27/06 Bob AMPS 270 - time for a small dose increase?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gummers

Member Since 2013
Good Morning! I'm a bit tired since I actually bothered to get up last night and get data. I shot a number that was just below 200 so I wanted to make sure all was well...

Anyway, I've been doing a 0.5 dose for 10 days now. I'm thinking I should bump up the dose a tiny bit, like to 0.75 to see if that is the bit he needs to go down into the green.

I've also got a question about how long it takes treats to spike blood sugar. I've been giving my cat bits of chicken (deli) during our tests. Sometimes he gets them as I'm testing or a few seconds before (literally never more than 10-15 second prior to testing!). I had thought that this wasn't enough time for the food to change my results but I thought I would double check here.
 
Hi Danielle

when we skip a shot, the cycle count starts over as described in this post on Counting Cycles. Today is the 7th cycle since you skipped.

The TR protocol has us holding the dose 3-5 days if nadirs are less than 200....which his are.

I'd see how he does today and how low he comes. Its possible he will need more insulin but I might wait for a full ten cycles since the skipped shot before I raise .25u.

eta: it usually takes 30 mins from the time the kitty eats until you see any influence on the BG. Some cats are very carb sensitive and even freeze dried chicken treats can give a good food spike. Every cat is different (ECID).
 
Alright, PMPS came up at 180. I was advised only a few days ago to skip, and wondering if I should do that again. Is this much skipping normal? Is it good? Its frustrating to always be wondering if I'm doing the right thing.

Last night I gave him a shot at 193 - I thought it was close enough to 200 that I would be safe. I got up 2x during the night to test and he was fine. Today I gave him a fatter shot than I normally do (normally whip out the ruler...) and he got down to 103.

To add to my frustration, Bob just ate a piece of baby cookie off the floor!! Ughasdfas;kdjfhlajk.
 
As the pancreas starts to heal and the insulin takes effect and does it's job, you need to lower your shoot/no shoot threshold.

3 choices

1.Stall without feeding for 20-30 minutes and retest.
2. shoot the full dose if you have plenty of test strips, hypo kit just in case and can stay up to monitor
3. reduce the shot. last choice. I think you want to keep the momentum going.

You hold the needle, which would be your choice?
 
Well, i gave him a shot that was a couple drops lower than normal but still close to regular dose. Here's to my alarm clock...
 
Please test at +1 and +2. We'll see where his numbers are headed.

I wouldn't worry too much about the piece of baby cookie. It might raise the numbers up a bit. :mrgreen:
 
So... +2 and 288. Tried to get blood at +1, but lanced 6 times and didn't get enough blood. :( He was getting angry so I left him be. He has eaten a ton + maybe 1/4 an arrowroot cookie, so its either that or a bounce to cause the #s to go up so high. :(
 
Basic rule of thumb with lantus

If +2 is a LOT moe than the pre-shot, it's probably going to be an inactive cycle
If +2 is similar to pre-shot, it's likely to be a normal, active cycle.
If +2 is much less than pre-shot, it's likely to be a very active cycle, with possibly an early drop so monitor closely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top