I can't see the Freestyle data, so can't comment on it. You are on the second day of the Freeestyle? After 3 days/nights on the Freestyle you should be able to see if there are any lows you are missing.

Have you got a description of what your vet's dosing method is? We can't help you on dosing unless we see that.
Vet dosing was based on curve normally performed every 7 days (unless fs or missed shot) But I assume she will acknowledge that depending on the day on which the curve is performed, results can vary a lot.
I am wondering if he needs more or if we are stuck at 1.5U until the day he stops bouncing or whatever.
 
Looks like a classic low but normal numbers followed by a bounce. He also dropped really fast last night, which can also cause a bounce. Do you have any more Libre numbers ferom last night?

I can't answer about the dose. If you had been following SLGS you would have reduced at that 83 back on the 19th. The answer would be different if you are following TR.
 
Looks like a classic low but normal numbers followed by a bounce. He also dropped really fast last night, which can also cause a bounce. Do you have any more Libre numbers ferom last night?
He did not drop last night. He stayed "high" from shot time to +4 and then I went to bed. It did not move.
 
Tonight seems like an active cycle (finally). I don't want to mix freestyle and AT2 data in the SS, but currently at 15.4 (which is between 17-20 on AT2).
Good question as per the vet's dose. Today she told me I worried too much abt numbers and that he was clinically fine (lol).
 
Back
Top