26/9 chatran amps 414 dosing advise needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatran (GA)

Member Since 2014
After yesterday's low number:
25/6
Amps 205
+3 49
+4 90
+7 232
+9 414
PMPS 432 gave 2 u as per vets advise
+1 446
+5 401
+10 365

26/9
Amps 414 gave 2.5 u

Question is. Am I giving the right dose? Argue with hubby before giving the shots, he said I should not change because I am NOT doctor (nearly poked his eyes with the lancet lol) but given all the high number I opt on giving 2.5. Advise pls. Should I hold this dosage? For how long. I feel like I can't trust my vet.

Thank you!
 
Hi Rosie,

Maybe you could give the Queensland Protocol to your hubby to read. Here is a link to the official document. It was written by vets who specialise in feline diabetes. It is the best standard in the world for treating feline diabeties. That might alleviate his worries - you followed the dosing advice of international feline diabetes experts. You could also give your vet a copy of the protocol. Your vet might know about it already.

The protocol gets you to reduce doses slowly and hold them for a bit because, as Wendy said yesterday, the affects of lantus doses take a little while to show clearly.

Keep testing him today so that you find the lowest point his blood glucose goes down to (his nadir). The protocol uses the nadir to work out the dose and you'll be able to help him if his blood glucose goes too low.

I wouldn't give up on your vet yet. They can't be experts in every disease for every animal. I've found that often Australian vets know about the protocol but think cat owners won't want to bother with so much testing so they reduce insulin doses by more than necessary to be safer if the cat owner doesn't look after the cat during the nadir.

You're doing really well.
Grace
 
Lantus likes consistency, so we keep giving the same dose unless Chatran goes below 50, unless kitty needs more insulin. I'd keep giving 2.5 units. Following the protocol is a safe way to either increase or decrease as needed. Your vet has to know about a lot of conditions for a lot of animals. You may be one of a few FD patients they have and are likely the only one doing home testing. Not long after I started testing I stopped listening to my vet for dose advice, but I like her for everything else.
 
I haven't said hi yet and just wanted to welcome you! This is a wonderfui, generous community of people who will do their best to teach you how to help your sweet kitter.

You want to give the same dose am and pm, unless you're intending to change the dose because either Chatran has gone below 50 or because you are increasing the dose. But in general, you'll see the best control of the blood sugar if you stick with the same dose morning and evening.

I'd also hold the 2.5u for at least 6 consecutive cycles (so starting with this morning), unless he goes below 50.

I see the comments on the spreadsheet that he's got runny poo, sounds like from the antibiotics, is that right? Can you get Fortiflora there in Australia? It's a probiotic for cats that you sprinkle on the food. Cats love it and it can help re-establish normal gut flora. If you can't get Fortiflora, several people have used people probiotics and had them work well. Just give a small amount until you know how Chatran is going to respond.

Somehow you've got a spreadsheet that doesn't have the automatic conversion from world mmol numbers to US mg numbers. Because FDMB has members around the world, we use the mg measurement as a commong "language." On the New to the Group? yellow starred stickies, there is a link to How to Create a Spreadsheet. If I were you, before you go any farther along, I'd go ahead and start a new spreadsheet for those using world mmol measurements and has the conversion page to US numbers. Then if you put the link to the US page in your signature line, you'll find that people are far more able to help you. Most people on here don't use the mmol or understand those numbers. Wendy does because she's from Canada. I'm sorry you somehow got the wrong one, and hate to ask you to redo it, but i know if you only have mmol, it will severely reduce the number of people who are able to help you.

Hope you're having a great weekend!
 
Thank you. I feel much better now. I won't give up on my vet - I think he is the best on everything and supported me on what I'm doing. He even told me I'm the only fur mummy he know that does home testing and I told him I am with the great of people on saving feline diabetis in America and he said "them american are really good" :smile:

I will do my spread sheet this weekend when hubby is home. Every time I want to do it my lil man (2 legged) wanting to help and end up messing everything out.

Chatran is already on probiotic for cats but I'm not sure if it's helping him as it didn't change anything with the runny poo.

Again thank you so much. I really appreciate your help!
 
