27/07 - Gremlin - AMPS 171, PMPS 173, +3 140

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Laura! Looks like he is coming down some since you increased his dose. BUT something is going on for the numbers to inflate and him to be off his food some.

Is he meat-loafing like he's in pain? Any vomiting or diarrhea? If no...... could he have a tooth ache? That has taken Bubba off his feed twice. Some other symptoms of a tooth ache beside not wanting to eat:

excessive drooling
food dropping out of their mouth
moving the head side to side while eating as if to get the food off the sore tooth
pawing at their face
grinding the teeth
Not liking you to pet then on their face

A vet appointment might be in order to see if there is an infection somewhere.

Keeping good thoughts.
 
It's slowly getting there. Slowly.

Is he meat-loafing like he's in pain? Any vomiting or diarrhea? If no...... could he have a tooth ache? That has taken Bubba off his feed twice. Some other symptoms of a tooth ache beside not wanting to eat:
Hello!
It's not his teeth as he had a full dental less than a year ago and we check his teeth (vet) every time he goes in. He's been in several times recently for check ups and blood work.

It's possible the new food for CKD (also low carb for diabetes) has contributed to his high BGL but my vet thinks he may have cancer. I'm thinking the combination of new foods and rapid onset cancer might be the issue.

I took away all the new food at the same time his BGL started to drop again and I'm slowly reintroducing them while recording exactly what he's getting. It's all trial and error.

He's also not vomiting, no diarrhoea (miracle with new foods), he does loaf occasionally, weight loss, coat looks ratty. He is eating again for the most part. I think he just went off his food as he was annoyed at me changing his diet!

Thank you!!
 
What makes the vet think he has cancer? Was there something that showed in his BW?

I hope you get to the bottom of it soon.
It's all in previous posts. When they were checking his kidneys after his hyperthyroid was under control, they found a lump at his thyroid gland. They retested his thyroid function which is perfect on the medication, early stage CKD. I have found two more lumps in various places. He's losing weight, he's hungry and no explanation as at the time hyperthyroid and diabetes were both perfect (on medication). He's been wormed. With the lumps, they think cancer and have recommended an X-ray. I am beyond broke at the moment, have a suicidal teenage son and a herniated disc in my back. I just want to go to bed and never get out again. I'm at my wits end. Now that Grem's diabetes is getting back under control, my energy needs to be focused on my son.
 
It's all in previous posts. When they were checking his kidneys after his hyperthyroid was under control, they found a lump at his thyroid gland. They retested his thyroid function which is perfect on the medication, early stage CKD. I have found two more lumps in various places. He's losing weight, he's hungry and no explanation as at the time hyperthyroid and diabetes were both perfect (on medication). He's been wormed. With the lumps, they think cancer and have recommended an X-ray. I am beyond broke at the moment, have a suicidal teenage son and a herniated disc in my back. I just want to go to bed and never get out again. I'm at my wits end. Now that Grem's diabetes is getting back under control, my energy needs to be focused on my son.
Oh Laura, you poor thing! I can't even imagine what you are going through right now. Your son's emotional state prevails above all. Sending out prayers for your son. Suicide unfortunately runs in my family......it's a heart breaker and I prayer your son can get the help he needs.

Take care of yourself too. Baby your back and do deep breathing and imagine taking that breath down into your back. It really does help.

Hugs and more hugs. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top