27/12 AMPS Glen 66; 20 minutes 57 & 55

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday's thread (when you start a new thread each day, put the link to the prior one in so it's easy for people to quickly go back and see what's been going on)

Wow!!! Shooting that low of a Pre-shot when you're this new probably wasn't a good idea, but good to see he's coming up!! That's what I was concerned about when I mentioned the "before bed" test on the PM cycle....he could have been dropping low at night and then "bouncing" high by morning.....and this morning he just hadn't bounced yet.

I know you have a crazy schedule (and life in general!!) but you don't have to stay up really late.....getting a +2 can tell a lot about what the rest of the cycle might be like. What's your current schedule? (when do you test/feed/shoot?...when do you have to be out of the house for work?...when do you get home from work?....when do you usually go to bed?)

Like I said yesterday, I really think you should drop back to 1.5 for now and let's see how he does (starting tonight) Even on TR his starting dose would have been 1.5, not 2U and on SLGS, we usually start at 1 unit

He will probably bounce high again due to his liver releasing stored sugars and hormones to bring his glucose back up. Bouncing happens when 1. they drop too low 2. they drop too quickly 3. they drop lower than their body is used to being at (or any combination of the 3)

It can take 6 cycles for those hormones to clear out of the body, so you don't want to increase just because you see higher numbers......it takes some patience to do this dance!

Generally, we Test/Feed/Shoot....all within about 5-10 minutes....You TEST to make sure they're high enough to get insulin, FEED to make sure they're at least willing to eat and SHOOT

If the number is below 150, we suggest that you stall, DON'T feed, and post for help.....I understand you didn't get a fast response this morning, but make sure your Subject line is really clear....something like "STALLING....NEED HELP!!!!" usually works!...LOL

You can always go back later and edit it once you have your answers.

You're really too new to be shooting numbers that low .....we just want Glen to be safe....but as long as you did, you should get your BOS award!!
View attachment 25251

Thank you! I wasn't trying to be reckless I just wanted to give him some consistency and hope he stabilized :(

I will test him PMPS and post for advice. I will also try to figure out how to post today's thread as a link from my phone!

He is up to 234 right now 8+
 
Many people here work a full time job and follow Tight Regulation. There is a Sticky Note describing how it's possible to work a full time job and follow Tight Regulation. There are however, a couple of "buts" associated with following TR. You have to get a couple of tests each cycle, the preshot test and one other. During the day, either get an "out the door" test or "in the door" test at the end of the day. Provided you aren't got 12 hours, that will work. Getting an autofeeder will also help greatly. And if you can arrange shot time so that you shoot and leave the house in the morning two hours later, you will have a good idea whether you need to put low, medium, or high carb food in the autofeeder. And to chime in with the rest, it's essential to get a PM test before bed. Many cats go lower at night. We determine what dose to give (both SLGS and TR), based on how low the dose takes the cat, so we need to find out how low they are going.

Following Tight Regulation means your cat has a better chance of getting regulated faster, and if you are lucky, going into diabetic remission. However, it's also possible to start with Start Low Go Slow while you are getting used to everything, then switch later. Just keep in mind that the sooner a cat gets regulated, the greater the chance of remission.

By the way, being Canadian I understood that AMPS of 3.1. My eyes popped! Most new people are reluctant to shoot low, and work their way down, but as you have seen, cycles are often flatter when you shoot lower.
I sometimes work 12 hours so that may prove challenging. But I work 8's way more often! Woohoo!

I will get a auto pet feeder. Will need to order from Amazon so should be here within a week.

I think TR is a bit much for me at the moment. I've got lots going on health wise for myself and general life of course. Please don't think that I don't love my kitty and that I don't want the best for him but I need to think about myself first too. I'm still recovering from breast cancer - chemo & radiation - all while trying to return to work after 2 years!
I'll get there, it just might take me a bit longer :)
 
Nothing wrong with going slower to start. And you have to take care of you to take care of Glen. :bighug::bighug: I know you love your kitty. You wouldn't be here and home testing if you didn't.

I found some good prices for the Petsafe 5 feeder at Petsmart, but maybe Amazon is better for Boxing Day sales.
 
I sometimes work 12 hours so that may prove challenging. But I work 8's way more often! Woohoo!

I will get a auto pet feeder. Will need to order from Amazon so should be here within a week.

I think TR is a bit much for me at the moment. I've got lots going on health wise for myself and general life of course. Please don't think that I don't love my kitty and that I don't want the best for him but I need to think about myself first too. I'm still recovering from breast cancer - chemo & radiation - all while trying to return to work after 2 years!
I'll get there, it just might take me a bit longer :)
Islandmomma, sending you prayers for your kitty and you! I went through what you are going through with breast cancer in 2010 & 2011. Just want to offer you encouragement there. Hang in there. It gets better and better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top