I see by your spreadsheet that Chatran's +2 is 302. That's quite the drop from the AMPS. He might be getting over his bounce. I don't know if anyone has told you yet, but the +2 test is a good indicator of how the cycle might go. If it's considerably lower than the preshot number, you are looking at an active cycle and might need a few more tests. I'd get a +4 or +5 to see how he's doing today. If the +2 is similar to the preshot, you'll likely see a normal Lantus cycle and a +2 that is higher means a quiet cycle which not as much testing needed. Those are the kind I like to see at night because it means more sleep. :-D
 
tiffmaxee said:
He might need flagyl ( metromidazole ) to get rid of the diarrhea. How is the appetite?

He is eating well but as soon as I give him pate, he have runs straight away. I am still waiting for some blood test today.

Wendy&Neko said:
I see by your spreadsheet that Chatran's +2 is 302. That's quite the drop from the AMPS. He might be getting over his bounce. I don't know if anyone has told you yet, but the +2 test is a good indicator of how the cycle might go. If it's considerably lower than the preshot number, you are looking at an active cycle and might need a few more tests. I'd get a +4 or +5 to see how he's doing today. If the +2 is similar to the preshot, you'll likely see a normal Lantus cycle and a +2 that is higher means a quiet cycle which not as much testing needed. Those are the kind I like to see at night because it means more sleep. :-D

I can only do the +6 as I was running chores.

Thank you again ladies. You lots are awesome :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Wendy's talking about in general, not just today. As you get more tests in, his blood sugar patterns will become more obvious.

Some kitties have allergies to specific foods. If you think it could be a particular food, you might try switching to a novel protein. Some people go to venison or kangaroo - i don't know what's available where you are, but if you want to try that route, you'd look for a canned low carb food that doesn't have his typical foods - chicken, beef, fish. whatever you usually feed him.

Another option is to try baby food. That can be easy on their systems - go for one that has only meat and broth, no corn starch, no onions or garlic. Some cats love that.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
Wendy's talking about in general, not just today. As you get more tests in, his blood sugar patterns will become more obvious.

Another option is to try baby food. That can be easy on their systems - go for one that has only meat and broth, no corn starch, no onions or garlic. Some cats love that.

Thank you Julie will try the above. It's funny though he used to eat anything with no issues but now he is more sensitive to food.
Unfortunately it's not much variety of food where we are. I could try whiskers loaf like someone here suggested.
 
My gf was just like your husband in the beginning. She could not understand why in the world would I seek the advice from people on this board and why I had to test so much. But as I built my spreadsheet and had concrete data, she has slowly started to come around. She's still not completely on board. But she does get tests for me, and Saturday will be her first time giving a shot due to not getting off work till pm+2
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
if he's had some kind of intestinal infection, that might cause more sensitivity.

We had all the test and came normal. I don't know what cause this even the vet can't understand why as all the test came clear
 
Hey Grace. Is whiskers can is any good? We live in cairns and as you know it's like woof woof land - we don't have much variety here.

What brand food do you give Angie?
 
Hi Rosie,

It's really important to get help when you switch to a lower carb food. Chatran might suddenly need less insulin because he's getting less sugar and it can be dangerous. I know from experience. When I first switched Angie to low carb food she took only 11 days to go off insulin and had 5 cycles with numbers below 50 (2.8). It would have been dangerous if I didn't have help and monitor her a lot.

There's a thread about international food that's suitable for diabetics. That might have more information than I can give you.

The foods that I've tried are all available at Coles and Woolies:
- Whiskers loaf tins (very important you only get the "loaf" ones - the gravy and other types are high carb)
- Nature's gift tins (chicken and pilchards, roast duck and real kangaroo are all low carb - don't get the beef in gravy that will most likely be high carb)
- VIP Fussy Cat (fresh kangaroo mince from the fresh meat pet food section - it's 5 portions of kangaroo meat per package - it's supposed to be a balanced diet, not just kangaroo meat)
- There's another balanced kangaroo mince cat food that's also fresh. It's not divided into 5 portions. I can't remember the brand name but it works out cheaper than VIP. I think it's got a blue label over half of the tray.

There are two fancier brands - Evo and Ziwi Peak - that are available in some pet supply stores and online. They're too expensive for me. I'm not sure if everything they make is LC, or just some of it.

I normally make my own cat food. I found Angie and my non-diabetic cat improved in health so much when I switched over. I used Dr Lisa Pierson's recipe which is on this website. I think the cats were also more satisfied and begged less on home-made food.

I hope that helps,
Grace
 
That's what happened!!! What a pity. :sad: We couldn't find it the last time we went looking. I think it's great - Angie loves it too. I like having it as a back up in the cupboard. I think she got a bit hungry on it when it was her main diet though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top