Sam&Milo(GA)&Singha
Member Since 2020
Good afternoon from Ontario, Canada. I am very new here and still learning a lot. Milo, my 10 year old long-haired kitty, was diagnosed the beginning of July. I switched him from from Caninsulin to Lantus, on the recommendations here (and with approval of my vet) 4 days ago. He had a potential 911 incident on the first dose due to my inexperience and use of u-40 needles (I had no idea about u-100 vs u-40. I am SO green). He made it through without a negative reaction, thank goodness, with lots of support from dedicated volunteers here.
On Caninsulin, I didn't feel he was doing well and took him back to the vet after 3 weeks. There hadn't been any suggestion of monitoring the BG myself but when I made the suggestion, the vet lent me an Alphatrak and it was obvious Milo's BG was not regulated at all. When I started testing him 5 days ago, he was usually in the 300's and as high as 643! I found this group and thank goodness I have gotten some good information to switch insulin and I got a human monitor at the same time.
Here's my question, he's now had 6 consecutive doses of Lantus at 3 units and his number are still in the 200's and up as high as 306 this last time I tested him (+6). I can not always test during the day but I'll try to do more when I am at home. I was reading the Tight Regulation protocol but I'm still confused. Should I be increasing his dose by .25 at this point? I am looking for recommendations.
I also switched Milo to a raw diet with Thrive and herring oil supplements. He seems to love it. Peeing outside the box is getting under control and much easier to manage as he is at least getting close and consistently on the pet pads I have put down. I take this as a positive. He seems happier, for sure, though not a fan of the BG testing. I have a very hard time with the ear and usually have to poke him in the large pad of a back paw as he starts eating. I am open to suggestions on making this easier, too.
Milo's brother, Singha, has been on Caninsulin for a year and has been off of insulin for approx 5 days, at the recommendation of my vet. His BG remains around 75-80 each time I test.
Thank you for your help with Milo!
On Caninsulin, I didn't feel he was doing well and took him back to the vet after 3 weeks. There hadn't been any suggestion of monitoring the BG myself but when I made the suggestion, the vet lent me an Alphatrak and it was obvious Milo's BG was not regulated at all. When I started testing him 5 days ago, he was usually in the 300's and as high as 643! I found this group and thank goodness I have gotten some good information to switch insulin and I got a human monitor at the same time.
Here's my question, he's now had 6 consecutive doses of Lantus at 3 units and his number are still in the 200's and up as high as 306 this last time I tested him (+6). I can not always test during the day but I'll try to do more when I am at home. I was reading the Tight Regulation protocol but I'm still confused. Should I be increasing his dose by .25 at this point? I am looking for recommendations.
I also switched Milo to a raw diet with Thrive and herring oil supplements. He seems to love it. Peeing outside the box is getting under control and much easier to manage as he is at least getting close and consistently on the pet pads I have put down. I take this as a positive. He seems happier, for sure, though not a fan of the BG testing. I have a very hard time with the ear and usually have to poke him in the large pad of a back paw as he starts eating. I am open to suggestions on making this easier, too.
Milo's brother, Singha, has been on Caninsulin for a year and has been off of insulin for approx 5 days, at the recommendation of my vet. His BG remains around 75-80 each time I test.
Thank you for your help with Milo!