purrdydolly
Member Since 2014
Yesterday
Recap:
AMPS 180 +3 112 +6 86
+10 112
PMPS 121 +3 106 +5 103
Nice church going numbers for mum this morning
but unusual for Purrdy not to have had a significant drop. I guess Purrdy didn't want to go to church - like me pretending to be asleep when I was a kid 

Mum is getting a bit freaked out by how high his dose is getting (she's got a mental block on 5u and we've just gone up to 4.75u
) and his vet has raised the idea that there's something else going on too. From my second hand info I think the vet is talking IAA - she mentioned having to send blood overseas for tests. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the only treatment for IAA more insulin, i.e. just keep following the protocol. I don't see any point having the (no doubt very expensive) test done if that's the case. I'm not as concerned at this point anyway as I have the advantage of looking at other kitties spreadsheets (I'm thinking Jenks and Sheba) but it does seem weird that the doses just keep going stale on him
We might have a little chia seed experiment next week, I don't see the harm in giving it a go...
@Ann & Tess , @Chris & China , @Tiger and Ruth after a week I am calling the crumble kitty litter experiment a success
my favourite part is no dust. It absorbs everything and clumps nicely but not as hard as the clay so may not be as suitable where there are multiple cats sharing trays or the deposits aren't cleaned out regularly. I think the next kitty in would easily break up any pee clumps that were already there when scratching around to make their own deposit. If you're going to give it a try make sure you get the vegetarian crumble so kitty isn't tempted to eat it.
The less gluiness of it has been a bonus for us in relation to accidents over the edge of the tray as it's much easier to clean up. That will hopefully be a thing of the past soon anyway. I bought a big 60lt purple tub to make the high sided tray from last weekend (a whole $12) and will make it up today or tomorrow.
Forgot to charge the ipad last night so won't be able to make too many visits before running out of battery on the rabbit run this morning but I will make up for it on her evening run. Have a great night everyone - surf kitties surf

Recap:
AMPS 180 +3 112 +6 86
PMPS 121 +3 106 +5 103
Nice church going numbers for mum this morning
Mum is getting a bit freaked out by how high his dose is getting (she's got a mental block on 5u and we've just gone up to 4.75u
) and his vet has raised the idea that there's something else going on too. From my second hand info I think the vet is talking IAA - she mentioned having to send blood overseas for tests. Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the only treatment for IAA more insulin, i.e. just keep following the protocol. I don't see any point having the (no doubt very expensive) test done if that's the case. I'm not as concerned at this point anyway as I have the advantage of looking at other kitties spreadsheets (I'm thinking Jenks and Sheba) but it does seem weird that the doses just keep going stale on him @Ann & Tess , @Chris & China , @Tiger and Ruth after a week I am calling the crumble kitty litter experiment a success
The less gluiness of it has been a bonus for us in relation to accidents over the edge of the tray as it's much easier to clean up. That will hopefully be a thing of the past soon anyway. I bought a big 60lt purple tub to make the high sided tray from last weekend (a whole $12) and will make it up today or tomorrow.
Forgot to charge the ipad last night so won't be able to make too many visits before running out of battery on the rabbit run this morning but I will make up for it on her evening run. Have a great night everyone - surf kitties surf
