26 January Tucker PMPS: 2.7(49)AMPS 5.2(93)

Tucker

Member Since 2018
This has been a great example of recovering from a big bounce. After going to extreme lows (1.6/28.8), Tucker bounced right up into the red. I persisted with the advice given by this group and even with Tucker bouncing as high as 23.9(430) we gave him a .25 reduction last night. Someone else could explain the reasons for it (depot draining anyone??) but all I know is my boy is bright eyed and bushy tailed and running around with his civvies again! Thanks for the support! Go Team Tucker!
 
Here is you last post
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/24-jan-tucker-amps-10-1-180-6-1-6-29.209798/

I’m glad he’s come off the bounce and you kept him at 3 units.
The reason he stayed high for three cycles was because of all the hormones and glucose he put into his system when he dropped to 1.6 and bounced up high. When he was done with bouncing he floated back down and gave you a lovely green 94 this morning. By then the depot had drained a bit from the skipped shot and the reduction and hopefully he’ll like this dose.

I hope you managed to get a rest the last two days. How is the heat in Adelaide today?
 
Wow, he's taken another big dip tonight. Do I shoot, shoot less? Little help?
At 2..7 (49) I would skip the dose. He is obviously up to his old tricks again! After such a low bsl yesterday I would not risk shooting tonight. Especially as you are not all that well.
You will need to keep testing until he comes up to a safe number.
 
So skip tonight, feed him regular dins, test until he comes up (until he hits 100??) and then would you reduce tomorrow or wait until the 6 doses before taking another deduction??
 
So skip tonight, feed him regular dins, test until he comes up (until he hits 100??) and then would you reduce tomorrow or wait until the 6 doses before taking another deduction??
I'd give regular dinner but test again in an hour, no more than that, to see he is on the way up, not down.....and I would reduce to 2.75 units tomorrow because he has already had a skipped dose to drain the depot and three doses at 3 units and he's again dropped below 50.
 
+30minutes and he is 3.1/55
+20 more and he is 3.2/57 (More food?)
+20 minutes more and he is 5.8/103
Food induced so will continue to test.
 
Last edited:
He had three cycles at 3.0 and still went low in spite of the previous skipped dose. I would reduce back to 2.75 units.

Next time you see a 40’s at preshot, try stalling without feeding. Then test 20 minutes later to see if he is coming up. Sometimes they will give you a safe number to shoot after the stall. We never shoot below 50.
 
Ok, good advice. Is there some way for me to save bits of convos with this kind of advice so that I can access them quickly in case of issue with Tucker?
 
I have seen some people put links to interesting posts in their spreadsheet, or just copy bits into some notes on a separate tab. One thing to think about, you might want to print off the Sticky Note on Shooting and Handling Low Numbers. That way you have it close and just in case there is a power outage you have it in front of you.
 
I see Tucker is up to his old tricks - bouncing around like a rubber ball. It seems like just yesterday (November 2018), that Tucker was up to 4.5 units/dose. Now he is back down to 2.75 units/dose. Overall, that is good progress, and I'm sure Tucker feels great with the BG regulation.
 
Back
Top