26 APR: Teasel (AT): AM 61 | +1 77 | +2 65 | +3 83 | +4 95 | +7 203 | PM 347 | +2 391

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
Yesterday: 26 Apr

This boy is messing with my head!!!! Another dive into lime green this AM. I gave him a 1 u dose because I can monitor and steer. I want to keep the momentum because it seems we've crossed some sort of threshold. There'll be a reduction tonight.

LURKERS: Do not copy this method of dosing. It goes against the guidelines and is based on experience and knowledge of my cat's responses.
 
Learning situation for me: back to lime green at +2 so I gave some LC with honey. Just because a BCS worked on a lime green once before doesn't mean it'll work again. Will monitor +++.
 
Honestly, 61 on AT is too Low to shoot for anyone regardless of experience. Stalling for even 15/30 min. is a better option. Glad you can monitor closely today and looking at the +2 it could be a long day. Looking at the +2 last night he certainly pulled this one out of his cat hat :rolleyes:

If he bounces to the moon from the BCS and lows then I'd shoot the 2.5u one more time and reduce in the morning. Good work Teasel but not so dramatic next time buddy.
 
Honestly, 61 on AT is too Low to shoot for anyone regardless of experience. Stalling for even 15/30 min. is a better option. Glad you can monitor closely today and looking at the +2 it could be a long day. Looking at the +2 last night he certainly pulled this one out of his cat hat :rolleyes:

If he bounces to the moon from the BCS and lows then I'd shoot the 2.5u one more time and reduce in the morning. Good work Teasel but not so dramatic next time buddy.
At least I learn from my mistakes, Karen! :blackeye:;)
 
At least I learn from my mistakes, Karen! :blackeye:;)
Ha, and next time he'll do something completely different. It's good to see him coming down the dosing scale. I'm not judging by any means...I made more mistakes than anyone around here. Teasel is safe because you can monitor him but just wouldn't shoot that low again if it were me. It's easier to look at an SS and make a comment then to "see" things with your own kitty.
 
Ha, and next time he'll do something completely different. It's good to see him coming down the dosing scale. I'm not judging by any means...I made more mistakes than anyone around here. Teasel is safe because you can monitor him but just wouldn't shoot that low again if it were me. It's easier to look at an SS and make a comment then to "see" things with your own kitty.
Totally agree!! That's why this forum is wonderful! :)
 
Yes, Tanya, this is testing my nerves for sure. Trying to figure it out as I go along ... o_O
I can relate all too well. Just when you start to get the hang of things, the cat grabs a new chapter from the playbook and forces you to start over. I laugh about how much I studied his patterns, only to watch them completely change almost overnight. These furballs are sure good at keeping us guessing.

I did a similar thing shooting a BCS on a very low pre-shot test not too long ago and the veterans were helpful in advising me on why it was a bad idea even with me here to monitor. If there is some insulin overlap the number could keep dropping even after feeding. The advice was exactly what Karen said, under 65 on an AT would be stall and re-test and if the schedule gets too far off, just skip. I was in the keeping the momentum mentality as well, but after their advice, changed my rules a bit to not shoot when he is under 50(human meter).

Nice to see some great numbers from Teasel and hope the reducie's keep coming!
 
I can relate all too well. Just when you start to get the hang of things, the cat grabs a new chapter from the playbook and forces you to start over. I laugh about how much I studied his patterns, only to watch them completely change almost overnight. These furballs are sure good at keeping us guessing.

I did a similar thing shooting a BCS on a very low pre-shot test not too long ago and the veterans were helpful in advising me on why it was a bad idea even with me here to monitor. If there is some insulin overlap the number could keep dropping even after feeding. The advice was exactly what Karen said, under 65 on an AT would be stall and re-test and if the schedule gets too far off, just skip. I was in the keeping the momentum mentality as well, but after their advice, changed my rules a bit to not shoot when he is under 50(human meter).

Nice to see some great numbers from Teasel and hope the reducie's keep coming!
Nice to see that someone else was a little too ambitious ... ;). I appreciate your input! My rules will be revised too - stall first if possible then opt for no shot if that doesn't work. Every day is a new day and every dose is an experiment. :)
 
Whoa!! My eyes popped when I saw these numbers today Kris!! Holy moley!! Teasel, you sure are full of surprises! Looks like you're surfing nicely now... be a good kitty and keep it up!!
 
You and me both! I struggled to keep Rex above 50 and dropped the ball after +5. Now I don't know what to do when I go to work tomorrow!
 
You and me both! I struggled to keep Rex above 50 and dropped the ball after +5. Now I don't know what to do when I go to work tomorrow!
My go to now to bring Teasel up is a tablespoon or two of his regular LC food with about 1/8 tsp honey added. Works well for him. I gave too much HC last week when he dove and it upset his GI system. The honey in LC doesn't seem to cause a problem.

Looks like a reduction for Rex too.
 
I thought about shooting through the bounce but decided against it because: a) it's the overnight cycle and he can run lower; b) he's insulin sensitive after the recent low greens; c) he might pull another surprise. His dose is going down 0.25 u tonight.
 
I thought about shooting through the bounce but decided against it because: a) it's the overnight cycle and he can run lower; b) he's insulin sensitive after the recent low greens; c) he might pull another surprise. His dose is going down 0.25 u tonight.
Didn't he earn a reduction anyway?
 
Yes, he did. Shooting through the bounce is a way of dealing with a bounce after a low green that earned the kitty a reduction. The thinking is that one more dose of the size that caused the low green can alleviate some of the magnitude of the bounce. After that one off, the reduction is given the next cycle. I'm choosing to take it this PM for the reasons in my post.
 
Last edited:
Wow, just catching up to your fun with his +2 dive. Well, you've got more data on him for sure! It's always an experiment. Sometimes when you stall they go lower :rolleyes: What to do and it was a gamble that the 61 was his low and he would be going back up again BUT we all know that Teasel is like Felix the cat. ;) His bag of tricks is big.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top